We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally agree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
Save
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“totally agree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Totally agree with all the good points about the Bel Jou and we thank ALL for making our stay a wonderful expierience. Only wish we had more st lucian dishes instead of the usual Saga safe roast beef dishes etc. Will return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
95
38
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Saga run the Bel Jou in a relaxed way that suits their clients - most of whom were over 70.. (We are 65 and felt young)..
Rooms are clean and comfortable, food very traditional (a disappointing shortage of local dishes and shellfish) and service friendly. Excursions and the hotel bus all well organised and in a week we saw most of this lovely island.
A most enjoyable way of enjoying some Caribbean sun and seeing St Lucia without any hassle. Virgin flights (premium economy) also OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bel Jou, really enjoyed our time there. After an initial problem which was sorted out quickly and efficiently by Camilla, the manager, the rest of our stay was great. We found Camilla to be very approachable and she is one young lady with her finger firmly on the pulse.
Henry the Saga rep is fantastic and nothing was any problem for him, he really does work very hard to ensure that everyone is looked after.
The staff are amongst the best we have encountered anywhere, always a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. Hotel staff elsewhere need to take a leaf from their book.
We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors give fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have recently returned from the Bel Jou after a truly wonderful holiday - and - we have decided that we will return in a little over 17 months to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary in this hotel! We really can't fault it. Camilla, the Manager, and her husband are truly delightful - and Henry Phillips, the Saga Rep, is such a charming gentleman who can't do enough for you. We loved the food, the rooms are a great size and fully air conditioned - and, of course, it is all inclusive - so we raise our glasses to the Bel Jou!!!! With a glass of Ginger Rum for a night cap!!
Peter and Su Wentworth

Room Tip: From what I know - all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Irene and I decided to return to Saga's Bel Jou Hotel follow our stay there 2 years earlier. There is always likely to be a slight feeling that it might not be quite as good as we remembered. We needn't have had any concerns - almost every aspect of the trip was very good or excellent.

The included chauffeur service between home and Gatwick Airport worked well. True, outbound, it was a long journey in the early hours of the morning but it was very comfortable and the drivers were very considerate. Inbound, we slept much of the way!

Although the manager and the Saga Representative had changed since 2010, we felt that the facilities, service, excursions, food and drink were just as good. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

Don't forget your camera - the flowers, butterflies and birds in the garden make good subjects and the scenery of St Lucia is stunning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views across to the Caribbean Sea, lower floors have better views of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theddingworth
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have just come back from a wonderful 10 day holiday at Bel Jou. After a direct Virgin flight to St. Lucia and transport to hotel on a mini bus providing wonderful views - we were greeted with cool face cloths and a welcoming fruit cocktail. A quick distribution of keys from Henry the Saga rep. and we were ready to freshen up and look around the hotel. The hotel is up a steep hill but the views from bedrooms and restaurant are fantastic, you cannot stop looking at it. You can also see the odd plane taking off from the airport near the beach.

My bedroom was well equipped. I travelled with a friend and we were expecting a room each in the row of bungalows at the front of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we were both given a room with two double beds in the main hotel. Some information that may be useful to you, is that every room is equipped with:- an umbrella, room bug spray ,a torch, an iron and ironing board, a safe, a dressing gown, kettle and cups, a clock and a hair dryer. This will save you taking these items in your luggage. If you do have any space in your case, Saga help with two local schools, one being for special needs. If you could take any school supplies they would be very grateful. At the time of our leaving, one of the volunteer teachers said they needed little stickers (e.g. well done written on them or a smiley face). I am sure crayons, paper, books would all be appreciated.

The first morning we went to the welcoming meeting. This was hosted by Henry, who went through all the information you would need. Explaining about the excursions you could go on. Henry also offers to take you on a Beach walk with a swim at the end and a walk up to the Lighthouse. My friend and I went on both and thoroughly enjoyed them. (They were both free trips)

What can I say about the staff. We found them all very polite and friendly. Always had a smile on their faces and were very chatty. The hotel manager Camilla was in the background but helpful if you wanted to speak to her. Then there was Henry the Saga Rep. He is brilliant!!!! Although he has not been at this hotel for very long, he was very helpful. If he didn't know the answer to a question, he would find it out for you. His concern for every Saga guest was outstanding. If someone was on their own he would make a point of talking to them - very caring and professional. He always had a smile on his face and a little joke.

As my friend and I were on the Internet Special holiday, we did not receive the included tours. We did pay to go on the trip to the Pitons, Drive in volcano and Botanical Gardens which returned on a Catamaran with a stop for swimming. It was a long trip which lasted all day but it was a really good way to see a lot of St. Lucia. We had a really enjoyable time.

We were very sorry when our holiday came to an end and could have easily spent another week there. We had a good group of fellow holiday makers which made the holiday even more enjoyable. But the star in the show is definitely, Henry.

p.s. Look for Hummingbirds in the garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet,Essex.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having enjoyed a wonderful visit to the Bel Jou in August 2011 (see previous ”Exceeded Expectations” review) we had not planned to return as soon again as this year. Saga however, came up with an internet package deal for 10 days excluding insurance and excursions at a price that persuaded us to return.
Often when you return to a Hotel it doesn’t measure up to an initial visit. This Year’s visit saw a couple of major changes, the 2011 excellent Rep Ian and Manager Patrick had both gone and we both wondered if this would be detrimental to the holiday. We need not have had any concern as their replacements Henry the Rep and Camilla the Manager were both first class. The Hotel was still as lovely and the staff warm, friendly and always ready to help. Food and drink were as before of a really good standard and there was live music 8 out of 10 evenings (Henry doing a fun quiz on the other 2 evenings) A word of advice if you prefer to eat on the outside terrace of the restaurant then you should dine early rather than late because the outside tables are usually taken first. The coffee shop type menu in the Cabanna was still a great lunchtime option with a BBQ as a weekly alternative. Henry the Rep is always around to ensure that things go smoothly and his enthusiastic approach should be applauded. The hotel now has a laptop in the lobby which has internet access and can be used free of charge, the mobile phone rental service however is no longer available. As I commented last year this Hotel is not on the beach and going to the beach or town means using the Hotel shuttle bus. As the bus has a limited number of seats it is necessary to pre book but this worked fine during our stay with a very reliable driver picking up clients at appointed times and places.
Bel Jou in our opinion is still well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga guests can now enjoy a holiday at Saga’s own hotel on the Caribbean island of St Lucia. Boasting stunning views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today’s over 50s, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Jou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.