We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalousie Beach

Jalousie Beach
Soufriere, St. Lucia
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 161 things to do in St. Lucia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This white-sanded beach sits right at the foot of the majestic Pitons.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great day in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were staying at a private Vila near Anse Chastanet and decided to visit for the day. Great decision. Attentive staff and great service on the beach. The beach itself is picturesque with it's view up the side of the Pitons. Take a friendly water taxi for a nice ride around the coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful snorkeling spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This beach was busy & a little littered, but had incredible snorkeling on a reef just off shore! I would suggest water shoes or wearing your fins in, it's quite rocky just off the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice view from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Jalousie (Jealous) Beach is divided into two parts. One is a public beach and the other is in front of a resort. From the beach you have a view of the Pitons. The water is a dark emerald color and very refreshing. We traveled to the beach via water taxi (fee) that was included in our island tour. We stayed on the beach for about 1 hour. Snorkeling is available and you can rent equipment from the locals if you don't already have it. While I was visiting a few children were stung by the rock in the water to the right of the beach by either a jelly fish or stingray. Other than that, a great place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, NY
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkle experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

By far the best snorkelling we did in St. Lucia. Well worth the price of an excursion if the trip takes you here. We went with Joys Cruise which was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, great reef, nice locals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't get my son out of the water the reef is amazing, great snorkelling, nice white sandy area where you can sit and buy a meal or beer from the local hotel there.

Fabulous just how you imagine a Carribean bench should be x

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalousie Beach also viewed

 
St. Lucia, Caribbean
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 

Been to Jalousie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalousie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.