We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tom Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tom Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a blissful week at the Tom Beach Hotel and honestly can't say enough good things about our experience. The entire staff, from the front desk team of Marie, Caroline and Guillaume to the restaurant, bar and beach folks are friendly, very professional and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ensure that your stay is wonderful. The location of the hotel is terrific: beautiful beach, great atmosphere and the rooms are great. This hotel is clearly well managed, and maintains a relaxed, hip and fun environment. The restaurant La Plage has excellent food, service and wine, and the total vibe is casual chic...perfect for a winter vacation. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    36
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is very well located: walking distance to the shopping area by the airport and to the Niki Beach area. A couple rooms have view to the beach, the other rooms have a small garden with sitting area. The staff is great. The restaurant is very good and there is always some kind of activity: fashion, pole dancing....
The hotel has no fitness center but the concierge can make arrangements to use facilities close by.
Contact the hotel to reconfirm your arrival so they can send you a taxi. You can rent a mini cooper on site.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the furthest from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wow, what an experience I had on our honeymoon at Tom Beach Hotel. From the moment I stepped foot in their lobby,Guilluame, the concierge guy was in point with everything in super hospitable. Thanks for making our stay there so awesome. Oh, and this spot is right on the beach overlooking the end of the runway so you can watch small planes come and go. Lastly, the food was the best we had on the island at a reasonable price, at least in terms of St. Barth's pricing. Highly recommend this place. Oh and the supermodels in the lobby wall aren't too shabby either. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The best things about this hotel is the location(ON BEACH, and in St. Jean) and it's incredibly friendly and fun staff....and also its very very good restaurant. If you want to take 2 steps to the beach with guaranteed chairs, a great restaurant and really fun bar and service people and a constant stream of new people visiting this beach site daily, this is the place for you. It's social, fun, and on the beach. Guillaume was fantastic as the concierge...he made everything seamless. Greg, Mathieu, and Meddy kept the bar lively. The rooms are clean and adequate. This isnt Isle de France. If you want that, you will pay double the price. The biggest negative (and it didn't really bother me that much) was the noise from the street traffic....but i only noticed that in the morning....all that did was prompt me to get up and go to the beach...2 steps outside my door. My 3rd time to st barths, and my first time at Tom Beach. If you want a great location, reasonably priced (for st. barths) place, and a bit of a social scene, this is for you. I will definitely return to Tom Beach

Room Tip: stay in room as far from front of hotel as possible..the road noise can be loud at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been to many great places, but the people and the ambience of Tom Beach made this my best holiday ever. Many thanks to Tebow, Greg, Sabrina, David and the rest for such a great experience. See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just finished up a perfect week in St. Barth's and the amazing Tom Beach Hotel was a big part of the experience. The accomodations are great, just the right balance of casual beach property and chic, trendy boutique. The location is convenient, close to St. Jean restaurants, supermarket, coffee shop, etc. While we definitely enjoyed checking out the beaches off property, you could easily spend your whole vacation (or life) sitting at the Pink Parrot beach bar or on your lounge chair (guaranteed for hotel guests) looking at the perfect water, having a rum punch and watching the planes take off. One of the key intangibles that made this place so great was the staff--everyone from the concierge and front desk team to the bar and restaurant staff is friendly, fun and helpful. When we next make it to St. Barth's from NYC, this is where we'll stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which had a very big garden patio and was particularly spacious. We requested a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

just returned from an incredible stay at tom beach hotel - dont book anywhere else - fabulous location - great food but more importantly - AMAZING STAFF. we will return. love to all at tom beach but especially marie, greg and teri xxx maureen lackie xxx

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de St Jean | BP 1058, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boutique Hotel is a 12 rooms Hotel, an intimate place well located in a tropical garden straight on the white sandy beach of St-Jean ranked as the 8th sexiest beach in the world. Each rooms opens on a terrace or a patio and are fully equipped with air conditioning, fan, phone, television, spacious bathroom, safe, unlimited WiFi access.Our restaurant "La Plage" is open for lunch and dinner and features local fish and exotic flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.