We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Barths Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guanahani & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Guanahani & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Guanahani & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lieu dit Marigot, 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“St. Barths Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Guanahai is a lovely hotel in Grand Cul de Sac St. Barths. The breakfast buffet is devine with a wonderful selection of any and everything you might enjoy for your first meal of the day. The room is very comfortable and very chicly furnished with designer fabrics and furniture. The bath products are all clarins and the bathrooms are a nice size.

The spa is wonderful with one of the best hammams. I had a 60 minute massage which was very good. They also have a lap pool at the spa which is really nice to use before or after a treatment.
The beach was great and lunch very delicious.

I would recommend this hotel as our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    46
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
132
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Guana is great with children and this a the reason why we are spending mainly every year a week there. The service at the restaurant is great as well as the room maid. The spa is among the best in the world. The minus there is the wind, which can be very strong and make the beach not so pleasant. The other one is the reception. Really very much below the service level of the overall hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything about the Guanahani is amazing. I've stayed there 3 times, and will continue to go every year. Amazing views, relaxing, kind and friendly staff, large grounds to ensure privacy. I love animal life and at sundown u can have turtles come right up to you on your suites property (just have a hibiscus flower ready to feed them). We have always rented a jeep while on the island, u really do need to go out for dinner at night because the islands restaurants are superb. Yes it's pricey, but it's St barths people. Don't believe anything negative you hear about this place, if you don't enjoy yourself there, you might as well kill yourself, you will never be happy.

Oh! One negative, Barto, the dinner restaurant is lame, skip it, there's M&P, Le Ti, and so many other places you should be spending your evenings dining at.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 3 different rooms and all had their own unique pluses. Even in the most standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family stayed at the hotel in June. The setting is beautiful; the food is memorable and the activities were enjoyable. When you spend this much for a resort, however, it's the little things that count (or don't). For example, did you know that the hotel "prides itself" on its feral cat population? I happen to be very allergic. I'd return to the room each day with cats laying on the cushions, inside and outside our villa. The hotel's suggestion? Use their same day laundry service. Really? What about the cushions and my reaction? We paid more for a two bedroom villa to keep the family together but have some privacy. Unfortunately, the warped doors to the bedrooms never closed. Hotel's answer? That's just the tropics. To take 10 days off I needed to stay in contact through the internet. I was told that service is sometimes out for "a few minutes at a time". While I was there, it was down for over a day at a time. On a beach vacation, you track dirt into the room. Strangely, each day our room was "cleaned" but our beach footprints remained visible in the wood the entire stay. There are more but you get the idea. If you can look past the details and just enjoy the site. This is for you. If you expect a level of responsibility over the details in keeping with the cost of the hotel room, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan,Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Guanahi's staff is great, always willing to help as when our bags did not arrive on our plane. Their service in the hotel, spa and restaurant Barto is really flawless. We got an upgrade and our room had a really nice furnished balcony with a wonderful view to the ocean. The room was comfortable but too lighted to my taste, since a bathroom window had a n outside light that lit up the room, and that coupled with all the digital displays (tv, sprinklers, etc), made it uncomfortable to me since I I prefer a really dark room. What the Guanahani lacks is a really nice beach, since though beautifull and good for sunning, is full of seaweed both floating and in the ocean floor. St Barts is really nice in the summer, less crowds, and even if it's hotter, the breeze is always there to cool you off, and nights are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms above ocean level, have great views and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It was our first trip to St. Barths. Several people suggested the Guanahani as well as our travel agent. We had just spent 4 days in St. Kitts which was very nice. We were able to catch an earlier flight and there was someone already from the hotel to meet us at the airport. The hotel and level of service was beyond excellent. This is not the busy season and the price very reasonable for such a luxurious place. The food is quite expensive but after the first bite you realize that you pay for what you get. The best part is when you go to the beach....someone puts your towels on the chairs and then you are left alone. No one bothering you to braid your hair, or buy cheap knockoff sunglasses.
This island is very friendly and no one is bothering you to take a tour or buy a timeshare. Definately a different level than the other islands we have visited in the past. We were only there for 4 days which was not enough. Now we just have to figure out when we can go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Guanahani for 3 nights in early June 2012 and were simply amazed by the quality of this resort: the grounds, the service, the activities, the restaurants, the beach, and the room. Everything was absolutely perfect and the staff went out of their way to make our visit extremely memorable. In addition to the wonderful oceanside activities like laying out on their private beach, sipping cocktails, and enjoying the watersports, we had one of the most fantastic meals we ever ate at the restaurant Bar'To (AKA, Le Bartolomeo). The concierge was always helpful with their recommendations and everyone very attentive to detail. On our last day, we treated ourselves to a massage at the Clarins Spa which made us question whether we ever wanted to leave. Thanks again, Guanahani, and see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Guanahani & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanahani & Spa

Address: Lieu dit Marigot, 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Guanahani & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Guanahani & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Hotel Guanahani & Spa St Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guanahani & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.