We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a 1st Stay to St Barts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Save Saved
You added Hotel LeVillage St Barth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Perfect for a 1st Stay to St Barts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Chose this hotel based on location, tripadvisor reviews, and price for our 1st trip to St Barts just after Thanksgiving 2011. Could not have chosen a better place. We stayed in a standard cottage that was perfect for our needs - not luxury by any stretch but clean, comfortable, fairly private, and in a great location. Light breakfast (croissants, juice, coffee, cereal etc.) was included. Caroline and Pascal were happy to help us with dinner reservations. We spent our days at the beaches (Saline, Gouverneur, and Colombier) and ate out every evening (Hideaway, Jojo Burger, B4, and Wall House) so didn't spend a whole lot of time on the property, but given a longer stay we would have been happy lounging in the garden of the cottage or poolside. Normal size fridge for our beer, wine, rum, cheese, crackers, and lunchmeats picked up at the Marche that we packed in a soft-sided cooler for lunch at the beach. St Barts is expensive - no doubt - but since we only dined out in the evening and purchased our beer, wine, and spirits at the Marche (to be enjoyed on the beach or privately on the patio) we were able to come back and still have a chance at sending our kids to college. St Barts is not a large island so while location is not critical, I took the advice of many and stayed in St Jean and would recommend that other first timers do the same. Its a wonderful place and we will definitely be back.

Couple other odds and ends: 1) there was one "3 prong US to 2 prong Euro converter thingy" in the room 2) wifi did not work in the room but did in the breakfast area and lobby

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
91
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Selected this hotel based off of their website and Trip Advisor reviews for our first stay in St Barths. It did not disappoint. The grounds & buildings are beautiful and reflect an attention to detail as well as a distinct island-influenced, modern/contemporary aesthetic. While we, also, encountered a lack of hot water, the fitness building's shower was an easy solution and only minor inconvenience. (After a few days of 80-degree weather, the hot water was again available) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the entire property exuded a sense of peacefulness and picture perfect-ness. The rooms themselves are comfortable but not luxurious. (If luxury is in your budget, then Eden Rock down the road is for you!) but even with that in mind, the price (off-season in december) felt like an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at VSJ for 3 weeks in November. My room was a superior, #9. I did not encounter any problems, as the last reviewer had.
My room over-looked the baie of St. Jean, and the runway to the airport. The deck was hugh, with an outdoor kitchen, complete with full sized refrigerator, and stove/oven. It had a hammock, chairs, and picnic- type table.
The room itself was large, king-sized bed (2 twins together), and a large bathroom, and another sitting room, with fold-out couch, and pocket doors to separate rooms if desired.
I stayed alone 1 week, my son was there, for 1 week, and said the fold-out bed was comfortable. And my husband was there for the last week.
I have been to St Barths for 11 years, and this was my first stay at VSJ. The convenience of the location, as well as accomodation, and car included, was a very good deal for the off-season.
I found it to be very comfortable, quiet, and the people working there were extremely friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three days in one of their standard rooms.

The hotel's conveniently located, as it's about a five minute walk from the beach and several restaurants (e.g. The Hideaway) and shopping. The off-peak rate was very competitive when compared to other hotels.

It rained fairly hard during our stay at this hotel. The hotel reportedly uses solar panels to heat its water, and we had no hot water for two days, maybe because there wasn't much sun. We spoke with two other guests who were staying in a basic room, and they told us that when they mentioned the hot water problem to the front desk, they were told to shower in the small fitness/spa building across the parking lot from the front desk.

We also noticed a sewer smell in our room. We attempted to reduce the smell by placing a damp towel over the shower drain and by keeping the bathroom door shut. Our room had ants, and our towels had a musty/mildewy odor. The hotel is located on a frequently used street and near the flight path of the airport. It's noisy in the standard rooms as they're adjacent to the street.

On the plus side, the air conditioning worked very well, and our room balcony had a partial view of the water. The pool area is very nice with a nice view (though we couldn't get the jacuzzi to heat up), and the hotel serves an included continental breakfast (coffee, tea, bread, pastries, juice, milk, etc.) in the morning. There is also a large lending library and ample parking available on-site or on the street.

The standard rooms are a good deal, but the cottages probably offer a better experience, as other reviews have indicated. I would not stay in a standard room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at le village during the second week of our honeymoon. I'm not much for writing long, detailed reviews, but I do want to point out a few things that made this place stand out in our minds.

The grounds are an oasis in the middle of a beautiful island. No details are spared, and the place is enchanting, especially at night. And the view from the thumbnail pics is really the view from some of the cabins.

Breakfast served on the veranda is a perfect way to start the day.

They also have a wonderful book collection. Basically they get not just the big things right, but the little things as well. Don't know about the prices during high season, but this place felt like a bargain in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

Just spent the first two weeks of June at VSJ, which combined with our 10 weeks this past winter,makes 12 weeks ,so far this year. Some years we stay longer; this was our 31st stay at this wonderful hotel,over many ,many years.
I write this second review, because, having read the "Village le Terrible" review posted above, I am shaking my head and asking myself- what island,and what hotel did the reviewer visit? It can't have been the same Village St Jean where we spend up to 100 days a year!
And, just for argument's sake,assume it is the same hotel...
In the 85-100 days we spend at VSJ ( as opposed to the writers "3"), we have NEVER EVER encountered any of the issues mentioned ,nor have any of our many friends who have been spending long winter stays at this hotel for up to 30 years
This report should be totally discounted (" Le Village terrible")

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Second time here...(5th time in St. Barth's)...only for 4 days this time... we stayed in "Jacuzzi Suite" (a free surprise upgrade!!) when we arrived with college son (3 of us)...beautifully appointed, extremely clean, great view from deck of St. Jean Beach and mountain east of beach with jacuzzi built into deck. All new kitchen appliances, utensils, sound system (included 4 sets of speakers -- main room, bedroom, deck and "shower"!!). Ah, the shower!!! Well, its a separate room with an elevated ceiling, skylight, rain showerhead, etc. WOW!!! Like being in a rain forest!!!

Perfect for couple that likes a suite, but comfortable for 3-4 adults willing to share one bathroom and that rain forest room!

We had stayed in "family cottage" before -- they gave us tour -- all new and upgrades including 2 bathrooms and an outdoor rain shower!!!

We were there during offpeak but had continental breakfast every morning onsite -- great croissants, baguettes with butter, great coffee and cocoa, etc...can get eggs, omelettes, etc, cooked to order....

Love their infinity pool (I am a pool person), peaceful, relaxing and surrounded by great views of St. Jean and FLOWERS everywhere! Since last visit (2006), they transformed the building next to pool into a fitness room upstairs (I used and was nice with a great view!) and downstairs a private massage room (wife and I did onsite -- was really nice!) and a bathroom.

Sorry I am bad with names but owners and 2 desk staff are all super nice, helpful and friendly...they took care of all reservations, beach chairs, cooler, etc. I saw a recent bad review and really surprised that they felt that way as that is NOT typical of our 2 stays here. The morning breakfast gentleman was lots of fun trying to teach us French and every morning he made up a tray to take back to our "still sleeping" college son!

A short walk (but steep!!!) to St. Jean beach, shops, restaurants and bars, including Eden Rock (my favorite!!), Le Plage beach bar and Nikki Beach, etc...

In case not known, renting a car and driving around this beautiful island is a MUST DO!!!

We were there for Marius' birthday (Le Select "Cheeseburger in Paradise" fame), Saline Beach, Shell Beach...I could go on and on but lots to do see and enjoy here....

If you prefer a "hotel"/suite experience vs. villa, this is highly recommended...its not "on the beach" but close enough if important...great value!

Room Tip: Go for Cottages/suites, not hotel rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Jean
#4 Family Hotel in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel LeVillage St Barth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LeVillage St Barth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.