We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 147, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed a week at this small and very well located hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean and a very affordable price for the island.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Always a smile and a nice word. The garden is beautiful and everything is cosy.
The only minus would be the bread for breakast but not an important detail.
Overall I would not hesitate to return. Or even go to say hello the the great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheknowstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicagoan in London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical last year and it was a fantastic find. Excellent location right behind the Eden Rock (you MUST go there for dinner - so good and romantic)! The garden in the middle of the rooms is really beautiful and peaceful - we absolutely loved everything about our room and the lovely people. Breakfast was great as well. Really in the middle of everything, St Jean is the best area to stay in as it's a bit livelier - and of course the whole island is a 10 minute drive. There's a grocery store up the road to get baguettes and cheese for beach picnics.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel we could find when visiting St. Barth's. The staff were amazing to deal with -- rented us a car and got us a drop off service when we leave for no charge.

The hotel is up a steep but short hill, so bring walking shoes if you don't rent a car. It's a fabulous view though. It was a 5-10 min walk to the St. Jean beach, arguably the best on the island (and you get to watch the planes take off which is pretty neat). Also, the hotel is in town, so restaurants and shops are just minutes down the road.

The hotel room itself was very small and "okay" clean. The grounds were amazing and every morning we got to watch little turtles come out and wander around and eat. So watch your step on the way to the continential breakfast -- which is good; simple and delish.

The pool is convenient if you don't want to walk down to the beach, but I would recommend taking the trek.

Overall, a great place to stay for the money. Save it on a hotel, stay here, and go experience the culture instead!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

my stay here was great. the hotel has fantastic location only 2 minutes walk to the beach, right behind Eden Rock hotel and Nikki Beach. The grounds are wonderful and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially the lady at the reception and also the gentleman who also helped him and worked behind the bar as well at nights. The rooms were great, well decorated and lovely terrace area. The price was quite reasonable I would return here and recommend!

Room Tip: My friends paid extra to stay at sea view rooms however there was almost no view..tiny bit of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeraTR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

After more than 10 years I got the opportunity to return to St Barths. I was truly amazed about the changes in Gustavia and the island in a whole. I traveled with some friends and we booked the Tropical Hotel in St Jean as we got a good price. The hotel is very small but the grounds are beautiful. It's a real charming place. There is no restaurant at the hotel but a continental breakfast is included in the price and you can purchase extra items from the menu. The rooms are on the small side, they are good for a couple on a romantic getaway. There is a small refrigerator in the room and that is very convenient for drinks. The small television only has 9 or 10 channels. As others have mentionned, the hotel is on a steep hill and there is construction going on next door. We were out all day so did not witness the noise level during the day. When we got back around 5 pm it was always quiet. The hotel is located a few steps from a small shopping center with a few restaurants but I would recommend renting a car and exploring the entire island. St Barths is a very expensive island so be prepared to spend a lot of money on food (lunch/dinner). Gustavia is very busy at night and the restaurants are often times full. All in all we had a good time and would certainly return to St Barths and the Tropical Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy14_149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here one night before staying at Guanahani for 3 nights. After a very rough ferrry ride from St Maarten We slept very well here. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was really good. The room itself was small, quiet, clean and basic. One thing to note is that there is construction going on at 2 neighboring properties which is very loud in the Morning and Afternoon. The view is also now limited due to the Villa being built next door. The hotel was good for an evening but dont expect luxury.

Room Tip: Away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Tropical Hotel in St. Jean, St. Barts. The hotel is located up a fairly steep hill above St. Jean beach with easy access to the beach, shopping and restaurants. Our package included a bay view and a car. While the hotel is nice enough and the location is nice the staff at the hotel is what made our stay so enjoyable. Thanks to Lolita for her help and suggestions!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philliptx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.0 mi away
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
0.0 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#4 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Address: BP 147, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the relaxed simplicity and natural warmth of the Tropical Hotel that attracts guests year after year. Nestled in a tropical garden, this intimate Saint-Jean hotel is centrally located.1.5 km from the airport2.5 km from the Gustavia Harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel St Jean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing