We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Honeymoon, and perfect for everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Save Saved
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Rock - St Barths
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Honeymoon, and perfect for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We absolutely loved this hotel, everything was really perfect and special. The island of St. Barths has a lot to offer in terms of restaurants and great one-day trip options, it really feels like France for those looking for a European experience. The hotel was a perfect complement to the island, continuing the European feel with a unique attention to detail. Highly recommended to all for any occassion. P.S. Stay on the newer part of the hotel (not "the rock") which were recently renovated, and get the "chilled beet soup" at the hotel restaurant, yum!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    22
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
26
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The island of St. Barths is magical, but what really made it perfect was the fantastic experience we had at Eden Rock. The location is the best on the island on a perfect sand beach, protected by the point from wind and surf. Our room, Fregate, was incredible, on the rock with a great deck and a jacuzzi at the waters edge for the end of each day on the beach. The staff could not have been friendlier to us at check in, in the restaurants, and on the beach. We have stayed in many wonderful places over the years but the combination here of location, service, and the wonderful personality of the entire island made it perfect. We also highly recommend La Plage, a short walk down the beach, for great lunches and a fabulous dinner under the stars on the beach. Ask for Amande in the evenings, she makes it all happen. We also love Le Ti for a great night of drinks and dancing on tables. St. Barths is heaven on earth!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I had been wanting to do a pretty extravagant long weekend with a special girl for quite some time. St, Barth was top of the list, and after doing some research and asking around, it became apparent that Eden Rock was the place to be. We went in the off-season, toward the end of April, and it was PERFECT. The weather was fantastic, and it wasn't crowded at all. We were able to enjoy the resort and island without having to fight crowds, and it was the perfect trip.

Upon arrival, we were greeted at the small airport at SBA by a member of the Eden Rock staff, who drove us to the resort, which was literally two minutes away. In fact, you could probably walk there. At the resort, we were greeted by a lovely hostess who offered us drinks and sat down to meet with us regarding our room and resort, and asked us about our preferences for meals and activities. They made recommendations and took care of all of our reservations before introducing us to our room.

We stayed in the Michael suite, which was cozy and spectacular. It was the suite nearest the main entrance, but was secluded enough, as well. The suite had its own private plunge pool with jets, and also had a beautiful deck where you could slide the doors to either let in the fresh air, or just look through the window.

We had a fantastic view of Nikki Beach, but from Nikki Beach our suite was perfectly private--perfect for late-night romance activity and privacy.

Service was impeccable and non-intrusive, and the resort provided a rental car (a nice BMW 120 convertible) as well as a breakfast buffet every morning.

I can't say anything bad about the resort. I didn't have any overcharging issues or anything that appeared on my bill. Everything was seamless and perfect, and everyone was incredibly friendly.

It wasn't cheap or economical by any stretch, but I knew fully that it would be expensive. That said, I'll be back again next year...hopefully in the same suite.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Eden Rock last summer for our honeymoon and were so impressed with everything. The service was second to none, our heavenly beach house amazing, the food fabulous, and the beach magnificent. Our 13 month old daughter just loved the beach and the breakfast buffet each day. The range of complimentary newspapers at breakfast each day was a very nice touch. The level of cleanliness was perfect every day. It was the perfect place for a honeymoon. The provisions in the house were amazing and exceeded our expectations. The management also sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon which was very thoughtful. It was not peak season when we were there and it was really lovely as we hear it is very busy at Christmas/New Year. We would love to return here every year. The only things I can think of that we might possibly change are it would be lovely if there was a swimming pool and one evening we went up to use the computer in reception and I was wearing heels and it had rained and on the way down the stairs were very slippery and not very well lit and I ended up falling down the stairs. This could be improved. Finally, be warned child care was not cheap to arrange but it was a lovely luxury and our daughter was very well cared for. We also purchased a painting in the art gallery as a souvenir to remember our honeymoon and it took quite a long time for them to send it out to us in the UK. Otherwise we felt like we were in paradise for 10 days.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Place is nice and we can even get past the $50 hamburgers; BUT we can’t handle being ripped off by the concierge.

We strongly warn anyone to use extreme caution when booking ancillary events and activities through the concierge as things will appear on your bill that were never agreed to.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Its expensive but for me and my wife it was more than worth it. Eden Rock is a picture perfect hotel on an amazing Island.
We stayed in the Michael Suite which was huge with a veranda over looking the 'rock' and the sea, its own plunge pool and a little outdoor kitchette. We spent most of our time out the back of our room sun bathing on our deck and dipping in the pool (too small to swim but great to plunge into after some serious hours in the sun).
In the room you have a huge bathroom with stand alone bath and a walk in shower room, a dressing area, a lovely bedroom and a study/lounge area.
The only negative for the room was that it was in an open area in the sense that people could look in from most sides, however all we had to do was close the curtains for some privacy.
Of the rest of the hotel we only really saw the beach and the sand bar. Both we're fantastic and we had one of our best ever meals at the sand bar, the surf and turf!
St Barts is great island, but not like any othe Island in the Carribean, we loved it though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed in a Contemporary bedroom. Nice, but not luxurious. VERY EXPENSIVE (almost $600 a night) for the size of the room. It was small, not much room to walk around in. My bedroom at home is larger. The bathroom is spacious though. There's a nice sized patio & I'd recommend you ask for a 2nd floor for more privacy. If you have a 1st floor patio people walk on the paths right by you. Eden Rock is a good location close walking distance to a few restaurants. We had complimentary breakfast at the hotel each morning, and one free lunch. We had a package deal that included a car. Staff was amazing & very accomodating. The beach is wide open & there aren't any private areas, but it's very calm waters & relaxing. Also, no pool. It's a beautiful hotel though with great views. No spa, but we were able to book a couples massage on our patio one morning that was very good. Not much to do at the resort except lay on the beach - no activities. It was our honeymoon so we had a great time, but I was disappointed with the size of the room & lack of things to do at the hotel. I guess I'm used to larger resorts & accomodations. Good location for getting around the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Jean
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Jean
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.