We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Are Going for a Hotel Experience - This is not the Spot for You” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emeraude Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Emeraude Plage
Save
You added Hotel Emeraude Plage to your Saves list
Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If You Are Going for a Hotel Experience - This is not the Spot for You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I want to start by saying that we had an absolutely lovely and amazing time in Saint Barts and the hotel. It is not fancy, the service is not anything above a 3 star, but it's clean and convenient. For those reviewers that say it is expensive or not worth the money, you have to look at it in terms of Saint Barts. It is not expensive compared to other properties on the island so in that vein, you do in fact get what you pay for. Eden rock is to the right, great place for afternoon food and bar to the left. It is French so everything is chill and hip. If you're looking for hotel amenities and great service, then you need to dish out the extra money and stay at properties on the island that bill themselves that way. The water on this side of the island is better than any other part of the island. If you stay here, your goal should be to hang out at the beach in the day but explore the island in the evenings. Lots a good restaurants, little clubs, lounges. If this is your first time to Saint Barts, this hotel gives you a real deal vibe of the island at a minimal entrance fee and a stay here will give you an idea of why it's the most special place in the Caribbean. If you know what you are getting in terms of the hotel, if you want to stay at the best beach on the island, and partying is a part of your trip, then this is the hotel for you. If you're on a honeymoon, or want a really nice and more formal hotel and service, and plan to spend a lot of time in your room or on the property then this is not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

small,very nice and intimate all white hotel de charme in st.jean beach. There's is not a real restaurant, but a beach bar serving breakfast, light lunch and drinks. Rooms (all bungalows) are few steps from the beach and the beach cottages are really fantastic (even if they don't come for a cheap price, but everything in st. barth is not cheap). All rooms have a small but new and perfect kitchenette, nice bathroom and furniture. Eden rock is 100mt away and you can have lunch or dinner there. If you're not looking for "glamour" but for a real nice and charming place, this shuold be your choice (eden rock is always more crowded with many visitors).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel was such a disappointment. For $600 a night it was not worth it at all. I have stayed at most hotels on the island and this was by far the worst in terms of rooms, amenities, and service.
First of all, they did not have HAIR CONDITIONER! I mean a Holiday Inn has hair conditioner!!! The management was lackluster upon arrival and walked us to our room through the back service entrance, which looks like crap, because it was a "short cut". Had they not been lazy and walked us through the front PROPER entrance we would of been able to see the beautiful beach, but instead saw a brick wall and air conditioner units.
The grounds staff is not friendly, and actually SCARY as you leave your room.
There was a group of loud, obnoxious guests which partied next door until 5am and management didn't do a thing!
The front desk closes at 7 and you cannot get anyone to help you with anything after, nor access the computer area. WiFi is extra.
Television (not a huge issue since you're in St B, but nonetheless annoying) did not work. Someone came to the room 5 times to fix it.
Toilet did not flush and room smelled like you know what after a day.
It was the worst hotel on the island I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair conditioner, because obviously $600 doesn't afford you that luxury here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This wasa budget minded option vs eden rock for our stay in st Bart's. After arriving we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. We had a beachfront cottage with our own private chairs and beach. Eden rock next door was crowded with children and families, while we had a private beach to ourselves. Excellent location to allow walks to lunch and st jean beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just spent two weeks of bliss in this tastefully redone group of bungalows on the beach. It's a perfect spot to totally relax. We planned to go here or go there, but found ourselves not venturing far from our room, but instead to the beach right there a few steps away. If you like, you can be part of a community of people staying there, kind of like at a resort, or you can be private. The service is friendly, if not quick. But relaxing is what it's all about, isn't it? My partner and I have been going to St Barth's since 1978 or 79. We've seen a lot of changes in that time. Not all for the best. It's not the quiet island it once was, though with the more upscale tourism, there are more things on offer. Over the last years we'd rented houses on the island, this was a last minute idea, and a hotel was the perfect answer. I would choose only this hotel were I to want to stay again in a hotel on St Barth's.

Room Tip: look at the map on the hotel's web site, it's very clear. Though we wanted to be sure to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

I ended up in Emeraude because I couldn't get a room at Eden Rock for January, having gotten on their waiting list since mid-August. Best thing that ever happened to me! At half the price and a 2 min walk down the beach from Eden Rock, I had my own large room, with a veranda and open-air fully equipped kitchen facing the sea. The beach was literally 30 steps away from my room. It was my first time in St. Barths and all I had heard is the island is rather posh, so I was expecting some rather stiff service. What I found instead was an extremely chilled and low key atmosphere, total privacy and very friendly staff. The owner is around a lot and very nice and helpful. One evening we had our friends who were staying over at Eden Rock for home made dinner - the owner made sure we got all the equipment on the patio - table, chairs, plates, cutlery etc. No issue whatsoever. The morning after it was all cleaned up, as if nothing ever happened.

The only downside - it is expensive, no doubt.

Also - no restaurant, no room service, no minibar. But then again - who cares, Niki beach is 3 mins down the beach, Eden Rock has a good restaurant and tomy's beach has a good resto on the beach (good for lunch).

One peculiarity - the local airport is next door, so you watch the planes come and go all day long. At first I though this will be annoying, I left the island thinking this is special - the St. Barths airport and the tiny planes that land there are a sight in their own right. It is that special, half the local fair of t-shirts, sweatshirts and what-not have the airstrip as their logo. And if you are a light sleeper, no problem - planes stop flying at dusk (too dangerous), so you are assured a good night's sleep (unless you are on a different time zone/schedule, that requires you to sleep until noon or so).

I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Spacious rooms with a modern decor, great bathrooms, a kitchen and a private balcony facing the ocean. Located just 5min away from the airport and in a central position regarding all other beaches. Breakfast by the beach in this hotel's oceanfront bar "eau de mer" is an absolute must do! Friends of ours staying at different hotels all around the island came over every day to hang out at the emeraude because it is the best! Oh and i almost forgot to mention that they have an iPod Dock in each room. How awesome is that?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emeraude Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emeraude Plage

Address: Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Emeraude Plage Hotel
Emeraude Plage St Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emeraude Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.