We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip place in a perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emeraude Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Emeraude Plage
Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hip place in a perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

My fiancée and I went to St. Barths after four nights at the Westin Dawn Beach in St. Maarten. The hotel is less than a 10 minute taxi ride from the ferry and main port on the island, Gustavia. It's location on St. Jean Beach is perfect. The beach is wider and quieter here than the neighboring Tom Tom Beach Hotel. The impressive Eden Rock Hotel complex is a two minute walk down the beach as is the village of St. Jean (Nikki Beach, several shops a few restaurants, a pharmacy and a great take out place, Kiki et Mo). The hip, compact, all white lobby has a nice library and a computer for guest to check email or surf the web. The hotel staff is easy going and will make reservations for you if your French is not up to par. Just don't expect 5 star service and staff at your beckon call. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and depending on our bungalow number, the beach is either two steps or 60 seconds away. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a white on white esthetic with chocolate curtains. The bathroom has an open shower with two faucets and a blow dryer. Each room has a patio with chaise lounges and a detached kitchenette with a refrigerator. There is a beach bar with a few tables where you can order breakfast, a light lunch or an afternoon snack. The service was efficient and friendly and the view of on beach and Eden Rock is memorable. The vibe throughout is very friendly, relaxed and laidback. I recommend the hotel for young couples or families that want a clean hotel with a relaxed vibe with an excellent location on a beautiful beach and near town. I do not recommend it for travelers that expect and demand 5 star services and perfection. There is a hotel next door that is probably your cup of tea that cost around $750 - $1,000/night. Keep in mind that this is St. Barths and there is an air of exclusivity that permeates the entire island. Things cost basically twice as much as they do on neighboring St. Martin\St. Maarten. A few tips - taxis are not prevalent and are expensive. If you are going to use a taxi more than once a day, rent a car. I recommend eating at the mid-priced (for St. Barths) restaurants. We ate at Eden Rock and Le Sapotillier and were disappointed. 3 course dinners with a 40 euro bottle of rose cost $250 - $300 euro with tip. Eden Rock was very hit or miss from course to course and was not on bar with other dining experiences at highly recommended restaurants in the Caribbean (not even close to Blue at the Ritz Grand Cayman). La Plage at Tom Tom has a great scene and the food was fresh and simple and somewhat reasonable (for St. Barths). Kiki and Mo (across the street from Eden Rock\Nikki Beach) is a great option for take away or a quick bite at one of their many tables. Think Panini’s, salads, tartars, pastries and other provisions. I have also heard good things about Le Caesar in St. Jean Village. If you want a no frills, inexpensive place try either The Hideaway in St. Jean Village or Le Select, the influence for Jimmy Buffet's "Cheeseburger in Paradise" in Gustavia. Here you can get a beer or small rum and coke for a few euros and simple burger and fries for less than 10 euros. Enjoy St. Barths, it is truly the most unique and fabulous experience in all of the Carribean.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and its just perfect. rooms are very comfortable, quiet and VERY close to the water.
avoid breakfast there because it will only be a bread basket and they charge 30 Euros per day for it. its a better idea to purchase groceries and cook them in the rooms kitchenette or go out
I reccomend he hotel Highly and the staff is very helpful

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

The Emeraude Plage is a wonderful hotel, right in the middle of St. Jean beach. The room we stayed in (A2) was newly renovated in a white and chocolate modern look. The beds are super comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows. The bathroom is very chic - it even has a full sized hairdryer and L'Occitane products in it. The room also has the coolest private patio with comfy lounge chairs and an outdoor private kitchen complete with fridge, sink, coffee maker, and even dishes. They even thought to have a little sunken tub of water in the deck next to your patio to wash the sand off of your feet before going back into your room. The staff was extraordinarily nice and helpful. But the best part was the amazing beach it is sitting on - you are literally 50 feet from the white powder sand beach and the azure ocean. We will definately be back many many times to the Emeraude Plage!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

I've been to St. Barths before but surprisingly had overlooked this gem of a hotel. It's right on St. Jean beach, near Eden Rock and La Plage, so right in the thick of things, yet it's surprisingly serene. I made my plans for this pre-Thanksgiving quick trip just 2 days before leaving (!) so i had to find rooms fast, yet the Emeraude Plage was a bit out of my price range. So i decided to splurge and spend just 2 nights there and then move to the much-less-expensive and very different Salines Garden Cottages for the rest of my trip (see other review).
Emeraude Plage is just a few minutes from the airport and from the moment you go through the hotel gates off the busy road, the vibe is all hip and cool yet friendly, and the staff is exceptionally helpful. I wish i had taken a picture of the little reception area: it's funky and hip with all-white decor, but it's somehow cozy as well. You can get wifi reception there (but not in the rooms) and there's also a guest computer there (for a fee, i think).
It was not very busy when i was there so even though i had booked a garden view room, i was upgraded to one right next to the beach, which was so nice (i could hear the waves as i slept). The rooms are all-white with minimalist decor but there was no pretension ... just simple, well-appointed and a clean style. You can tell that they've just been renovated, ie. new and unobtrusive light fixtures, flat screen tv's, quiet A/C's, nice and simple bathrooms with a spacious shower, hair dryer, and large cool tiles. Before i left i read some reviews where someone/people complained about the beds and i have no idea what they were talking about .... i had a really comfortable king bed with large feather pillows and a duvet matching in comfort. I mean, come on people ... how do you knit-pick with paradise??!
One of the things i liked most about my room was the outdoor (and fully equipped) kitchenette, which other people also rave about. Since St. Barths is so expensive now for Americans (more then ever) because of the dollar vs. euro, my friends and i went shopping at the local grocery store and made dinner in my kitchen on the terrace (one or two less expensive dinners out!). One of us would cook while the others had cocktails and cheese and bread on the terrace, and then eat at the glass table -- all in the lovely evening breeze next to the ocean. Ok, the mosquitos kept us company too, but they provide bug spray and you should bring extra for yourself.
They have a beach bar there with unbelievably beautiful views ... it's open for breakfast and cocktail hour (around 4-6 pm). My continental breakfast was perfect (look at the picture!) but i wish it was included in the room price, and i also wish that the bar was open during the day. (maybe it is in high season?) But i guess that's why it's so great to have your kitchenettes nearby.
Last but not least of course -- the beach. As i stated above, the location is ideal and the views are stunning. The lounge chairs were, fittingly, all white, minimalist rattan, with plenty of umbrellas and little tables, and you walk down a rock staircase and your feet are instantly in the soft sand. The chairs were not, however, ON or IN the sand, as a recent storm had taken away a good deal of their beach. But they were working to fix that (in a quiet and unobtrusive way) and i really appreciated the fact that hotel management informed me of this before making my reservation. It really was no big deal for me, but it was good to be told and spoke volumes of their integrity. It was also lovely to sit at the beach chairs at night, where the tables are lit, facing the ocean and totally decompressing ... (until the mosquitos get to be too much!)
Overall, it's obvious that i loved this hotel and would definitely return. If i came back with someone, i'd probably splurge on one of the ocean view villas -- i peeked inside (!) and they seem to have the same kind of decor, but they're bigger and more separate. A few of them were absolutely stunning -- one perched right over the sea and another spread out like a "mod" James Bond-style villa. But very $$$.
There didn't seem to be a lot of people there when i was there, and that was fine by me! Or perhaps the couples in the villas kept to themselves tucked away in the gardens and their private patios. But i would definitely recommend the Emeraude Plage over the nearby Eden Rock (glitzy and crowded) or Tom Beach (no privacy, family-oriented) ... you can walk to La Plage for lunch, drive just minutes to Nikki Beach for dinner and shop at the nearby St. Jean village stores. This is one fantastic hotel, not to be overlooked again.

  • Liked — Perfect location and setting, outdoor kitchenettes, comfortable and cool decor, friendly staff
  • Disliked — (nothing!)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights here in November 2007 and enjoyed the hotel and all that St Jean beach offers. We were upgraded to an Ocean view bungalow which appeared to be recently renovated. The entire bungalow and outdoor kitchen were done in a minimalistic white decor. Very Chic. From the hotel you can walk to the Supermarket at the airport or in the other direction to the Creole Shopping Center. From watching planes land to having lunch at La Plage, St Jean beach is an unique place.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

I was at Emeraude Plage 4 days in Dec, 2007. Located at the centre of one of the island's nicest beaches, this is a place for those who love elegance, design, silence and peace. My studio room was comfortable and fully equipped (a fully furnished kitchenette is included), and regularly cleaned.
Good supermarket at 10 minutes' walk distance should you want to cook your food.
Staff was friendly, discreet and helpful. Great freshly cooked breakfasts and snacks at the beach bar.
One of the best experiences I have ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location, style
  • Disliked — Minor details in the room layout
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed at Emeraude Plage in late June. It was our first trip to St. Barts and we will return to the island. Check in was great and the staff could not have been more helpful. We were in a garden bungalow which had a nice sized room with a king sized bed. The a/c services the bedroom only. The bathroom is a standard size. The cool part about the area was our outdoor full kitchen. We went to the local markets and stocked up on wine, cheese, tomatoes, bread and fruit and prepared our own lunch feast.
The property is well taken care of and very clean.

This hotel is a great value, since accommodations on the island can be quite pricey. There is no pool, but the hotel is beachfront and the ocean is accessed by steps that go from the beach area and down.

The restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch, only until 1:30 each day. Being low season, dinner was not served.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient
  • Disliked — very quiet area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Toiny
Hotel Le Toiny
#1 of 1 in Toiny
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#1 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emeraude Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emeraude Plage

Address: Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Emeraude Plage Hotel
Emeraude Plage St Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emeraude Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Emeraude Plage to your Saves list