We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but close to the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Hotel
BP 147, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint but close to the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel we could find when visiting St. Barth's. The staff were amazing to deal with -- rented us a car and got us a drop off service when we leave for no charge.

The hotel is up a steep but short hill, so bring walking shoes if you don't rent a car. It's a fabulous view though. It was a 5-10 min walk to the St. Jean beach, arguably the best on the island (and you get to watch the planes take off which is pretty neat). Also, the hotel is in town, so restaurants and shops are just minutes down the road.

The hotel room itself was very small and "okay" clean. The grounds were amazing and every morning we got to watch little turtles come out and wander around and eat. So watch your step on the way to the continential breakfast -- which is good; simple and delish.

The pool is convenient if you don't want to walk down to the beach, but I would recommend taking the trek.

Overall, a great place to stay for the money. Save it on a hotel, stay here, and go experience the culture instead!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

my stay here was great. the hotel has fantastic location only 2 minutes walk to the beach, right behind Eden Rock hotel and Nikki Beach. The grounds are wonderful and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially the lady at the reception and also the gentleman who also helped him and worked behind the bar as well at nights. The rooms were great, well decorated and lovely terrace area. The price was quite reasonable I would return here and recommend!

Room Tip: My friends paid extra to stay at sea view rooms however there was almost no view..tiny bit of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

After more than 10 years I got the opportunity to return to St Barths. I was truly amazed about the changes in Gustavia and the island in a whole. I traveled with some friends and we booked the Tropical Hotel in St Jean as we got a good price. The hotel is very small but the grounds are beautiful. It's a real charming place. There is no restaurant at the hotel but a continental breakfast is included in the price and you can purchase extra items from the menu. The rooms are on the small side, they are good for a couple on a romantic getaway. There is a small refrigerator in the room and that is very convenient for drinks. The small television only has 9 or 10 channels. As others have mentionned, the hotel is on a steep hill and there is construction going on next door. We were out all day so did not witness the noise level during the day. When we got back around 5 pm it was always quiet. The hotel is located a few steps from a small shopping center with a few restaurants but I would recommend renting a car and exploring the entire island. St Barths is a very expensive island so be prepared to spend a lot of money on food (lunch/dinner). Gustavia is very busy at night and the restaurants are often times full. All in all we had a good time and would certainly return to St Barths and the Tropical Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here one night before staying at Guanahani for 3 nights. After a very rough ferrry ride from St Maarten We slept very well here. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was really good. The room itself was small, quiet, clean and basic. One thing to note is that there is construction going on at 2 neighboring properties which is very loud in the Morning and Afternoon. The view is also now limited due to the Villa being built next door. The hotel was good for an evening but dont expect luxury.

Room Tip: Away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Tropical Hotel in St. Jean, St. Barts. The hotel is located up a fairly steep hill above St. Jean beach with easy access to the beach, shopping and restaurants. Our package included a bay view and a car. While the hotel is nice enough and the location is nice the staff at the hotel is what made our stay so enjoyable. Thanks to Lolita for her help and suggestions!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

While on a recent sailing trip, the 3 women look a break for a 2 day stay at the Tropical. The road directly up to the hotel was under major repair so taxis did not want to take us there. No problem , the staff picked us up at the dock and continued to provide us with rides to Gustavia (the hotel is in St Jean). The rooms are tidy and attractive with a nice pool. Breakfast is included (bread, coffee, juice) and served on the porch. A lovely break, a great location with the shopping area much less expensive and a nice variety of stores.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010 via mobile

Very good location, not to large but clean room and a wonderful bed. Prices on St. Barts are high, this hotel is more affordable but still expensive for budget travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Address: BP 147, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the relaxed simplicity and natural warmth of the Tropical Hotel that attracts guests year after year. Nestled in a tropical garden, this intimate Saint-Jean hotel is centrally located.1.5 km from the airport2.5 km from the Gustavia Harbour ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel St Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropical Hotel to your Saves list