We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emeraude Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Emeraude Plage
Save
You added Hotel Emeraude Plage to your Saves list
Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My son and daughter in law were guests at this beautiful place, prior to their wedding. The hotel proprietors could not have been more accomodating, and welcomed the rest of the family to the resort to use the sun loungers and towels. They also allowed the use of the covered cabana on the beach for the sunset wedding meal, providing candles along the paths and on the table. Both my son and his wife were overwelmed at the kindness and hospitality offered, and have asked us to write a review although we were not personal guests of this hotel, which we are more than happy to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Fabulous bungalow with nice outdoor kitchen, two burner stove and nice fridge. Very clean, high quality linens, etc. Small covered cabana right on the beach that serves light breakfast and drinks. No pool but of course fabulous ocean and pristine beach. Beware you are very close to the airport so periodically a small plane taking off-mostly interesting, not at all loud. Perfect trip until I returned my rental car to Hertz's Henry's Rental Center and they made up bogus damages and ten days later charged my AMEX $574. The car already had dozens of scratches and I did nothing. At the hotel, 8 min stroll to Eden Rock for drinks and dinner, and Tom's Beach Hotel Restaurant-dine with your feet in the sand- 5 minute stroll the other way.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look at layout of cottages to pick yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights @ Emeraude Plage. Entire staff was very attentive, friendly, and helpful. Great location on St. Jean Beach. Clean rooms, and the grounds are well kept. Very nice relaxed atmosphere. Thanks Genevieve, Nas & Amondine for a truly wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Liked being in Bungalow B - all the rooms are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just stayed 7 days @ the Emeraude Plage. It was well kept clean & cozy. Went to every beach on St Bart's & the Emeraude was the best place to stay. The grounds were beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was great as were the drinks at sundown. Great location. The staff was very nice, attentive & friendly. The owner was on site & very nice as well. Can NOT beat the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We loved this place!! Just returned from 6 nights there for our 30th anniversary. We were given Cottage #24 and it was just perfect. We had a view of the beach but were set back from it aways so the view was through some gorgeous foliage. We had an outdoor kitchen that was fully equipped, you could have made full meals although we did not. The location is ideal and ST Jean is the best beach on the island by far. We drove and looked at the others. We also walked through and had meals at other resorts. We will return to Emeraude next time we are back in St BArts. the location by the airport was fun, too. It was quaint to see the small planes come and go and navigate their landing on the short air strip. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I just read a review that was extremely critical of Emeraude...i don't get it. Everything was in perfect condition and very updated and had a sleek almost hip feel to it. I got new amenities, including hair conditioner, every day. I can't imagine going anywhere else on ST BArt!! An added bonus is you are walking distance to the shops and restaurants of St Jean and a 5 min car ride from Gustavia.

Room Tip: Cottages 1-4 are probably best value. We had #24 and would choose it again as its view was awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I want to start by saying that we had an absolutely lovely and amazing time in Saint Barts and the hotel. It is not fancy, the service is not anything above a 3 star, but it's clean and convenient. For those reviewers that say it is expensive or not worth the money, you have to look at it in terms of Saint Barts. It is not expensive compared to other properties on the island so in that vein, you do in fact get what you pay for. Eden rock is to the right, great place for afternoon food and bar to the left. It is French so everything is chill and hip. If you're looking for hotel amenities and great service, then you need to dish out the extra money and stay at properties on the island that bill themselves that way. The water on this side of the island is better than any other part of the island. If you stay here, your goal should be to hang out at the beach in the day but explore the island in the evenings. Lots a good restaurants, little clubs, lounges. If this is your first time to Saint Barts, this hotel gives you a real deal vibe of the island at a minimal entrance fee and a stay here will give you an idea of why it's the most special place in the Caribbean. If you know what you are getting in terms of the hotel, if you want to stay at the best beach on the island, and partying is a part of your trip, then this is the hotel for you. If you're on a honeymoon, or want a really nice and more formal hotel and service, and plan to spend a lot of time in your room or on the property then this is not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

small,very nice and intimate all white hotel de charme in st.jean beach. There's is not a real restaurant, but a beach bar serving breakfast, light lunch and drinks. Rooms (all bungalows) are few steps from the beach and the beach cottages are really fantastic (even if they don't come for a cheap price, but everything in st. barth is not cheap). All rooms have a small but new and perfect kitchenette, nice bathroom and furniture. Eden rock is 100mt away and you can have lunch or dinner there. If you're not looking for "glamour" but for a real nice and charming place, this shuold be your choice (eden rock is always more crowded with many visitors).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emeraude Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emeraude Plage

Address: Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Emeraude Plage Hotel
Emeraude Plage St Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emeraude Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.