We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village St. Jean....our 29th visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel LeVillage St Barth to your Saves list
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Village St. Jean....our 29th visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Charneau family and staff of VSJ continue to make us feel as if Village St. Jean is our own special home on St. Bart's. The place is always welcoming, completely up-to-date and a great value. We happen to think that the location on the hills of St. Jean is the most desirable on the island...lots to see and many beautiful vistas. The staff go out of their way to make everything about our stay easy and even stocked our refrigerator alllowing us to focus on slipping in to island mode sooner.

Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want and they will make it so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
96
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel le Village St. Jean on the hill overlooking Saint Jean beach-having just escaped NYC and Hurricane Sandy!. The gardens were magnificent and the views of the bay, distant Saint Martin, and clouds were spectacular! Each night we looked up to a star-filled sky as we sat on our terrace. The terrace cottage Superior was like a small open air apartment. The large bed had plenty of room for us and the bath was enormous and light-filled. Our living area was partially covered to protect from the sun, and then extended out to an open sun-bathing area. We loved the kitchen as we like making our own breakfast and lunches, saving up the calories for the great food found in many of the nearby restaurants. It's a family owned place that we have returned to annually for the past 15 years: the pride of ownership and attention to guest needs and to the general Saint Barth experience is wonderful. They have a fitness center with a separate serene massage room where the local French experts provide world class massages-afterwards, you walk out into the flower-scented air and wonder why you live anywhere else than Saint Barth! We highly recommend this place and want others to note that it represents the best of Saint Barth: French, family-owned, and comfortable for those who want a relaxing visit. It's a 4 minute walk to the beach at Saint Jean-what could be easier! Shoulder season is a great time to go: the beaches were magnificent, uncrowded, and the water was in the low 80s', perfect for those who like to swim as an exercise. The hotel also booked us a small SUV at Hertz and got us a better rate than going direct. Lastly, down the hill is the family owned Kiki and Mo, a great place to eat a casual lunch or dinner, or take out beautifully prepared foods. Of course, they will make all reservations for massages, manicures (on site!), dinners, sailing etc. We will return there sometime next year and know exactly what to expect: a great experience that causes us to forget our all our worries and relax!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah I, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
What a great declaration of love to St Barths and to our hotel!

Being able to read a review like this does make us all very proud.
You have mentioned everything that is important to us and to our guests, the service, location and the room features.
But the most heart warming is your loyalty to LeVillage and that you have been coming back to our hotel for such a long time already.
Thank you so much for the comment; we have all enjoyed reading it!

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back next year, as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came on our Honeymoon 30 years ago and returned last year. It was was fabulous, same famill managing and they were very nice and helpfull, exactly as we remembered it 30 years ago. They serve a very nice breakfast, have a pristine health club room and made all our dinner reservation. We are going back this year!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior suite with Jaccuzzi- Highly recomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah I, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
How nice to hear that after so many years you are coming back to our hotel and most importantly that you were still welcomed in the same manner.

It is important to us that our guests feel that we care about them and it does help so much to hear when it is appreciated.

Thank you!

Looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Perched on a hilltop overlooking St. Jean Beach it has an outstanding view of the turquoise water and red tile roofs of the villas on the coastline. You are within walking distance of the Eden Rock but away from the noise of the main street unless you choose the least expensive rooms and they do sit on a narrow hillside road. The room we stayed in was spectacular! Room 12..........absolutely amazing. The room had a spectacular view from the terrace. The staff was very friendly. Ask for a room with a view. Their pool is also spectacular. The exercise room has good equipment but needs to be air conditioned or at least to have a fan .You cannot go wrong with choosing this hotel...but be aware it is NOT on the beach.....

Room Tip: Room 12 is great!! You do need to be mobile because there is a cobblestone walkway to breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah I, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Robin,

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a great review.
We are happy that you and Sarah enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked your superior suite which indeed has a very special view on St Jean Bay. As you have mentioned, the classic rooms are not as ideally placed as the superior ones, but still offer a comfortable alternative for those on a budget.
Concerning the fitness room, it's a good remark! There actually is an air conditioning, which is ‘hidden’ in an artwork frame, so definitely not visible enough. Guests usually enjoy the fresh breeze and the view when opening the windows.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Maartensdijk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

After reading the fabulous reviews about this establishment, I decided to book a two-night stay here to celebrate the occasion of my sister's and mother's birthdays. As it was my first time in St. Barth's, the positive reviews helped in choosing this place. Where do I begin? First off, we flew from Sint Maarten where I am currently in medical school. The flight was a quick ten minute hop, skip, and a jump away. After renting a beautiful convertible, we drove to Hotel le Village and were just in awe with the surroundings. The complex is perched on a hillside overlooking St. Jean and the surrounding area. Beautiful! We were greeted by Catherine, one of the owners, who was so incredibly genuine and helpful in respect to giving us a brief tour of the island. I had reserved one of the superior cottages and was upgraded to one with a jacuzzi! It was MAGNIFICENT! Beyond my expectations! We even had our own personal driveway for the car. The cottage itself was immaculate...the rain shower was awesome...and the view was WOW! The continental breakfast in the morning was a great way to start off the day on this serene island. The owners helped form our daily itinerary to guide us in the right direction. I will definitely return to this place in the near future...St Barth's is literally a tropical playground in paradise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend getaway to St Barthelemy. It was our first time on the island and we chose Hotel le Village St Jean based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor as well as the very reasonable summer rates. We are happy with our choice!

The hotel is not located right on the main road but it wasn't hard to find. The check-in process was easy and the staff were always very helpful and nice.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The bed was large and had a comfortable mattress. There were a few ants in the bathroom but they didn't bother us (and having lived in the tropics for a year, we understand how impossible it can be to keep bugs outside). We especially loved the outdoor sitting area with a nice view of the airport. The room also contained a little bookshelf stocked with (mostly science fiction) novels, a nice touch.

The continental breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day in the semi-outdoor sitting area. The swimming pool is pretty and has a nice view. There is also a workout area that looked nice but we didn't use it.

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Returned to Le Village St. Jean because of the location, price and positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We upgraded to a superior cottage (#12) and had a magnificent view of St. Jean bay and surrounding area. Comfortable king bed, rain shower with a view, outdoor kitchen, good sound system, and beautiful terrace. Nice breeze is a bonus! The staff is warm and friendly and unobtrusive. We didn't use the exercise room but enjoyed the infinity pool. St. Barths never disappoints!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel LeVillage St Barth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LeVillage St Barth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.