We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Budget Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Mouettes

Les Mouettes
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Mouettes
Save Saved
You added Les Mouettes to your Saves list
Quartier Lorient, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
success1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Budget Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed here with tons of family and friends. The rooms were great, clean and pretty. Bathrooms were really nice. The maid ( french only) was very sweet and polite. The beach was right out the back door. Our baby slept in a rented crib in the warm summer breeze while we sat with our friends outside listening to the waves and gazing at the stars. The supermarket and bakery are right across the street where you can grab a coffee and any french baked goods and sandwiches. The kitchen is very modest but functional. Great spot for families as the beach has a reef and therefore has very little waves. Most of the beaches on the island have strong waves. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed at Les Mouettes for only one night. Some folks stated in their reviews that it was loud because it was next to the road. This is not the case. We were in #7, the one next to the road, and we slept great. If you want one right at the beach ask for one of the other numbers. #7 is set back a little bit, but is still only 6 or 7 steps to the beach. You just don't have a unobstructed view of the beach from this one. Great place, great people. Highly recommend if you need an inexpensive place to stay. St. Barth's is not cheap, and this will help you enjoy your stay and the ability to spend more on the food, and other items that the island has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

Excellent value and location on Lorient beach...All accomodations are ground floor and include a small bedroom, bathroom and a covered outdoor terrace with a kitchenette...Rooms are steps away from one of the nicest beaches on St. Barths (Lorient)...The rooms are simple and clean with maid service every day except Sundays...a boulangerie and other stores within walking distance...Easy ride to St. Johns, Gustavia and all other points of interest for dining and shopping...This is a pleasant locale to enjoy all that St. Barths has to offer without some of the services and amenities of the resort hotels but you will not be paying their exhorbitant prices either...

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

Finding a room on St Barths that isn't priced for the...well...wealthy can be quite a challenge. The 7 bungalows of Les Mouettes are humble but very clean and right on the beautiful and quiet Lorient Beach with its excellent swimming and snorkeling. A kitchenette and barbeque grill can make your stay even more affordable if you're willing to walk across the street to the mini-mart or drive to either of two nearby grocery stores and prepare your own meals. But save breakfasts for the patisserie just up the street. Maid service is daily and the owner, Claudette, is very friendly and helpful. Les Mouettes is perfect for the selective but non-wealthy visitor to St Barths. And if you must have nightlife and chic restaurants, tony St Jean Beach is just a 3-minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2004

We stayed at Les Mouettes in March 2004 and found it to be a great hotel on Lorient Beach in St-Barths. The rooms, although modest, had everything we needed- a double bed, desk, shower, armoire, air conditioner and outdoor kitchenette with a grill. There is a grocery store across the street as well as a boulangerie/patesserie (bakery) with the best chocolate eclairs ever. The hotel is right on the beach- there are sliding glass doors facing the beach. There are 2 chaise lounges in front of your room. We went as a group of 4 which was perfect as there are 2 units to a building- so we had adjoining decks.
Les Mouettes was great, clean & perfect for those on a budget!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Mouettes

Address: Quartier Lorient, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Les Mouettes Hotel
Les Mouettes St Barthélemy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Mouettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.