We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel and Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Save Saved
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Rock - St Barths
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel and Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We picked the Eden Rock after a lot of research and we weren't disappointed. Service and atmosphere are top notch. Rooms are clean and relatively spacious. Staff was friendly and breakfast (included in our package) was excellent. Our only concern before going was no pool, which proved to be a non-issue since the ocean was as clear and warm as we've seen. We visited several other hotels (guanahani, toiny) and were very happy with our choice - the central location of Eden Rock is great. No question it's pricey, but excellent stay overall. Favorite dinners included Toiny, K'fe Massai (hands down best value). Also, rent a car - it's a great island to explore. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    22
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
149
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

This place is fantasy land for the discerning traveler. Took the ferry over from St. Martin and the hotel transfer service was there waiting for us once we docked. Outstanding service from the minute you arrive. Check in was on their patio overlooking St. Jean beach...OMG! Room was not ready so they held our bags while we hit the beach and then headed to lunch. Was nervous about staying in the Garden room as the contemporary room we had wanted was not available. No Worries whatsoever. Room though cozy had a contemporary caribbean cottage type of vibe. Room was cleaned and I mean cleaned twice a day. Turn down service was a delight with candles and goodies. Beach service efficient but unintrusive. I think they read minds at this resort. The minute you say "i feel like having a....." someone is there to fullfill your every desire. the staff was warm... had no porblems with any of the french staff being "snooty" as reported in another review. Had one of the best meals on the island at their restaurant for dinner. location is perfect, the beach ideal and the planes were never a bother. EDEN ROCK DELIVERS!

The REASON WHY IT DIDN'T GET 5 STARS:
NOTE: the only drawback you should be aware of is that when we got back home from our vacation we noticed a charge (over $700 ) for a rental car that was part of our package deal . The prepaid package fee includes a car rental from the hotel. Why are we being charged? Eden Rock says they did not charge us for this and that this charge is coming from the car rental agency and pretty much washed their hands of it. Thought that funny as this is not a fee for damages or anything like that. It is just done in error. Still it happened on ER's watch and they should be the ones to resolve that issue. Not us. We have Amex working on this for us. However even this incident won't stop us from returning to their beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband and I chose St. Barths as our annual vacation spot this year. After visiting Italy last year, we chose a more relaxing vacation spot this year. We have been to a few islands in the Caribbean, but we wanted somewhere that didn't feel as touristy and didn't have a cruise ship feel. We chose St. Barths after raving reviews from a few friends. We couldn't decide between Isle De France or Eden Rock. In the end we chose ER and KNOW we made the right decision. We stayed in a Rock Suite which was looked out over the ocean. From our bed, you looked straight out into the ocean. The hotel was clean and had a very hip vibe. The chair service on the beach was great too. They bring you water every morning and fresh towels. The location was great. Very close to the airport (which wasn't an issue at all). I saw some reviews that said the airplanes were loud. They were NOT! It was fun to watch the small planes come in for landing while laying on the beach. There was shopping and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel if you don't want to spend $100 on lunch. The hotel had a very private feel to it. We did visit IDF for dinner one night. It was a beautiful hotel but a drive to get there. While ER had a more hip, young, trendy vide, IDF had a more classic, elegant vibe. I guess it all depends on what you are looking for. I HIGHLY recommend ER. Also, we were a bit skeptical about the small airplane into St. Barths. It really was a breeze. A very short ride. We flew Winair, which was great. WE got to the airport early and had over an 1.5 wait. Winair let us on an earlier flight, no problem.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

First of all, let me start by saying that I have never written a review for anything in my life, but our honeymoon was so out of this world spectacular that I just have to do it. Eden Rock is THE best place to stay on St. Barts. We drove all over the island and saw/ate at many other luxury hotels, but Eden Rock is the most centrally located, with the best beach possible. No shells, soft , clean, sand, amazingly clear water, beach service with luxe chairs and umbrellas, and free water sports-snorkelling, kayaking, etc. The planes are fun to watch and are NOT loud or get in the way of a relaxing and blissful day at the beach. Le Toiny is gorgeous but way up on a hill (eat here but do not stay here), and Le Sereno is also luxurious but the beach in front of it had lots of rocks and was very small. Eden Rock has it all! The restaurant is delish, the rooms are superb with no detail left forgotten, and the beach is perfect. We received chocolates on our pillow every night, ice cold water brought to our chairs on the beach, Bulgari toiletries, and even a small eelctric fan to "zap" the mosquitos in our Garden Cottage (although they were not a problem). Our Garden Cottage, albeit a little cozy, was nicely decorated and had all the essential amenties. We took the ferry to St. Barts because I hate to fly on small planes. However, do not expect a smooth and peaceful sail, as it was an extremely bumpy ride and is known to be a rough ride on the ferry. Definitely hike to Columbier Beach, it is worth the 20 minute walk. Definitely eat lunch at Do Brazil, located on Shell Beach, and defintely stay at Eden Rock!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

this was our choice for 2nd week of honeymoon & we couldn't have chosen any better. From the pick up airport until leaving we were pampered and looked after superbly, nothing was too much trouble. We found ALL of the staff to be very friendly & helpful and nothing was too much trouble. the location is amazing, I was terrified prior to the flight there having read reviews in guide books etc. but it's not as bad as you think & so worth it. Met some wonderful people whilst there & would love to come back soon as poss. Spent first few days in waterlily - amazing, didn't want to leave there, but then onto Jasmine which was almost as breathtaking. Everything is impeccable & we found no fault at all. As for any comments regarding cost, we were surprised by our bill at the end considering the amount of champagne we'd had & many glorious meals. Definitely one for every anniversary! Very amusing for people watching, especially 'guess who's had plastic surgery' on the beach - mostly everyone, refreshing to see a few like us - untoned & natural, having said that st barts is that kind of place but we loved it & will return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Eden Rock is a great resort on a beautiful island. You are literally on (or over) the beach. The food is divine. The wine was perfect. Everything is French and delicious. We can't recommend the resort, or the island, enough. If you're complaining about Eden Rock or St. Barts, something is really wrong with you. It's certainly pricey, but it should be.

St. Barts itself is far and away the best spot in the Caribbean. While a bit tough to get to, it's worth the trip. Gorgeous beaches, good shopping, amazing restaurants, beautiful people, laid back attitude, but with a French twist on everything.

The only negative experience we had at Eden Rock was being moved out of some lounge chairs for a VIP family. There were plenty of other places to sun though so it could be forgiven. I would also suggest renting a car. There aren't many cabs on the island.

>>> Follow @TripAustin on Twitter for the best of resorts and destinations around the globe.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

My first review ever! Seriously, this place is wonderful. I'm lucky enough to have traveled a lot, and found Eden Rock close to perfection.
The service is first rate, the food at the restaurant is great, and the location is ideal.
If you can afford it, stay in one of the rooms with a private pool! If you can't, the Contempoary Beach Rooms are very nice (where I stayed) Not huge, but nicely laid out with large a large balcony.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.