We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
Eden Rock - St Barths
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I just got back from 5 nights at Eden Rock. My only complaint is that we should have stayed longer! Service was flawless and I mean flawless. From the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment we had to go back to the airport, the Eden Rock staff were at the top of their game but at the same time very friendly and charming. They made everything so easy for us. We especially enjoyed our relaxing time on the beach, with our loungers and water waiting for us as soon as we were ready. St Jean beach is a great swimming beach -- sandy bottom, easy exit/entry. We had a Rock Classic room -- very comfortable with a great balcony. There are several restaurants within walking distance of Eden Rock so we could eat off property when we wanted. Eventually, we just gave ourselves up to Eden Rock and didn't want to move. I appreciated the hotel's attention to detail -- we did not have to worry or check on anything. It is pricey so I will start saving now to go back.

Room Tip: The Rock Classic rooms are unique but if you have trouble with hills and/or stairs, stay in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    23
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
29
159
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 9 nights at Eden Rock and had the most amazing time. The property is so unique and is ideally positioned on the island. It is most certainly the place to be. It has a youthful, casual feel and staff are very attentive. Everything to maximise guests' comfort had been thought of and there were a lot of personal finishing touches which made it feel extra special. St Barths is a beautiful small island, is very French rather than Caribbean, with understated glamour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife & I stayed in a ground floor Beach Room at Eden Rock for 9 nights in April 2014 and would thoroughly recommend a visit. We really enjoyed St Barths - it's very French and the atmosphere is more 'St Tropez' than 'Caribbean'. St Barths has lots of excellent restaurants, the scenery and beaches are great although it is not for the financially insecure!

Our room at Eden Rock was spacious, immaculate, a patio with beach chairs and beds, and had all the modern facilities we needed. It did not have a bath, however, only a shower. Although a Beach Room the view was of the gardens towards the beach, rather than the beach itself - if you want a better view of the beach, ask for an upstairs room.

Both the On The Rocks and Sand Bar restaurants were excellent - as good or better than any of the other restaurants we visited - and while we initially found the staff a bit distant, this changed as they got to know us and by the end of our stay we felt we had made many new friends.

The beach, and the beach facilities, are also excellent.

Service throughout was first rate. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and that never waned throughout our visit. From the reception and restaurant staff to the room and beach guys nothing was too much trouble.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Eden Rock (and St Barths) and we definitely intend to return.

Room Tip: The Beach Rooms are actually set back from the beach in the gardens and you can't really see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a unique property!! The staff is very friendly, very helpful, and all about you enjoying your experience. We stayed in the Fontiane Suite - very nice - great location to everything. The Sand Box was a great spot for breakfast. The Beach Boys took great care of us - attended to our every needs. Would highly recommend this property!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our third and best visit to St. Barth's.

Each time we have stayed at the Eden Rock hotel and it keeps getting better. Great rooms and suites....some like ours on the rock over the water. Restaurant keeps getting better....great location...great beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

It's hard to communicate the magic of the Eden Rock. We were on St. Barts recently for a wedding and got to see other properties on the island as well. Nothing else held a candle to the Eden Rock. The two Jean-Georges restaurants are superb and our room, in the older Rocks portion of the hotel, was perfect. Service was faultless; being assigned our own beach chairs and umbrella for the duration was convenient, as was the use of the little car that was included with our room package. While there's no pool, with the perfect beach and the reef snorkeling right out of the hotel, who needs one? We intend to go back.

Getting there is a bit challenging. We flew to St Martins via Miami and took a 15-minute hop over. The connection was pretty disorganized and we had to wait for a while, but our flight back, going direct from St. Barts to San Juan and connecting to Miami, was much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been to st barths for about 5-7 times and every time we stay at Eden Rock. Their rooms are very nice and nothing can beat their beach. Very clean, not crowded, and friendly beach service.

The hotel staffs are very friendly and well spoken. They try to accommodate and have great attention to details. They also keep track of their clients in their data base.

We stayed at 4 of their room types and every room has something different to offer.

Breakfast is great, it is something we look forward to everyday. Room service and lunch were also very good.

The staff made dinner reservations for us and gave us the reminder so that we can refer to them.

We love this property a lot because it is close to the airport and very easy to get to, it is only a short drive to down town and to some local shopping places.

Very clean room and clean sheet. Very young and professional staff. This is a place that we keep going back and without a doubt, we stay with them every single time when we visit st. barths.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.