We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for tapas and wine ... make a full meal of it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Txerri Gorria - CLOSED

Txerri Gorria
St Jean | Villa Créole, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
+590 590 52-2096
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Bar a Tapas, Bar a Vin, Bar a biereCuisine basque, Espagnole. Cuisine a la plancha devant les clients..Produits frais, produits de la mer...Ambiance Latine assuree, musique flamenco, basque, salsa...
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good for tapas and wine ... make a full meal of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Ate here last night. Really enjoyed the Red Pig for tapas. There is both outdoor and indoor seating here but everyone was outside last night. The wait staff was very friendly, offering complimentary starters of tuna tapenade and then some complementary omelet thing mid-meal (sorry I didn't get the name).

My favorite thing I ate was calamaris with ham sauteed with green onions. Salty and delicious.

A few plates with a couple glasses of wine came out to 55 euro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dergondarkhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let Jean-Baptiste take you through an extraordinary wine experience.....the small plates are absolutely fabulous as well......one of the most charming places on St. Barth's.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank restoman2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly service yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I really love this place. The food is yummy and a very good value for St Barth. I love that you can go pick you bottle directly from the cellar and they only charge a small corkage fee. The only negative is that there is this terrible smell there sometimes which has kept us away recently.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jojonyc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wine Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on the back of the good reviews. The menu seemed more limited than other people have mentioned on here. There was no coq au vin, or other hot dishes that are on their website.

Service was strange. We ordered a glass of wine on arrival, and despite there only being one other table I had to chase for it at least 10 minutes later. Cheese and cold meats were very good. I'm not sure if the normal front of house was working. I asked a simple question about what grape the wine was and he didn't know the answer.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BluewhaleLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wine Class / Charcuterie - Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In the middle of our honeymoon we booked ourselves a wine class at Absolutely. Given that the season was just starting we were happy to experience lower levels of tourists on the island, and we were treated to a private wine class in the back cellar of Absolutely. Our teacher was a very nice young woman who had moved to st. barts at the request of her friend from france, and had not left since then...4 years ago. Just goes to show the drawing power of St. Barths. After introductions we were taken on a course where we learned how to smell, taste, and analyze wines and left with a depth of knowledge that we had both not known about. After our wine tasting which was about an hour, we enjoyed some more wine and a meat and cheese place, along with some fresh bread and jams. It was perfect. The class was very informative in a non-pushy way, and we were not at all intimidated to ask questions. They offer different levels of wine classes, and we took the very first level - but it would be fun to experience them all. The charcuterie was first - class, as was the service. Highly recommended as a place for wine and food, as it is very central and nearby many shops that you will be popping in and out of when in st. barths.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Txerri Gorria also viewed

St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing