We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Guanahani to your Saves list
Le Guanahani
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lieu dit Marigot, 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Sylvan from Hotel Guanahani, we just knew we had chosen the right hotel. Sylvan was very warm in welcoming us to the island and the complimentary airport transfer that the hotel offers is a nice touch and the perfect beginning to what we promise will be an exceptional stay.

When we arrived at the hotel we were met by the GM, Martein van Wagenberg, who is both kind and a consummate professional. Martein escorted us into the lobby and then invited us to the welcoming cocktail party that night at the Bartolomeo restaurant. Also, a very personal touch.

When we checked into our suite, it was even more fabulous than we had envisioned it to be. We had a beautiful ocean view, a huge deck with beautiful outdoor furniture. The decor in the room was turquoise, orange and white and felt fresh and modern with an island vibe. A good night's sleep is certain in these comfortable beds! The mini bar is designed to look like a travel trunk which is a clever touch and adds to the already charming room. The attention to detail is obvious.

Breakfast was included in our rate and you can have it in Indigo Restaurant or brought to your room. We chose to go to the restaurant every morning not only for the beautiful poolside/ocean view but because the staff is simply amazing. The service is impeccable. This is, by far, the most delicious hotel breakfast that we have had anywhere. Everything is cooked to order and you can have practically whatever it is that you are craving.... dangerous when you plan to be in a bikini! Not to worry, we hit ocean view gym immediately after indulging.

With the beautiful beach and pool there is not much of a reason to ever leave the hotel. The service by the beach is incredible and from the moment you arrive and pick a spot someone will come and cover your lounge chair, bring you a beach towel and get you a drink should you desire one. Anthony was a standout in the service by the beach. When I went in the jacuzzi a towel was placed right by me for when I wanted to get out!

Everything about this hotel was just perfect, however, what stands out the most is the service. You will feel special every moment that you are on this property. Those that really stood out for us are Martein, Ugo, Sylvan, Anthony, Virginie...I could go on and on and on. You will not be disappointed,we promise.

The only disappointing factor was that our stay had to come to an end. We were not at all ready to leave this paradise. With that in mind, we are already trying to plan our return trip. There is no place that I would rather stay than Hotel Guanahani. Let's just hope they are not booked up!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear VCB4,

I have just one word to say : WOW!
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your perfect stay at the hotel Guanahani & Spa. Our best reward is to read that you have enjoyed all the different facilities of our property. I will personally pass on your compliments to the staff ( Sylvain, Anthony, Ugo, Virginie..) to thank on your behalf. We simply cannot wait to welcome you back to your Caribbean home.

With my best regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    55
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
66
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just visited hotel for a day trip to island.
Came over for lunch, and beach.
Lunch was very expensive, and ok.
Service was outstanding, pleasant staff.
Beach is gorgeous, and private. Pool is lovely. Bathroom by pool, has a shower which is a nice feature for people like us, who weren't staying overnight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sheltienm,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our Indigo restaurant on trip advisor.
We truly appreciate your kind support,
we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Best regards
Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week here with my entire family- 10 people in total and 4 children included. There is a private beach in the hotel and even some toys scattered around and the pool is right by the beach which makes life with kids easier. Also, I believe this is one of the only hotels with many aquatic options like kayaking available at the beach. The breakfast is wonderful and the rooms spacious. We used their nanny services many times and it worked wonderfully.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Clagmac,
Thank you very much for this review on your recent family vacation at Hotel Guanahani & Spa. We are most grateful that you took the time to comment your experience on trip advisor. Our hotel is family friendly, we are thrilled to read that you have appreciated our children facilities.
We look forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Guanahani for our Honeymoon and LOVED IT! Our room had a fabulous view of the ocean and was equipped with everything we would need. The grounds were beautiful and we loved that we could get beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkels, etc. at no cost for our various beach excursions. We really loved having breakfast prepared for us on our private porch and listening to the waves. We had the option to eat in town, but we chose to eat at one of the delicious restaurants on the grounds most nights. We visited a number of other resorts on the island, but none of them compared to Guanahani. The hotel staff was excellent and more than willing to play along when I asked them to help me practice my French! A special thank you to Damien, Alex, Jonathan, Aurelia, Clementine, Melanie, and Federica. Martein runs a fabulous hotel and we definitely plan on returning to Guanahani. Thank you for making our Honeymoon so memorable!

Room Tip: We are member od Leading Hotels of the World and since Guanahani is a member of these elite hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Concetta,
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire sur Trip advisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Guanahani & spa on Trip advisor.
We are delighted to read that you have appreciated your room, the view, the gardens, the restaurants and the service. I will pass on your compliments to our team, particularly to Damien, Alex, Jonathan, Aurelia, Clementine, Melanie, and Federica.
Again thank you for your kind support, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your Parisian home.
Best regards
Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our fifth consecutive year staying at The Guanahani and new manager Martein van Wagenberg has renewed the energy and warmth of the hotel. The staff, while always very helpful, now appear more energetic and enthusiastic. Martein has also added a Thursday night Managers cocktail reception for the guests. Anyone who's stayed at a 5-star Caribbean such at the One&Only hotels have come to expect this. It's a great way to meet the other hotel guests and make a deeper connection with the hotel staff.

There are hundreds of villas to rend on St. Barths. And they are all quite nice and more economical than most hotels. However, there is something wonderful about The Guanahani that you just can't find anywhere else, and we will always return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Darren C:

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your fifth stay at the hotel even more. We are blessed to have such a wonderful team that tries to make dreams come through. See you next year.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My family and I have stayed here often over the last 15 years and enjoyed our stay every time. We tried different types of rooms/suites. In April 2014, we stayed in a suite/villa right on the water's edge with a wrap around patio overlooking the water. Room service was prompt and courteous. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food is good to very good in general. The spa facility is excellent: quiet and luxurious. My family and I had great messages and spa treatment.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the pool area. Otherwise the other rooms are quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear MILKONY

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. The entire team is very happy to hear that after so many years you keep coming back to your Home away from Home in St Barths. We look forward to welcome you back so you can observe the sunrise from you patio on the water’s edge.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I spent the most amazing 9 nights at Guanahani! From the moment we arrived, the staff was attentive, informative and professional. The accommodations truly exceeded our expectations - it was paradise! The breakfast at Indigo each morning was a great way to start our days. The selection of foods, fruits and pastries was vast and the service was spectacular. We ate at both hotel restaurants during our stay - Bartholomeo was truly sensational! While we enjoyed exploring all of the beaches St Barths has to offer, Marigot and Cul de Sac were among our favorites. We cannot wait to plan our next trip to St Barths! -Brette and Adam

Room Tip: For ocean view rooms, select rooms 58 or higher (on the Marigot side of the property).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Brette & Adam,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Guanahani & Spa on Trip Advisor . The entire team of Hotel Guanahani & Spa strives to provide excellent service and there is no greater reward than your kind words. We are so pleased that you have chosen the Hotel Guanahani & Spa for your honeymoon.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon in your Caribbean paradise.
Best regards.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Address: Lieu dit Marigot, 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Guanahani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.