We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny St Barths and the best to be on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Ilets de la Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Ilets de la Plage
Save Saved
You added Les Ilets de la Plage to your Saves list
Plage de St-Jean, St. Jean, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
San Isidro, Argentina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sunny St Barths and the best to be on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Les Ilets is the place to be if you want a quite surrounding, on the beach with all you need to cook in its kitchenette
Melane & Eric will help in all they can, new Expresso machine in your room !
You can pick up gorgeous food from Maya to go, right by the airport.
You can rent different sailing equipment at St Jeans beach

Room Tip: Book a room on the beach, more expensive but it's worth the money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying in Les Ilets for the past 9 years and with out exception This is one of the best options for spending quality time in St . Barths. We usually stay there on April/May and June/July. We just came back yesterday, we regularly stay in a beach villa right on the water. We love many things from Les Ilets the French pastry basket they live for you every morning. The coffee by the pool,the villa itself is well appointed and decorated and is everything a beach villa must be, comfortable, clean, Good kitchen and everything you need to spend a great time. Les Ilets is a hybrid between a villa and a hotel it has all the services any good hotel has concierge, maid, laundry service, pool, free wifi, etc but no restaurant. Every villa is a house of one, two or three bedrooms. The st. Jean beach is the best place to be on St. Barths we just love the setting and ambiance. On our first visit we stayed at the Isle de France which we also love but some friends were staying here and invited us and we were hooked.
Eric, Melanie, Lulu and the whole gang to a super job of taking are of you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overpriced for the product better off renting a villa from other agencies like wimco, very dated, furniture and beds very old, mosquitos everywherenice amenities however. TV's are like 14 inch ?? Only a few towels !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

These are lovely cottages with casual charm - well-maintained with A/C bedroom and big covered patio with indoor/outdoor kitchen and living space (garden villa). Quiet end of the most fun beach and don't be put off by being close to the airport - it's also close to grocery store and restaurants. Only small planes - none after after 6pm. The pool is quiet and the staff are friendly. A short drive to Gustavia and shopping to die for. We usually stay at 5 star resorts and this felt more like a beach vacation.

Room Tip: Either garden or beachfront rooms are fine. The garden room are higher and have a glimpse of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a wonderful spot on the Caribbean's most chic island. We have traveled to most of the other islands and this is by far the best. Good food, no crime, nice people and beautiful beaches. Les Ilets was a perfect spot to enjoy St. Jean beach. Eric and Melane were gracious hosts and we would not have changed a thing. Oh, I take that back, the Wifi is really weak, so if you are planning on working (shame on you) you will have real problems. Last year we rented a house and we much prefer this solution. The grounds are well cared for and the cottages are super-clean and nicely furnished. Wonderful to have a full kitchen! We will return next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have traveled to many Caribbean Islands, and St.Barth with so much French "charme" and beautiful nature and beaches, is for sure among the top islands of the list. Staying at Les Ilets made our 1 week vacation even better.

The resort is small, the beautiful Cottages are equipped with a full Kitchen, a living room, which is opening up on either side to the ocean or the garden (there were always some mosquito, but to tolerable levels), and a separate Bedroom, giving access to the Shower and bathroom.

The Staff is very friendly, warm and also very accommodating, offering you a great personalized service -thank you all, especially to Eric and Carine for your never ending support!

The breakfast (different kinds of fresh nice French bread ) was delivered every morning to our room. Also you can use their extensive book and DVD library for free (so you dont really need TV channels).

We disagree with some reviews, the beach at the resort is actually very nice (no rocks, pretty calm water) and quiet, a lovely spot at the Baie de St Jean.

For shopping, you can reach a big Shopping Mall with a Supermarket with amazing french food products just couple of minutes by car. The close proximity to the airport of the resort is no issue at all, as this airport is not very busy. With our Car parked just down the stairs of our cottages, we followed the recommendations of the Staff: best beaches ever were Gouverneur Beach and Salines Beach and a romantic lunch at the restaurant O’Corail (directly at the beach enjoying nice fish dishes with your feet in the sand ) on the Beach Grand Cul du Sac.

There are no restaurant or other facilities at Les Ilets. If you are tired of cooking, no problems, some restaurants are in walking distance (5-10 minutes) along the beach.

Les ilets de la plague is a resort well suited for couples (very romantic) or families who like to stay more on a budget, but enjoy to stay as close to nature as you can be (without giving up some comfort) plus having an excellent service provided by their Staff. Without any doubts we highly recommend to stay in this resort and we will for sure return-to this little gem within the paradise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
560 helpful votes 560 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Like Ricky G in his review we are regular visitors to Les Islets since the Filao Beach closed.

For the first time, this year we we able to secure a beachfront Villa, and it was wonderful ! A large private terrace and garden, sunloungers on the beach and just yards from the sea.

Inside the Villa, the bedroom is upstairs with an smart adjacent bathroom. The kitchen and a comfortable living area are downstairs, although we spent most of our time relaxing on either the patio or beachfront. Personally, I can't think of anywhere better to be than at Les Islets at sunset relaxing either on the terrace or a beach sunlounger, in a nice cool breeze with a glass of wine watching the day disappear as the waves lap nearby

Our Villa had a TV but it only received French TV stations. However, this was not a problem as we were not intending to watch TV on holiday, but a TV picking up US channels is situated by the Swimming Pool so you can watch US Sports, European football etc there if you wish ! Free Wi-fi was available in the Villa

The staff are available if you need them, otherwise they melt into the background and let you get on with your relaxing holiday. Breakfast was delivered early each morning ready for when we woke up, and apart from the cleaners, check in and check out were the only time we spoke to the guy at reception apart from the usual "Bonjour" on the way to the swimming pool area.

Overall, Les Islets is very relaxing and we are very, very happy there !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Ilets de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ilets de la Plage

Address: Plage de St-Jean, St. Jean, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Jean
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Jean
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, understated villa resort on the beautiful island of St Barths. Built in the traditional style of the Caribbean island we call home, at Les Ilets de la Plage we do things a bit differently to the hustle and bustle you might find elsewhere. We run a quiet, understated resort of 11 villas located on the beautiful St Jean Beach with a mixture of one, two and three-bedroom layouts either on the beach itself or amongst the hillside's lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Ilets De La Plage Hotel St. Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Ilets de la Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.