We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Ilets de la plage, St Barts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Ilets de la Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Ilets de la Plage
Save
You added Les Ilets de la Plage to your Saves list
Plage de St-Jean, St. Jean, St. Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Les Ilets de la plage, St Barts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from his fourth visit and my fifth visit to St.Barts but our first time staying at Les Ilets de la Plage and felt I should write a review about this amazing property. Firstly, Eric and Melane made us both feel so very welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We had a villa on the beach and this was the best accommodation we had ever stayed in, the views across St Jean Bay were incredible from our front garden. The villa is equipped with a kitchen and the bedroom is upstairs. There is a BBQ on site and most evenings my husband would BBQ, excellent way of meeting other guests. The property only has 11 villas, four of which are on the beach. It is very quiet there and we were always the only people in the pool. If you need to get away from a hectic schedule at home I would recommend this property for some much needed R & R time. Also at the reception there is a wide selection of DVD's that you can borrow. This location is perfect if you like walking along the beach, a five minute walk takes you into St Jeans, a lovely village with beautiful shops to suit everybody's needs and a lively bar.

Room Tip: For a perfect view across the bay choose a beach front villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had nine days at this special spot...we have stayed elsewhere on St. Barts in past years, but this was our first stay and we will return here for the seclusion and location. Eric and Melane were terrific hosts with wonderful recommendations for restaurants and made us feel so very welcome. The staff were sweet and helpful, the location lovely, and although we were hesitant to review so as to keep this a secret, we really had to sing the praises of the people and the property! Merci Beaucoup!!!!!

Room Tip: All locations are lovely - you cannot go wrong with any choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have been going to St Barth for years and have stayed in villas and the "luxe high end" hotels. I have to say that nothing compares to Les Ilets' authentic charm and comfort, not to mention the spectacular (and quiet) central St Jean location on the beach. Nothing has been ignored-from the practical (dish detergent, soaps, paper towels, etc) to the more luxurious (nespresso machines, flat screen tv (but who really cares about tv in paradise?), comfortable beds, stocked kitchen with wine and water included, not to mention the warm welcoming interiors with inspiring views. If you want to "be seen"-this is not your place. Yet if you crave quiet contemplation, comfort and an authentic St Barth experience, with both style and substance, well you have found your home. Thank-you Melane and Eric for making our stay simply spectacular. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford the beach cottages, do book them as they are spectacular with your own private gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

You could insist on 72" 3D TV's, red carpets up the paths to each door, laser-guided anti-mosquito defence systems, obsequious & pristinely-uniformed staff lifting the very drinks to your lips. Or you could settle for lovely local people (Mélane merits a special mention, as does Antoine who magicked up a brand new hot plate for us in hours when ours broke) taking care of simple but beautiful suites/ villas & delivering fresh breakfast pastries for you each morning, with a genuine smile and unobtrusive care and attention. While you fret over whether to sink into a day of beautiful sunshine & soothing breezes by the pool .... or force yourself to endure the full half-minute hike to a gorgeous private beach overlooking the most perfect azure sea you'll ever see.
We did watch a couple of DVD's (from the well-stocked reception collection) but the full moon shimmering on the water (as viewed from our open air sitting room) stole the show each night, for us.
It's beautiful, friendly, comfortable & unpretentious here ... while retaining an easy air of understated exclusivity. Unreservedly recommended.
Oh, and there actually are handheld electronic anti-mosquito assault weapons provided. You'll have fun with those too.

Room Tip: We were in a hillside villa (#11) given that this was steps from the beach, this was just as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Les Ilets is the place to be if you want a quite surrounding, on the beach with all you need to cook in its kitchenette
Melane & Eric will help in all they can, new Expresso machine in your room !
You can pick up gorgeous food from Maya to go, right by the airport.
You can rent different sailing equipment at St Jeans beach

Room Tip: Book a room on the beach, more expensive but it's worth the money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying in Les Ilets for the past 9 years and with out exception This is one of the best options for spending quality time in St . Barths. We usually stay there on April/May and June/July. We just came back yesterday, we regularly stay in a beach villa right on the water. We love many things from Les Ilets the French pastry basket they live for you every morning. The coffee by the pool,the villa itself is well appointed and decorated and is everything a beach villa must be, comfortable, clean, Good kitchen and everything you need to spend a great time. Les Ilets is a hybrid between a villa and a hotel it has all the services any good hotel has concierge, maid, laundry service, pool, free wifi, etc but no restaurant. Every villa is a house of one, two or three bedrooms. The st. Jean beach is the best place to be on St. Barths we just love the setting and ambiance. On our first visit we stayed at the Isle de France which we also love but some friends were staying here and invited us and we were hooked.
Eric, Melanie, Lulu and the whole gang to a super job of taking are of you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overpriced for the product better off renting a villa from other agencies like wimco, very dated, furniture and beds very old, mosquitos everywherenice amenities however. TV's are like 14 inch ?? Only a few towels !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.4 mi away
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
1.7 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Toiny
Hotel Le Toiny
#1 of 1 in Toiny
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 5 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ilets de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ilets de la Plage

Address: Plage de St-Jean, St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, understated villa resort on the beautiful island of St Barths. Built in the traditional style of the Caribbean island we call home, at Les Ilets de la Plage we do things a bit differently to the hustle and bustle you might find elsewhere. We run a quiet, understated resort of 11 villas located on the beautiful St Jean Beach with a mixture of one, two and three-bedroom layouts either on the beach itself or amongst the hillside's lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Ilets De La Plage Hotel St. Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Ilets de la Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.