We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropical Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 147, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
McLean, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

To be avoided! We were yelled at by the lady at the desk for daring to ask for a second bath towel. Nastiest receptionist ever. No Cleenex. No extra toilet paper. Bathroom flooded. Breakfast bread roll inedible. Cheapest sheets. Other hotels offer so much more for the same or less money. Would not stay there even if they offered their rooms for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

What a pleasure it is to a fine reasonable hotel after the overpriced English speaking Carribean. No fear of crime whatsoever as well. All rooms open onto a interior garden, beautifully maintained with lovely shrubs and trees. The Salon is fantastic for drinks or computer use during the day and evening. Room A/C is fine once the room is closed up. The staff is utterly superb. Up a small hill from the beach, but what a beach, St Jean is. Walking distant to groceries and even airport if you wish. Nearby are also the island athletic facilities, surely the best in the region. Superb.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed a week at this small and very well located hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean and a very affordable price for the island.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Always a smile and a nice word. The garden is beautiful and everything is cosy.
The only minus would be the bread for breakast but not an important detail.
Overall I would not hesitate to return. Or even go to say hello the the great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoan in London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical last year and it was a fantastic find. Excellent location right behind the Eden Rock (you MUST go there for dinner - so good and romantic)! The garden in the middle of the rooms is really beautiful and peaceful - we absolutely loved everything about our room and the lovely people. Breakfast was great as well. Really in the middle of everything, St Jean is the best area to stay in as it's a bit livelier - and of course the whole island is a 10 minute drive. There's a grocery store up the road to get baguettes and cheese for beach picnics.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel we could find when visiting St. Barth's. The staff were amazing to deal with -- rented us a car and got us a drop off service when we leave for no charge.

The hotel is up a steep but short hill, so bring walking shoes if you don't rent a car. It's a fabulous view though. It was a 5-10 min walk to the St. Jean beach, arguably the best on the island (and you get to watch the planes take off which is pretty neat). Also, the hotel is in town, so restaurants and shops are just minutes down the road.

The hotel room itself was very small and "okay" clean. The grounds were amazing and every morning we got to watch little turtles come out and wander around and eat. So watch your step on the way to the continential breakfast -- which is good; simple and delish.

The pool is convenient if you don't want to walk down to the beach, but I would recommend taking the trek.

Overall, a great place to stay for the money. Save it on a hotel, stay here, and go experience the culture instead!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

my stay here was great. the hotel has fantastic location only 2 minutes walk to the beach, right behind Eden Rock hotel and Nikki Beach. The grounds are wonderful and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially the lady at the reception and also the gentleman who also helped him and worked behind the bar as well at nights. The rooms were great, well decorated and lovely terrace area. The price was quite reasonable I would return here and recommend!

Room Tip: My friends paid extra to stay at sea view rooms however there was almost no view..tiny bit of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

After more than 10 years I got the opportunity to return to St Barths. I was truly amazed about the changes in Gustavia and the island in a whole. I traveled with some friends and we booked the Tropical Hotel in St Jean as we got a good price. The hotel is very small but the grounds are beautiful. It's a real charming place. There is no restaurant at the hotel but a continental breakfast is included in the price and you can purchase extra items from the menu. The rooms are on the small side, they are good for a couple on a romantic getaway. There is a small refrigerator in the room and that is very convenient for drinks. The small television only has 9 or 10 channels. As others have mentionned, the hotel is on a steep hill and there is construction going on next door. We were out all day so did not witness the noise level during the day. When we got back around 5 pm it was always quiet. The hotel is located a few steps from a small shopping center with a few restaurants but I would recommend renting a car and exploring the entire island. St Barths is a very expensive island so be prepared to spend a lot of money on food (lunch/dinner). Gustavia is very busy at night and the restaurants are often times full. All in all we had a good time and would certainly return to St Barths and the Tropical Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Address: BP 147, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the relaxed simplicity and natural warmth of the Tropical Hotel that attracts guests year after year. Nestled in a tropical garden, this intimate Saint-Jean hotel is centrally located.1.5 km from the airport2.5 km from the Gustavia Harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel St Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.