We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL - MY 6TH VISIT TO THIS WONDERFUL SMALL HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel LeVillage St Barth to your Saves list
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL - MY 6TH VISIT TO THIS WONDERFUL SMALL HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I just returned from my 6th stay at this wonderful hotel. Everything about it is as close to perfect as possible. The family that runs it is very responsive and personally take care of every detail. Great views. Free breakfast. Spacious suites. I would suggest anyone stay here for a terrific experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    40
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
103
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Hated to return from our 11 blissful days at Le Village St-Jean. After an exhaustive search for a private villa with a pool, we booked the Villa Iguana directly through this hotel. We had read a great review from a previous guest on tripadvisor which lead to our inquiry.
Location and privacy were of upmost importance to us. The view, well stocked kitchen(every appliance/utensil you could wish for), and helpful staff (Natalie and Jean-Phillipe) were icing on the cake. The hotel also supplied us with beach chairs, cooler and an umbrella. We rented snorkeling gear (wish we had brought ours) for Grand Saline...great snorkeling!
Excellent take out restaurants Kiki e Mo (never had better chicken parm) and Maya's are within walking distance as is famous Nikki Beach bar and restaurant, Eden Rock and beautiful St-Jean beach.
We usually summer in Spain but with the Euro, it is getting out of control. Even though St Barth is on the Euro, there are many affordable meal plans in the off season. Check into the massage deals through La Lingne if you are there in the slow season. We spent a relaxing day at Le Toiny including 90 minute massage/spa treatment of choice, 3 course lunch with a cocktail, wine and water, use of the pool etc for 110E!! After visiting Le Toiny, we learned that they had Lobster Fridays for 58E. We would have booked if we had known....such a great hotel and restaurant...very relaxing.
If you go off season, take a lot of US cash. Many stores/restaurants offer very favorable exchange rates sometimes up to 30% better!
Favorite beaches were Grand Saline, Gouverneurs and St. Jean
Obviously we'd recommend this to our friends and hope to return next year....although we almost want to keep it a secret!

  • Liked — privacy, location, open concept of villa, private pool, view, benefit of association with hotel
  • Disliked — mosquitos, bring lots of repellent!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We booked one of the one-bedroom cottages that overlooked the bluff for a seven night honeymoon. Very nice view of the water and St. Jean beach (about a five minute walk below). The view was excellent and the room was clean for the most part. There was an outdoor kitchen area that included a stove and refrigerator.

On the second day while taking a nap, I was bit several times by tiny little ants. There were several (5-10) ants all over the pillow-part of the bed. I went to the front reception area where several of Ms. Charneau and staff were busy with various things. I explained to all that we had ants in the bed. Ms. Charneau gave a quick smile/half laugh and simply said: “ants”. I then did my best to inform them that there were ants in our bed, and could they please do something about it. No affirmative ‘yes’ from anyone; just disregarded with a laugh and “ants”. Returned to the room wondering if I had done something wrong. About 2 hours later my wife went to the reception to inquire about something else and asked if anyone was going to come take care of the ants. The C family responded by saying, “well did anyone come by and tell us you had ants?” Yes, very clearly we told you we had ants in the bed. 3 hours later, at about 10:00PM, a man came by with a can of Raid while we were sitting outside on the patio. By this time there were also ants in the kitchen. In order to give an example of the type of bugs crawling in our bed, I took him over to the ants and said “these are also in our bed”. He laughed! I repeatedly told him that I didn’t care about the ants in the kitchen, but that there were ants like the ones in the kitchen in our bed and they were biting us. Given the option of sleeping with ants or sleeping with Raid chemicals, I sent him off. The next day, they changed our sheets, but that was the extent of their pest control.

It gets worse. Next four nights, in addition to the ants, I had to kill 7 roaches that were IN the room. Not outside in the kitchen, or in the bathroom, but underneath our bed and crawling up our dresser. Every time you flipped the light switch, one or two roaches would scurry across the floor. How much were we paying per night? $500. For $500 you get the added honeymoon experience of killing roaches every day. What did family C do about it? Absolutely nothing. After explaining to them each morning that we found it unacceptable to sleep with ants and to kill roaches, they did nothing. They rudely shrugged us off. Not once in our entire stay did Ms. C say “sorry”. That is what prompted this review. No acknowledgement that we even had an issue; complete disregard of what we had to say, and never an apology! Instead they gave us the argument that “it’s part of the tropical experience”. To sleep with ants in your bed and kill roaches that are clinging to your clothes hanging in the closet is ridiculous and shouldn’t be part of a $500/night hotel experience. This wasn’t the Motel 6 of the Caribbean. Finally on the 6th night we were moved to another villa that had become available. This only happened because the younger man of the staff understood that we were upset at having to solve the problem ourselves (lack of sleep and Raid chemicals; we decided we’d rather sleep with Raid than with roaches) and that another room had become available.

The island is unbelievably gorgeous, so visit. I wouldn’t recommend VSJ, though. We purposely waited a month to post this review so that it wouldn’t be guided by emotion, yet thinking about how much money was spent and how rude and unaccommodating the C family was really gets us going. We are happy to discuss this with anyone interested. We are not high maintenance Americans who demand everything in sight. We specifically picked this place because it was significantly cheaper than others on the island and looked peaceful and laid-back. We weren’t expecting Four Seasons, but we were expecting a relatively bug free environment and a host who showed even a slight hint of care. Even when we checked out Ms. C was upset that she had to call long distance to my credit card company who mistakenly put a hold on my card. I could tell she wanted to add the long distance charge to my bill. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Village St.Jean Hotel for one week at the beginning of May. Since the hotel was quite busy due to the Transat AG2r boat race, Catherine Charneau, the Hotel Manager offered us the first 2 nights at a beautiful luxury 2 bedroom villa, called Villa Iguana, which is located just off the Hotel property with beautiful views of St. Jean bay and it's own pool. The remaining 5 nights we spent at Villa Number 8 overlooking the beautiful hotel pool and the bay of St.Jean. It was great having our own kitchen, which I believe most rooms have, where we were able to enjoy dinners and lunches without having to go to restaurants every day. The room was very clean and all staff very professional and friendly. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel also features a small gym and massage room which was in excellent condition. I highly recommend this hotel. We will return next year.

  • Liked — Having a kitchen, the views of the bay
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

This is the second time we spend a week in this hotel.
It is very close to the quiet and marvellous St jean Beach.(which is a must because the hotel swimming pool is too small!)
The breakfast is very good and served by very nice ladies.
The rooms are clean, but the view on the ocean is a little disappointing.

  • Liked — Close from the village and the beach
  • Disliked — Swimming-pool's size
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We just got back from this lovely place, and it was delightful. Our cottage was quiet and spacious with a spectacular view of the bay. We enjoyed fresh coffee and croissant every morning on our secluded terrace. In the evening, we would sip some wine and listen to the night music of the singing frogs.

We would highly recommend this lovely gem and plan to return soon! The only down side was having to return home too soon; we could have stayed for weeks and weeks.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

My husband and I have traveled to St Barts 3 times now, and will be arriving there again in March 07 for our 4th visit. We survive our New England winters dreaming of our welcome at Village St. Jean......the family Charneau, the fragrance of fresh flowers that adorn every room, the aroma from their dining room as the day comes to an end and you look forward to a glass of Pinot Grigio, the colorful and spotless rooms, the croissants, the view of St. Jean Beach while EATING a croissant on their veranda. We still believe in gracious vacationing, and this lovely spot fits every spoiled bone in our body for 10 days each year.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel LeVillage St Barth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LeVillage St Barth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.