We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wharf, St Lucia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Bar & Restaurant

The Wharf Bar & Restaurant
Gros Islet Highway | Choc Bay, St. Lucia
758.450.4844
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 201 Restaurants in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The Wharf, St Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely people, friendly service and great food (try the Creole Burger with banana ketchup). If you can handle it, try the Long Island Ice Tea, best I've ever had.
Lisa will take good care of you!
Sly

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great place, great food, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Wharf should not be missed.
Like others have said do not judge the place by the exterior and keep your eyes open - its easy to miss
The food is fantastic, we ate there probably about 5 times during our stay and had everything from the Wharf special roti to giant fish fingers, steak and burgers

Lisa, makes the place special she makes you feel like her best friends as soon as you walk in and is more than happy for stay after closing time to drink up or have just one more. Bob does the cooking and he is great

Great food,great people.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You cannot miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Wharf is an absolute gem that should not be missed. Its located right next door to the Villa Beach Cottages on Choc Bay; its just north and if you blinked you'll miss it because its tucked away. Like others have said and I completely agree, do not judge the place by the exterior - that goes for so many places you see in St. Lucia. We stayed next door at VBC for several days and each day found us back here. The food was great - though admittedly I ate the same thing each time but my wife ate several entrees and liked them all. Having stayed on the island for 10 days and eaten rotis all over in different sauces and concoctions, I can say the Wharf Roti of Beef and Chicken was by far my favorite of them all.

When you meet Lisa, you will understand what all of the other reviewers and I have experienced - she absolutely makes the place special - again another reason why we went back over and over and on our last night we hung around past closing.

They make some great drinks here - the Kirnal Colada is the bomb, request it you won't be disappointed. My wife loved the Wharf Turnover and challenged Lisa to make her something off the cuff and Lisa delivered a Turnover/BBC variant she loved. Lisa in turn after answering some questions about the Kirnal Colada and using the chocolate coconut creme instead made me that - which I liked just as much as the original Kirnal. Try both!

Great food, awesome drinks, great people. All we were looking for and when we come back, you'll find us back up at the bar eating rotis and drinking coladas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks UK
1 review
“Friendly atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As the other reviews you need to ignore first impressions as it is a little tired, but that actually adds to the charm, the view was lovely. The food was very good and compared to other restaurants in st lucia was cheaply priced. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the proprietor (Lisa) was fantastic and really made our visit. We went twice during our holiday and they were the best evenings and food that we had - overall i would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are staying at the next door hotel (Villa Beach - excellent) and they recommended if we want a good meal to walk on over and you can eat there and enjoy the view or do as we did, ordered to go and took it back to our room. The place looks like it has seen better days, but don’t let that put you off. The kids could have the basic burger, but we enjoyed a taste of St Lucia with delicious roti, local vegetables, spicy jerk chicken. We are planning on going back tomorrow! Great flavours of the Island and friendly service - try it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St. Lucia, Caribbean
Castries, Castries Quarter
 
Cap Estate, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Wharf Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.