We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tom Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tom Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fabulous vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Just returned from the best vacation ever! We stayed at Tom Beach hotel from Nov 5-9, 2009 with another couple. The hotel is just beautiful. The rooms are so nice. I can't think of one negative thing that I would say about this place. The staff is so friendly and greet you by name right when you checkin. The restaurant La Plage and beach bar Pink Parrot are just terrific. Breakfast each morning is wonderful... croissants, pancakes, bread, fresh fruit and juice/coffee. The hotel is on the most beautiful beach in St. Barths - St. Jean beach. The airport is at the end of the beach and it makes for great entertainment throughout the day to watch the planes take-off & land right over the beautiful blue waters of the caribbean sea. The hotel is just a short 5 minute drive to Gustavia, where there are many great restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. I have visited 18 different caribbean islands, this was my 2nd trip to St. Barths and it is definitely my favorite :) In general, the island is beautiful. It's clean, the people are friendly and there are so many beautiful beaches that you could stay for a month and not see them all. If you are thinking of visiting St. Barths - you will not regret it. And, if you stay at Tom Beach Hotel you will surely be happy that you did!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    39
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
90
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We returned 3 weeks ago from a fantastic getaway at Tom Beach & its restaurant La Plage. We almost had to arrive by ferry, since our flight from Miami was late. When I called the hotel in a panic, I was told, "Don't worry! If you are not at the airport on the last flight, we will gladly pick you up at the ferry dock around 8:00 PM!" I immediately knew that this was going to be a stress free vacation!! The staff, as usual, was as helpful & friendly as can be. The location of this gem of a hotel is unbeatable, and our beachfront suite was terrific. The views were amazing from the large oceanfront deck of the St Jean Bay and its white powdery beach. The room had been renovated, the refrigerator was great for snacks, the king mattress was very comfortable, the black out curtains were great, and the bathroom was roomy with a wonderful rain forest showerhead. The breakfast that was included every morning was delicious with fresh squeezed juices, breads & croissants, fresh plates of fruit, and my beloved morning iced tea. What a way to start the morning with our feet dangling in the sand & overlooking blue azure colors of the sea. Lunches & dinners were all beautifully prepared, and the drinks at the beach bar were great. Everyone treated us as if we were their only priority (obviously not) from the reception desk to the restaurant - Nicolas, Marie Charlotte, Jonnie Boy, Christoffe, Bryce, Damien, Anna, etc. I know we have not named everyone, but the entire staff needs to be applauded. When we arrived, the Summer Music Session was going on, and we enjoyed the various live groups & D.J.'s every night. Our special thanks goes to the owner, Thierry, for making our vacation fantastic & making us feel so welcome. We really appreciate the special talent that he has for music & ambience.

Tim & Marilyn Griffin from Stuart, FL and YTB Travel & Cruises

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed with 2 other couples for a 4 nighter in St Barts. Underground parking was like the back alley of a stinky old restaurant. Check in was pathetic amidst the construction tools lying around. Terribly embarassed as I had booked the hotel with out proper research. My wife had to leave the lobby as she was laughing so much at me. The dinner reservations I requested via email were not made and there were unsure as to which were or weren't. Easy answer, none were! Pulling up to a closed Francios Plantation Restaurant was a trip highlight! Very nice security guard helped me close the gate on my way out. Rooms were fair at best with nice beds but dated furniture in general. The bathroom was a darp dank cave. Not dirty but just dark, dated and humid. The hotel is clean and staffed by nice people but is just run down and in need of a massive renovation. The highlights were beach side breakfasts at the well run, very efficiently and politely staffed restaurant. Lingered over long breakfasts there daily..Those moments made the trip.. Beach scene midday active but we drove to quieter beaches each day and swung down to the hotel beach in the late afternoon. We love St Barts and having been going for 12 years an have stayed in top spots as well as some funkier, hipper spots. This was the low point in our accomodations to date. Stay next door at the Emeraude Plage and walk over for the restaurant.. Great Island, Poor choice of hotel to come to..

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We went to st-Barths on vacation and ate at La Plage in St-Jean in Tom Beach hôtel.

What a great place! right on the beach, very classy and trendy. Cool music, beautiful people and great food!

Try the mahi-mahi and the veal! Yummy! The chocolate fondant was to die for!

Don't miss this restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Just returned from a great 3 night stay at Tom Beach. Found the location to be ideal. We didn't rent a car for our first day so we walked to the local St. Jean shops, restaurants, grocery store and airport.
Our room was perfect. Modern, clean and comfortable. Not luxurious - but luxury wasn't expected. I was concerned about noise due to the location and the attached bar/restaurant. But, noise wasn't a problem - with the exception of an occasional airplane. A small but adequate pool. The hotel staff, especially Mary and Nicholas were terrific.
Breakfast was provided every morning in the outdoor restaurant. Feet in the sand, looking over the gorgeous beach. Lovely pastries, breads, jam, fresh squeezed juice and coffee. What more could you ask???
Beach chairs/towels are available to guests. Some extended stay "regulars", as well as day visitors to chic St. Jean beach rent the chairs as well. Makes for an enjoyable beachside scene.
St. Jean is a great beach for people (and airplane) watching, running, and walking. It's one of the only St. Barth beaches with bars/restaurants and close to shopping. Tom Beach's restaurant La Plage is fabulous for breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plage had live entertainment each night. (Not too loud.) Nice during and after dinner.
Eden Rock is at the end of the beach and has a fabulous restaurant with a view you don't want to miss. At least try it for a sunset cocktail.
You'll want to have a rental car in St. Barth in order to explore the island, beaches, restaurants, etc. Parking is available either in the (tiny) Tom Beach garage or on the street. Driving is a thrilling experience in SBH.
Hotel choices in SBH are somewhat limited especially if you are looking to spend less than $500 per night. Tom Beach provided the perfect respite for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

This place needs a remodel! e stayed in the most expensive room right above the restaurant on the beach and it needs an huge update and it was very noisy!!!! The smell of overflown toilets or cesspool was daily sometimes in the rooms and mainly inthe garden. The restaurant is ok but the guy who runs it is a disrespectful jerk. I would never return there.

  • Liked — the front desk staff
  • Disliked — the owner of the restaurant, rude rude rude
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Hotel Tom Beach was the perfect spot for a week-end getaway from the bright lights of St. Martin. The hotel was just five minutes from the St. Barts airport, w/taxi provided by the hotel. Our room (#9) was beachfront, w/ a large oceanfront deck and bar which doubled the living space of our room. The room itself was large, very nicely appointed, with a modern bathroom, canopied king-size bed and a sliding glass wall onto the deck. I especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the beach-front restaurant and beach bar, which had good service and great food. The Eden Roc Hotel is at the other end of the beach, providing another wonderful restaurant just a short walk away. I definitely plan to stay here for all return trips to chic St. Barts!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boutique Hotel is a 12 rooms Hotel, an intimate place well located in a tropical garden straight on the white sandy beach of St-Jean ranked as the 8th sexiest beach in the world. Each rooms opens on a terrace or a patio and are fully equipped with air conditioning, fan, phone, television, spacious bathroom, safe, unlimited WiFi access.Our restaurant "La Plage" is open for lunch and dinner and features local fish and exotic flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.