We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
Save Saved
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Castries
Quedgeley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Moans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have just read a lot of reviews of the Bel Jou St Lucia.I don't recognise the descriptions of the rooms or the food.On our second visit we had one of the lovely garden rooms which was superb.The garden is well kept and beautiful. The driver of the minibus is helpful and accommodating.We saw parts of St Lucia we would never have got to see thanks to Emmauel avoiding traffic chaos on Friday teatimes. The bus times don't suit you? Get a taxi then
We have stayed there on two occasions and we are going back again in November of this year.
What were all those people expecting in the Caribbean? 5star London? How dare you critise Castries, it's Cairbbean. People live there, they have dogs, dogs bark, get over it. Pigeon Island is St Lucia's National Trust Park, why should you not pay to enter it? I am ashamed of all these people complaining about such a wonderful unspoiled place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    53
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
89
35
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Well i must say all these miserable people who wrote horrid reviews need to think again,this was my first time as a solo traveller and must say i was a bit scared after reading the reviews especially about the BUNGELOWS but i had a wonderful time.(enclosed pics of bungelows)
Yes there was OLDER people there but it is for the over 50 !!!!,i met some wonderful people and had a ball never laughted so much in ages.
The staff were excellant,very friendly and well mannered,as for the security guards being about 24/7 you would certainly moan if there wasnt any,some people need to get a life.

The food was very good had cooked english breakfast every morning,evening meal was V good as well.The GALA DINNER was great so people stop moaning about the food.

The excursions i found were interesting,and i loved finding out about the island people thats what these trips are all about again stop moaning people.

As for the entertainment at night found that also good,if you want a DISCO then pick a different hotel,there could have been more than there was but im not complaining.

Room Tip: The bungelows are not as bad as they say,i found them quite good for solo travellers,again if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bel Jou Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback concerning your stay at the Bel Jou Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent holiday, we do we receive a huge number of compliments concerning the hotel, our staff, the food, entertainment and excursions. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our guests’ holiday experience and welcome all feedback received.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bel Jou in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was my second visit to the the Bel Jou, my policy is usually not to return to places I have already visited but had such a wonderful time in August last year decided to back. Enjoyed the week but after the luxury of the first week at Buccament Bay this was so down market! Most disappointed to find out the Ian, Saga's local rep was no longer there. Whilst it was enjoyable stay there felt like there was an air of tension amongst management and reading the latest reports there probably was. No complaints Room, food, excursions all good. Bar and restaurant staff all work tirelessly to keep guest happy. Whatever is going on within the management, Saga need to look long and hard at what is being offered here.

Room Tip: Bungalows for the single guests do not have views over the sea they are spacious and ideal for disab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Having spent a wonderful 2 weeks here in Nov/Dec 2011 returned May 2012 for another 2 weeks,what a big mistake! Such a lot of changes,none for the better.New manager,new saga rep,spa closed down,cheaper cuts of meat used,the staff no longer joining in the dancing in the evening,and while you cannot fault the staff on the service they provide,they are not as happy as before.The independant table, which was such a success,was no longer available as before,the rep was conspicuous in his absence,previous rep Ian was always around,joining the independent table every evening.The atmosphere is no longer there,the hotel is looking tired,rooms smell very musty which left clothes smelling same,and my toilet didn't flush properly.Smaller wine glasses too,what's that all about? All in all a very disappointing return,which will not be repeated.Come on saga this is your only saga owned hotel,why all the cost cutting? I am of course aware of refurbishment planned this summer,but it will take more than a lick of paint to repair the damage caused by cost cutting,loss of return guests will cost you dearly I think.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beljouslu, Manager at Bel Jou Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience of your stay at the Bel Jou Hotel.

You will be aware that you are asked to complete a questionnaire at the end of your stay, this valuable information helps us understand your holiday experience.

As you have returned to the Bel Jou you will be aware that staffing at the hotel is probably one of the more significant changes we've made - having now replaced both the representative and the General Manager. We're very conscious that having the right staff in these key positions is important and as a result of what we've been told, we were of course more than happy to make these changes.

As for the spa, we appreciate that this is now closed, but we have made arrangements for customers to enjoy other facilities in its place. At the end of July 2012, we are also going to complete a refit including remodelling of the buffet area to enhance the dining experience, along with improvements to the bungalows and replacement of soft furnishings.

St Lucia is a beautiful island and we are very fortunate to have our own hotel operating there. We will continue to make improvements that are needed to ensure that our customers have a worthwhile experience whilst staying with us at the Bel Jou, and we hope that the above has demonstrated that we take all feedback very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slaford, lincs.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Having just got back from staying one week at the Bel Jou Hotel...I must say neither my husband or myself were particularly overjoyed with it. The staff are excellent...very efficient..and friendly. Our room ( 212 ) was very dull in colour and general decor..but it was cleaned daily, both double beds were more than comfortable, and we had a super view across Castries and the surrounding hillsides, What a pity about the constant barking of dogs in locallity. I realy dont think that we had one day or night when they were not Barking!!!
Having been warned about the ammount of steps in the hotel to each of its many levels,,,, nevertheless many people I spoke to, including our own good selves found them extremely tiring given the humidity and heat. If you are not good wirh steps...dont opt for this hotel. The included tours were very mudane and realy not of much interest . The surrounding area of the Island is in our opinion... very seedy and shabby...AND as far as we could see was pretty much the same across much of the rest of the Island.
Rodney bay beach is lovely and you can get an excellent swim there.. Pigeon Island bay is just fine also if you decide to pay to go through the privately owned land which is gated!!! the local beach ( Vigie ) only has one decent swimming area ...and there are no umbrellas or chairs available!!!! The hotel shuttle bus runs quite frequently during the day... but the last time it comes up is 4.30....and we personally... didnt like being constantly tied to its times. The bus being the only method of getting to the beaches....the hotel is perched high up on the volcanic outcrop... and believe me ,,, it is most dangerous to attempt to walk it.
The town of castiies is dirty...seedy,,, rundown..and without their corregated iron sheets , I realy dont know what the good citizens would do for their roofing!!!!Castries is very disappointing indeed .I As is pretty well most ot the island in general, St Lucia is definately not the place for me!!!!!!!
The grenadine tour is more that worth the outlay....do try it. The hotel itself is sorely in need of refurbishment...but the staff are great. Would i return to the Bel Jou...???? a resounding NO... Sorry...not for me...

Room Tip: All the rooms are reasonable and all have a super view.If you choose to upgrade...is well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beljouslu, Manager at Bel Jou Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Bel Jou. We are disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy your time here. Your feedback will most certainly be taken on board.

You'll know from staying at the hotel that we ask all customers to complete a questionnaire once they have finished their stay, so that we can make any appropriate improvements where necessary. Based on recent feedback we've received from both those customers who have travelled for the first time to the Caribbean and also those who have returned, a number of actions have, and will be being taken.

We are making improvements during our shutdown at the end of July to the buffet area, bunglows and public areas.

I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be efficient and friendly and were very happy with the standard of cleanliness.

We really hope that those of you who have stayed with us before will come back, and that those of you who have yet to experience the delights of the island will consider enjoying all that the hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was the second week of a two centre Saga holiday. The first week being spent in Antigua. Bel Jou was not quite in the same class as the first week but nevertheless we had few complaints, but unfortunately one couldn't help comparing the two hotels. If we had only been to the Bel Jou we would have been more than happy, but it wasn't quite up to the Antiguan experience. Rooms were great and we had a wonderful view over the town of Castries, the seaport and the sea. As well as overlooking the well kept gardens of the hotel. Yes, there were plenty of stairs to negotiate, but that had been well publicised before we went there, but surprisingly some of the guests were surprised when they got there. Read the brochure ! Food was adequate, buffet style.. It reminded me of a works canteen, with a tray and a long selection of food to choose from. Not a great selection it has to be said but there was always something to eat. Drinks in the bars were good and the alcoholic smoothies by the pool during the day were superb. Staff were ok, but didn't seem to be too happy, sometimes got the impression that we were an inconvenience to them. Saga rep had not been there for long, and gave the impression that she had spent a lot of time as a kiddies rep somewhere.. Talk about loud. DON'T try and walk in to the town..! take the free shuttle bus. You'll see why when you get there. Swimming pool is quite small, but there was always plenty of room to relax there. Would I go back there? I think the answer would be yes..!

Room Tip: take plenty of sun cream.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at the bel jou for 3 weeks, during which we enjoyed our stay, but alot of things need to be inproved. We were in room 406 where we had a great sea view. furnitures looks old, need an upgrade. The staff were great, they were the ones who really made us enjoy our vacation, always smiling and friendly.Need to say a special thanks to Cheryl and yasmin at reception, Lulu at cabana for going out of their way to make us feel extremely welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor are much better and quieter, and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga guests can now enjoy a holiday at Saga’s own hotel on the Caribbean island of St Lucia. Boasting stunning views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today’s over 50s, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Jou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.