We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Castries
Quedgeley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Happy return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just back from three wonderful weeks at the Bel Jou.
Weather excellent most of time although we did have one very unusual very wet day.
did our own thing which is sitting on the beach at Pigeon Island for the best part of every day. Some say boring, we say what the Caribbean is for. we love the variety of each day, there is always something different to see and the National Trust staff there are helpful and friendly.
Bel Jou itself is the same as ever, lovely food, super rooms and great company.

Room Tip: ask for high room if you like to have the view, ask for garden room if you would like to be closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
88
34
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to post this review as we have been out for two meals in London since returning from the Bel Jou & neither came close to matching the quality & variety of food we enjoyed there every single day. Highlights included the freshest possible grapefruits & bananas from the hotel garden for breakfast, as we watched cruise ships arriving at Castries harbour, & leisurely dinners in the balmy evening air, watching bats flitting through the Strangler Fig tree whilst the exemplary waiting staff kept our glasses full. One continual challenge was to leave room for dessert &, although the scones provided for tea were excellent, we rarely had room for them! Having noted comments in previous reviews about the lack of traditional St Lucian fare on the menu, we raised this with the chef who responded that his menu reflected what guests actually ate.
Our room was comfortable & the daily maid service kept it spotless. We never tired of the view from the balcony & the sound of the Island’s wildlife (except for the dogs).
We were impressed by all of the staff & their efforts to make us feel welcome. Henry was a most attentive Saga Representative, who kept our brains working with his daily puzzles.
The hotel’s hillside location affords excellent views but the downside is that walking options are limited & it is necessary to take the hotel shuttle to the beach. However, having said that, we found the shuttle service to be very efficient with a choice of three very different beaches to visit.
Most of the excursions were enjoyable & watching dolphins leaping & spinning in front of the Pitons, whilst enjoying a glass of rum punch, will be an abiding memory. However, we would not recommend the aerial tram trip through the rainforest as a far wider range of flora & fauna could be viewed from our balcony.
In conclusion, there are many things about the Bel Jou, e.g. the light, the warmth, the friendly people, the food, the views, the ambience, the swimming, the dancing, the cocktails, etc etc.
John & Nancy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Totally agree with all the good points about the Bel Jou and we thank ALL for making our stay a wonderful expierience. Only wish we had more st lucian dishes instead of the usual Saga safe roast beef dishes etc. Will return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Saga run the Bel Jou in a relaxed way that suits their clients - most of whom were over 70.. (We are 65 and felt young)..
Rooms are clean and comfortable, food very traditional (a disappointing shortage of local dishes and shellfish) and service friendly. Excursions and the hotel bus all well organised and in a week we saw most of this lovely island.
A most enjoyable way of enjoying some Caribbean sun and seeing St Lucia without any hassle. Virgin flights (premium economy) also OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bel Jou, really enjoyed our time there. After an initial problem which was sorted out quickly and efficiently by Camilla, the manager, the rest of our stay was great. We found Camilla to be very approachable and she is one young lady with her finger firmly on the pulse.
Henry the Saga rep is fantastic and nothing was any problem for him, he really does work very hard to ensure that everyone is looked after.
The staff are amongst the best we have encountered anywhere, always a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. Hotel staff elsewhere need to take a leaf from their book.
We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors give fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have recently returned from the Bel Jou after a truly wonderful holiday - and - we have decided that we will return in a little over 17 months to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary in this hotel! We really can't fault it. Camilla, the Manager, and her husband are truly delightful - and Henry Phillips, the Saga Rep, is such a charming gentleman who can't do enough for you. We loved the food, the rooms are a great size and fully air conditioned - and, of course, it is all inclusive - so we raise our glasses to the Bel Jou!!!! With a glass of Ginger Rum for a night cap!!
Peter and Su Wentworth

Room Tip: From what I know - all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Irene and I decided to return to Saga's Bel Jou Hotel follow our stay there 2 years earlier. There is always likely to be a slight feeling that it might not be quite as good as we remembered. We needn't have had any concerns - almost every aspect of the trip was very good or excellent.

The included chauffeur service between home and Gatwick Airport worked well. True, outbound, it was a long journey in the early hours of the morning but it was very comfortable and the drivers were very considerate. Inbound, we slept much of the way!

Although the manager and the Saga Representative had changed since 2010, we felt that the facilities, service, excursions, food and drink were just as good. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

Don't forget your camera - the flowers, butterflies and birds in the garden make good subjects and the scenery of St Lucia is stunning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views across to the Caribbean Sea, lower floors have better views of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga guests can now enjoy a holiday at Saga’s own hotel on the Caribbean island of St Lucia. Boasting stunning views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today’s over 50s, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Jou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list