We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay and Staff at Tom Beach!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tom Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tom Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding stay and Staff at Tom Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First I'd like you to know that we've always opted for Villa's while in St. Barths.
This Thanksgiving week we chose Tom Beach Hotel.
We had along our son of 21 months and In-Laws.
I have to say we we're very pleasantly pleased with the service, hotel...and food.
The front desk staff is top notch! You need it...they're there for you and always with a smile.
They always took notice of our son and greeted each day, night or just passing by.
The restaurant, beach and bar staff all follow suit...amazing.
We had breakfast and car included in our rates...all were orchestrated and delivered perfectly.
This hotel and staff are a gem on the Island.
You can stay at other hotels...but why...it's the best beach and location....and who can beat the planes and entertainment.
We've visited just about all the hotels (or their restaurants)...there are some very nice ones...though...you can be your true self at Tom Beach.
We're already booked for our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We come to st Barths every two years and this time really wanted to find a cozy place in St Jean. We really like the beaches on this part of the island and the restaurants and people too. I contacted Tom Beach in March of 2013 and other hotels in St. Jean to discuss our options for our October stay. I found this place on trip advisor where the reviews were good but I wanted to do further research because 3 weeks in any place can be either amazing or terrible. I decided to go with Tom Beach because they were so willing to accommodate us and help us with anything to ensure that we would have a wonderful holiday. We booked early and so were able to get room #8 which is one of two rooms that had a huge private waterfront balcony with a double lounge chair. We also booked the "Easy St. Barths" package which was worth its weight in gold as it included breakfast, a car and they met us in St Martins airport got our luggage and transported it onto the next flight so we could ease through customs and onto the small aircraft. The room was every bit as beautiful as the photo on the website and this quaint little beach hotel is absolutely perfect. Every morning we were greeted in the restaurant by a lovely french waitress asking us which type of freshly squeezed juice we would prefer with our breakfast (orange, grapefruit,beet,cucumber) and how many minutes we wanted our eggs cooked for. The hotel has so much going on from wine tastings, I love Fridays parties, Saturday bikini brunches with really good music. You can walk to st jean down the beach or the supermarket at the airport - everything is so close - The beach staff are so conscientious always running to your chair to straighten your towel or bring you a hug bucket of Ice and Evian. Every morning we went into Gustavia for our walk and coffee and when we returned our room was made up fresh and clean. Every evening by 7 our bed turned down ice refreshed water topped up and garage emptied fresh towels in our bathroom. We were thanked by every single staff member for staying with them for so long. The Service is 10/10 here. Every time we met a local person during our stay on the island they raved about how much they loved Tom Beach, it's owners and the staff. We have travelled extensively around the world and always look for places to stay that where the people are real down to earth and The one thing that I loved most about this hotel is that I felt that we got 5 star treatment but that this was a place that we could feel comfortable and at home - This is the place to be on the island - Tom Beach Hotel is truly the diamond of St Barths.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch at La Plage Restaurant dining on fresh Mahi-Mahi and Wahoo with enticing desserts; everything had beautiful presentation. Since we had lunch there, we were able to lounge in their chaise lounges on St. Jean beach. Later enjoying espresso and people watching. Wonderful happening place to spend the day. We didn't stay at the hotel, but it looked inviting, as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited St Baths for 8 days and split our vacation between Tom Hotel and The Christopher Hotel. We arrived and were picked up at the airport for a very short ride to the hotel. The hotel does not have a shuttle but hires a taxi driver to pick you up. Once we arrived, we were greeted by a smile. Check in was a breeze and room was as expected. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious. The mini fridge was located outside on a patio deck that needs some serious work. The hotel itself is small, but the grounds are really nice. The pool is ok. The whole 4 days we were there we never saw anyone in it. I think it is because once you get past the pool, you arrive at the restaurant, that opens up to the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean. White sand, turquoise waters. The beach bar is located right on the edge of the restaurant next to the lounge chars. The staff at the beach bar, Maddie in particular was what made our stay at Tom hotel top notch. The service was incredible. Staff was so friendly. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, fresh juices, fresh pastries and yogurt. There is no better way to start the day than sipping a cup of coffee while overlooking the most magnificent ocean. One of the things that bothered us about the hotel was the room service. In order to order room service, you have to go down to the restaurant and order your food or drinks, but once you do that they are very prompt at delivering it. We also were not pleased that after we had room service, we placed our tray outside and it sat there for 2 days attracting bugs. Their housekeeping staff was very slow at getting anything done. The hotels location is ideal. You can walk to the local grocery store, souvenir shopping, cute boutiques with wonderful clothes, and near by hotels with restaurants and bars. If you want to go into town, you can take a taxi that cost @$40 US dollars (everything is priced in Euros) or you can rent s car for @$70 US. On a side note, if you were wondering. What is tipping like in St Barths, it depends who you ask. In French culture tipping is not customary, but these guys work very hard to make the guest stay a memorable one and make just enough to live, I personally believe on tipping for good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Barth's and Tom Beach Hotel was a great first experience. The staff was very accommodating, and friendly-I know some of the bad reviews commented on the staff not being friendly and I think it's crazy because they were super nice!! I would especially like to name Bohier Yoann, and Carolina at the front desk and of course darling Gaelle : ) We loved our experience there. The Hotel is located in a perfect area (St. Jean) with easy access to the airport, groceries, shopping or anything else that you would want or need. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best place to stay in st Barth no question ask. I said it 4 years ago when I went for first time to St Barth and I still can say it. The location, food, service, ambience, etc. We love it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed as a couple with an 18 month old infant for 6 nights at Tom Beach. At first I wasn't happy with the room they allocated to us, since I was expecting an enclosed garden patio where our son could play. This was one of the main selling points for me for choosing this hotel. So please note that not all rooms have this. Our patio was at the front where you enter the room and close to the pool, so we couldn't let our son play outside without having to watch him all the time. This room (Room # 1) was also outdated, and the bathroom needs a make-over (this bathroom does not appear as shown on their photos). They did offer to upgrade us to one of the deluxe sea view rooms after 3 nights when it became available, at no extra charge. The deluxe room was fabulous, with a nice terrace where our son could play. The only annoying thing was the motion censored activation of the bathroom light, since the light goes on even when you walk by the bathroom. The toiletries provided by the hotel (by Ligne, which you can purchase in St Barth) are amazing.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They organized our car rental and provided a lot of useful information; and they all spoke English very well.

The location is perfect with grocery stores, pharmacies and clothing stores within walking distance. Tom Beach has a beautiful art gallery in the reception area, and their restaurant is on the beach. Every morning we had a very nice breakfast with our feet in the sand. The breakfast is European, which we prefer, and not American, but they do bake eggs on request. We loved the coconut jam. They have beautiful girls modeling 'Free in St Barth' (their on-site store) clothes during lunch time. Locals definitely like to hang out at Tom Beach during the day, so it's the perfect place for people watching or meeting new friends are their beach bar. Sexy St Jean beach was by far our favorite beach to hang out. If you are offended by topless woman tanning on their beach chairs, then best to avoid St Jean beach. Our son also enjoyed watching the planes land at the nearby airport as they flew overhead.

The dinner menu at La Plage was limited. We found that Eden Rock provided a better dinner selection, which is only a short stroll along the beach away.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to St Barth. I do however think it is more suites for couples wanting to spend a romantic holiday then for families with infants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boutique Hotel is a 12 rooms Hotel, an intimate place well located in a tropical garden straight on the white sandy beach of St-Jean ranked as the 8th sexiest beach in the world. Each rooms opens on a terrace or a patio and are fully equipped with air conditioning, fan, phone, television, spacious bathroom, safe, unlimited WiFi access.Our restaurant "La Plage" is open for lunch and dinner and features local fish and exotic flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.