We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect two days in December 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Save Saved
You added Hotel LeVillage St Barth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in St. Jean
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect two days in December 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two days at the start of our honeymoon in December. When we arrived, the lovely hotel gave us an upgrade to the junior terrace suite - it was amazing! My husband couldn't believe it was OUR room! It was absolutely gorgeous with a comfortable king-sized bed, air conditioning, fans and sliding screen and glass doors. There was also a beautiful outdoor shower surrounded by plants and shaded for privacy, two bathrooms and a huge patio with lounge chairs and a dining table. We had no problems with mosquitoes or with the water. Our room was cleaned each day with fresh flowers and bottled water placed around the suite. The grounds of the hotel were beautifully maintained with flowers/plants blooming all around, and the pool with the infinity edge overlooking the water was stunning. The hotel's breakfast (included) featured fluffy croissants, yogurts, cereals, etc. with fresh juices and coffee. They also were more than happy to cook up some eggs and bacon for us :)

The hotel was just a short (lovely) walk down the hill to St. Jean village and beach, Eden Rock Hotel and Nikki Beach restaurant. We visited them all in our 2 days and only wish we could have stayed longer. It was an absolute dream and the weather (December 11-13) was perfection - sunny and warm. I highly recommend this hotel - I selected it based on the very competitive rates and was blown away when we arrived!! We had nothing negative to say and loved our stay there!!

Room Tip: The junior suite was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
82
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Chose this hotel based on location, tripadvisor reviews, and price for our 1st trip to St Barts just after Thanksgiving 2011. Could not have chosen a better place. We stayed in a standard cottage that was perfect for our needs - not luxury by any stretch but clean, comfortable, fairly private, and in a great location. Light breakfast (croissants, juice, coffee, cereal etc.) was included. Caroline and Pascal were happy to help us with dinner reservations. We spent our days at the beaches (Saline, Gouverneur, and Colombier) and ate out every evening (Hideaway, Jojo Burger, B4, and Wall House) so didn't spend a whole lot of time on the property, but given a longer stay we would have been happy lounging in the garden of the cottage or poolside. Normal size fridge for our beer, wine, rum, cheese, crackers, and lunchmeats picked up at the Marche that we packed in a soft-sided cooler for lunch at the beach. St Barts is expensive - no doubt - but since we only dined out in the evening and purchased our beer, wine, and spirits at the Marche (to be enjoyed on the beach or privately on the patio) we were able to come back and still have a chance at sending our kids to college. St Barts is not a large island so while location is not critical, I took the advice of many and stayed in St Jean and would recommend that other first timers do the same. Its a wonderful place and we will definitely be back.

Couple other odds and ends: 1) there was one "3 prong US to 2 prong Euro converter thingy" in the room 2) wifi did not work in the room but did in the breakfast area and lobby

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Selected this hotel based off of their website and Trip Advisor reviews for our first stay in St Barths. It did not disappoint. The grounds & buildings are beautiful and reflect an attention to detail as well as a distinct island-influenced, modern/contemporary aesthetic. While we, also, encountered a lack of hot water, the fitness building's shower was an easy solution and only minor inconvenience. (After a few days of 80-degree weather, the hot water was again available) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the entire property exuded a sense of peacefulness and picture perfect-ness. The rooms themselves are comfortable but not luxurious. (If luxury is in your budget, then Eden Rock down the road is for you!) but even with that in mind, the price (off-season in december) felt like an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at VSJ for 3 weeks in November. My room was a superior, #9. I did not encounter any problems, as the last reviewer had.
My room over-looked the baie of St. Jean, and the runway to the airport. The deck was hugh, with an outdoor kitchen, complete with full sized refrigerator, and stove/oven. It had a hammock, chairs, and picnic- type table.
The room itself was large, king-sized bed (2 twins together), and a large bathroom, and another sitting room, with fold-out couch, and pocket doors to separate rooms if desired.
I stayed alone 1 week, my son was there, for 1 week, and said the fold-out bed was comfortable. And my husband was there for the last week.
I have been to St Barths for 11 years, and this was my first stay at VSJ. The convenience of the location, as well as accomodation, and car included, was a very good deal for the off-season.
I found it to be very comfortable, quiet, and the people working there were extremely friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three days in one of their standard rooms.

The hotel's conveniently located, as it's about a five minute walk from the beach and several restaurants (e.g. The Hideaway) and shopping. The off-peak rate was very competitive when compared to other hotels.

It rained fairly hard during our stay at this hotel. The hotel reportedly uses solar panels to heat its water, and we had no hot water for two days, maybe because there wasn't much sun. We spoke with two other guests who were staying in a basic room, and they told us that when they mentioned the hot water problem to the front desk, they were told to shower in the small fitness/spa building across the parking lot from the front desk.

We also noticed a sewer smell in our room. We attempted to reduce the smell by placing a damp towel over the shower drain and by keeping the bathroom door shut. Our room had ants, and our towels had a musty/mildewy odor. The hotel is located on a frequently used street and near the flight path of the airport. It's noisy in the standard rooms as they're adjacent to the street.

On the plus side, the air conditioning worked very well, and our room balcony had a partial view of the water. The pool area is very nice with a nice view (though we couldn't get the jacuzzi to heat up), and the hotel serves an included continental breakfast (coffee, tea, bread, pastries, juice, milk, etc.) in the morning. There is also a large lending library and ample parking available on-site or on the street.

The standard rooms are a good deal, but the cottages probably offer a better experience, as other reviews have indicated. I would not stay in a standard room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at le village during the second week of our honeymoon. I'm not much for writing long, detailed reviews, but I do want to point out a few things that made this place stand out in our minds.

The grounds are an oasis in the middle of a beautiful island. No details are spared, and the place is enchanting, especially at night. And the view from the thumbnail pics is really the view from some of the cabins.

Breakfast served on the veranda is a perfect way to start the day.

They also have a wonderful book collection. Basically they get not just the big things right, but the little things as well. Don't know about the prices during high season, but this place felt like a bargain in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

Just spent the first two weeks of June at VSJ, which combined with our 10 weeks this past winter,makes 12 weeks ,so far this year. Some years we stay longer; this was our 31st stay at this wonderful hotel,over many ,many years.
I write this second review, because, having read the "Village le Terrible" review posted above, I am shaking my head and asking myself- what island,and what hotel did the reviewer visit? It can't have been the same Village St Jean where we spend up to 100 days a year!
And, just for argument's sake,assume it is the same hotel...
In the 85-100 days we spend at VSJ ( as opposed to the writers "3"), we have NEVER EVER encountered any of the issues mentioned ,nor have any of our many friends who have been spending long winter stays at this hotel for up to 30 years
This report should be totally discounted (" Le Village terrible")

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel LeVillage St Barth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LeVillage St Barth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.