We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach-side restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tom Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tom Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great beach-side restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This lovely sand-in-your-shoes beach-side restaurant is very well run : excellent food and very friendly service. Lovely ambiance too. Enjoy the sight of the private planes taking-off and landing at the nearby airport (spectacular). Did not stay at the hotel - I am commenting on the restaurant only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    36
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely property and staff. Unfortunately, the Tom Beach needs to hire a better exterminator.
I was afraid to leave my suitcase open for fear I would bring "something" home. The person who showed me the amendities of my room when I first checked in also pointed out the Raid bug repellant and The Off mosquito spray for my use. Yikes! Lounging in bed under my mosquito netting a bug crossed over me and I needless to say had trouble sleeping afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at the Tom Beach Hotel in which every expectation was exceeded. I stayed with my son, who is in grad school and flew in from Paris. It was the perfect hotel for both of us. Lets start with the location - directly on the beach with gorgeous views, next to a water sports rental (where my son and his friends rented a Hobie Cat), near restaurants and shops in St. Jean. Each morning, I woke early and enjoyed breakfast at the beach-front restaurant where I was welcomed with a big smile and "bonjour!." It was a hearty meal with eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, croissants, abundent fresh fruit, etc., etc. Since they serve til 11 a.m., my son, who often slept in after partying until the wee hours, could enjoy a late breakfast. Beach chairs were set up for us - for the day, if wanted. The beach bar offers great service & seems to be a popular spot for young and young at heart to hang out. This hotel has a unique, european ambiance - hip yet understated. On Friday night, they had a big party with a DJ who flew in from L.A. - outstanding, reported my son, who attended with friends. While it was noisy, I knew to bring ear plugs (because the airport is so close) and slept right through.We dined with our friends at La Plage (9 of us) and everyone loved it - service, food, atmosphere - all great.

Our room, #3, was the furthest from the restaurant (but really a very short stroll). I usually like oceanfront with views but did not miss it at all - the hotel is so small that at any time you can simply stroll down to a lounge chair and enjoy the crashing surf. The room itself was large enough to accomodate a roll-away bed, which conveniently rolled right under the king bed. It had a lovely garden terrace which we enjoyed. The bath was spacious with a great shower.

The hotel arranged our car rental, which I'd recommend - I was simply handed the keys and I handed them back the day we left - how convenient! They also arranged airport transfers, starting in St. Maarten with VIP service. Our bags did not come in with our flight to St. Barths; but, after our welcome cocktail with friends on the beach, we found our bags in our room.
The maid service seemed invisible - how they knew when we left always amazed me as we'd return to a fresh room. They also provided turn-down service with fresh towels if needed.

On my last visit to St. Barths, I stayed at Les Ondines - another nice small hotel, but it is very far from Gustavia & St. Jean. The Tom Beach is the perfect location and provides 5-star service. You could not do better anywhere on the island - highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently spent a very relaxing week at Tom Beach and I would highly recommend it. It seemed to be the most vibrant beach scene on the island which was perfect because you could drive to a secluded beach at any time and then return to a great scene with great drinks and music (depending on the day). We found it to be the perfect "home base" to see the island from. The staff was great, the hotel was very clean, and the front desk helped with reservations for any night we needed to go out. We rented a car 2 days into our week long trip and I wished I had rented one for the entire time. Any cab ride seemed to be $30 each way, no matter where you were going. It would have been cheaper to just rent a car. We can't wait to return to Tom Beach, hopefully sooner rather than later

Room Tip: Location wise, every room is pretty much the same, although I think a few faced the street which you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Tom Beach hotel is a very pleasant small hotel with a vibrant atmosphere and
friendly service. Concierge was very helpful in retrieving our luggage, which had
been lost by Airfrance, and recommending beaches and restaurants around the island.
Rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Mosquitos are a nuisance throughout the
island, although they are not really advertised... Hotel is right on the beach and
has a very nice restaurant offering excellent breakfast, great food and a
high-quality bar. Some evenings there is live music or a DJ and great atmosphere.
Crowd is young, but we went with our 2 year old daughter who loved it. Pool is not
one of the highlights, while St Jean is a beautiful beach and an excellent location
to visit the island as a well as the town of Gustavia. The planes, which take off
meters away from the hotel, never bothered us, while noise from the nearby street
was a bit more noticeable from our room. Overall an excellent place and we would
definitively go back to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My recent stay at the Tom Beach Hotel in St. Barths was so indescribably divine that part of me wishes to keep it secret. My ocean front room with incredibly large double deck and unworldy sea views could not have been more comfortable or more stylishly decorated. We played our music and watched movies during down time and it felt like home. La Plage restaurant on the beach kept us well fed to funky beats for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dinner is especially exquisite and has a low key clubby feel, sometimes there is live music. There is nothing like eating delicious food with your barefeet in the white powdery sand of St. Jean Beach. The two bars on the beach serve equally delectable cocktails. The restaurant and the bars are gorgeous and are never crowded. The staff is always smiling and eager to make any accomodation. For example they parked our car when we were in a rush, sought out adaptors for my iphone5, made all of our reservations, set up our beach chairs with towels and umbrealls each day, were a wealth of island info, and scheduled my tennis lessons. They gladly made many last minute changes when necessary. They also made all of this seem effortless. The location is on the best beach in St. Barths in my opinion. I have stayed at more expensive hotels in St. Barths and they pale in comparison to the happiness that Tom Beach provides.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. But ocean front is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington de
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our recent stay at Tom Beach was wonderful. Our oceanfront room was beautiful and comfortable. The entire hotel staff was attentive and Guillaume and Aymeric, the manager, were most helpful. The restaurant, La Plage, is excellent with very creative food. The beach is gorgeous. It is a hotel where you do not need to rent a car as the restaurants and shops of St. Jean are within a few minutes walk. Very nice pool. Lovely breakfast by the beach. We look forward to returning to Tom Beach!

Room Tip: There are two beachfront rooms which have very large decks overlooking the beach. The rest are over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boutique Hotel is a 12 rooms Hotel, an intimate place well located in a tropical garden straight on the white sandy beach of St-Jean ranked as the 8th sexiest beach in the world. Each rooms opens on a terrace or a patio and are fully equipped with air conditioning, fan, phone, television, spacious bathroom, safe, unlimited WiFi access.Our restaurant "La Plage" is open for lunch and dinner and features local fish and exotic flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.