We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend, but with some reservations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Guanahani to your Saves list
Le Guanahani
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lieu dit Marigot, 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Recommend, but with some reservations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

First the good news. The accommodations are first class, the spa is incredible, and the fact that they have a pool is rare at a hotel on the island. Now for some of my concerns. I had checked the morning before if they had availability for upgraded accommodations, they did. When I arrived I pointed out that we were there for my 50th birthday, my wife's birthday, and our wedding anniversary. I then asked if they could upgrade our room. I was told( outright lied to) that they were booked and couldn't upgrade me.( not exactly getting off on the right foot). Their are two beaches. One is a seaweed infested beach, the other is beautiful, but with no chairs. The main restaurant, Bartolommeo, is not up to par with the quality of the resort. Portions are microscopic, prices are stratospheric.( not a good combination). The staff is friendly, housekeeping is top notch, and the packages they offer are much better than other resorts on the Island. The location is not as central to shopping, restaurants, or Gustavia as Eden Rock or Carl Gustav. That said, there are some advantages to being away from the noise, traffic, and hustle and bustle of these other resorts. Over all, we will be returning, but I hope they learn that an upgrade sets a positive tone for a hotel guest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    59
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
69
165
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Hotel just gets it ALL right. Lovely property. Rooms are beautiful and clean .It is the Caribbean so there are the usual ants at times. The grounds are well kept and facilities are in proper scale to resort. The Staff could not be more helpful.

Their packages are terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had an amazing 4 night stay at Hotel Guanahani & spa and only wish itcould have been longer. The resort is well appointed,has charming staff and an amazing restaurant - Bart's. I would love to return there- for a week at least next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our sixth trip to St. Barts, and the first time at Guanahani. We were a large group - nine people from three generations, including a one year old. We had an unfforgetable week, and everyone had a lot of fun. Guanahani is St. Barts at its best, a slice of the French Riviera at the tropics. If you are planning a golden trip with your family, there are few options as exciting as St Barts and the Guanahani. We had two big bungallows, one facing the sea (St.Jean), try to get this one. Great spa, beach, sports, food, kids room with caretakers - everything in a cozy environment with excellent service, and the beautifull St. Barts surrounding us. Of course, prices are not cheap, but you can't have everything in life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose to stay at the Guanahani in St Barths for 7 nights for our honeymoon. One of the first things we noticed on the puddle jumper from St. Martin was all of the "St. Barths French West Indies" t-shirts a lot of people were wearing. Apparently, your first trip to St. Barths usually won't be your last. Now, I can absolutely see why. I will now be one of those "t-shirt" people myself (tank top actually...but you get my drift).

The hotel grounds are like a lush tropical rainforest. So beautiful. One reviewer mentioned a plethora of cats. There are a few cats, but I spotted 3 at most. They were no trouble and stayed out of our way. Our room was cleaned daily, nice and cool, and very comfortable. This hotel is also very quiet, and while they do allow children, they are always well behaved and barely noticeable.

The staff was full of recommendations and very helpful. They even charged my camera for me one day while I stayed on the beach. I would come back to this hotel. It is beauitful, but renting a car is a MUST to see all of the other beauitful beaches and delicious restaurants on the island. Also a great idea to stock up on waters at the big supermarket in Gustavia as you only get 2 complimentary bottles each day.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is by far the best resort on the island. The staff and grounds are lovely and the food excellent. W stayed in small bungalow suite at the end of the row and felt like we were the only ones around. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Guanahai is a lovely hotel in Grand Cul de Sac St. Barths. The breakfast buffet is devine with a wonderful selection of any and everything you might enjoy for your first meal of the day. The room is very comfortable and very chicly furnished with designer fabrics and furniture. The bath products are all clarins and the bathrooms are a nice size.

The spa is wonderful with one of the best hammams. I had a 60 minute massage which was very good. They also have a lap pool at the spa which is really nice to use before or after a treatment.
The beach was great and lunch very delicious.

I would recommend this hotel as our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Address: Lieu dit Marigot, 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Guanahani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.