We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Save Saved
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eden Rock - St Barths
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in St. Jean
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are on a budget, have a few kids, or look bad in a swimsuit - go to disneyworld. If you want the best of the best, fantastic food and drink, and want to mingle with celebrities go to Eden Rock. My wife and I have been fortunate to travel to many places, but St. Bart's is simply the best. The quality here is designed for the upper demographic. Keep that in mind when shopping for anything on the island. Oh, take the plane charter, it's fun and quick and will spare you potential seasickness on the ferry. As far as Eden Rock, well, everything was done to perfection. They don't have a community pool, you'll have to get a villa for that. But the beach is only a few steeps away.
Explore this wonderful island and it's quiet picturesque beaches and you won't be disappointed. And you can't get lost, it's only 8.5 sq. miles of bliss..

Room Tip: The rock suites are cool, however, get a few friends together and get the Villa Rockstar. It's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    22
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
18
141
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balwyn
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This magic setting for a hotel on a beautiful island of St Barth's has got to be one of the worlds most picturesque places to stay. We had a Classic Rock Suite and loved evey minute of it but got tired of having to walk upto our haven from the beach each day. We loved breakfast and lunch at the beach cafe hard on the sand. A glorious beach and clear water was bliss. Didn't go too much for the night time retaurant up on the Rock, some nights some boistrious groups seem to go on unchecked, spilling drinks and breaking glasses. Not what you expect from a place that charges around 1000 Euro a night for a room. The service on the beach each day was great with the use of various items for water sports. Fun to walk up the beach to the end of the run way to encounter the plane taking off right over your head. Couple fo minutes form the airport and five minutes from the capital Gustavia, with plenty of good shopping and eats its a great place to holiday. Plenty of top restaurants on the island and all only about 10 to 15 mins away by car. We are going back for a week next January (2014) we loved it so much but this time we will stay in a Beach room. They are at beach level a few meters away from teh water and cafe.

Room Tip: Honeymoners take a Classic Rock Suite for the privacy. Older couples take the Beach Rooms, no climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a 10-day stay at the Eden Rock and we loved it.

First, we found that the location of the hotel is ideal - one minute from the airport, five minutes to Gustavia, within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, and a short drive to other areas.

The service at the hotel was excellent - there was always someone around to help and people were very friendly. Everything was seamless from pickup at the airport to the car rental to restaurant reservations and beach chair service. I loved how our car was always waiting in the parking lot with the keys in it ready for us to hop in and go whenever we wanted.

The beach and the way the hotel is situated on and around the rock are beautiful. While we loved going to other nearly deserted beaches like Gouveneur and Colombier, those beaches also were windy and had no shade, so they weren't always great places to stay for more than a couple of hours. But St. Jean beach was calm with fine sand, warm water, and always-available beach chairs with umbrellas and free waters in an ice bucket, so we liked to come back to the Eden Rock in the afternoon and chill there. The people who worked at the beach were great and we watched one of the "Beach Boys" go into the water to rescue a boy who had stepped on a sea urchin while walking where he shouldn't have been. You never have to worry about getting a beach chair - they reserve them for your room, and half of them were empty when we were there anyway.

The food was excellent - in fact, the best that we had on the island. We loved the nutella donuts at breakfast too! The coffee wasn't great but it wasn't easy to find great coffee on St. Barths (it seemed like the focus was much more on drinking wine, not coffee...) Dinner at On the Rocks was delicious, especially the shrimp salad and caramel popcorn sundae. The only thing we would have liked were much more simple offerings for lunch at the Sand Bar, but there was always Mayas-to-Go or Andy's Hideaway in walking distance for simpler fare (or Nikki Beach next door or La Plage down the beach if you just wanted a change of scenery).

We stayed in a garden room which is the smallest room there. It was not huge but had a nice big private patio. The room was nicely furnished and the free water and chocolate they replenished daily were appreciated (they were also happy to supply us with extra fresh towels and a beach umbrella when we needed them). We didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room but if you are planning to do so it may be preferable to get a beach room with a view. We used the gym a few times and happened to be there when an instructor (Etienne) was giving a class so we had a good workout - (they offer a number of free gym training sessions).

Overall the vibe was stylish yet casual which is what we loved about it. We had lunch at the Ile de France on Flamands beach (great food), but that hotel felt more uptight, like people were dressing up to impress each other or something, whereas things just felt more relaxed and fun at the Eden Rock. Also, even though the hotel was fully booked, it never felt crowded at all.

After traveling around the island and seeing most of the other hotels and beaches, we were glad we chose the Eden Rock and thought it was the best place to stay, as well as use as a jumping point to explore the rest of the island. We would definitely stay there again.

One tip - we used Premium IV VIP services to help with airport transfers and they coordinated with the Eden Rock on our arrival and departure. It made everything super easy and smooth - no waiting on lines anywhere in St. Maarten or St. Barths (where else can you leave your hotel room less than 30 minutes before the airplane actually takes off?) Well worth it in our opinion.

In sum, the Eden Rock just gets things right so you can relax and enjoy the hotel and island to the fullest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Island hopped for a weekend to St Barths and stayed at Eden Rock. The service by the staff from check in to check out was incredible - they know what you want without even asking. On the Rocks restaurant is my favourite place to eat in St Barths so it's great that we're staying right in the same resort... just next to Nikki Beach for lunch and afternoon drinks. If the island had beaches and waters like Anguilla it would be my favourite island, that's the only thing that would mark it down for me. Great for couples mostly but there were a few families there too.

Room Tip: Stay up on the rock - the little 'tree house' suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I just got back from our 10 day honeymoon on this amazing island and wonderful hotel. Let's begin with some of the basic's, I'm 34 and my wife is 31. I find this important to note, because we felt as though we were the youngest ones at the hotel, though not by a large margin. Also, we're not in the top 1%, so we booked and stayed in a contemporary beach room in the plantation house.

I understand this is low season, so my experience might have been different if another time of year. But all 38 rooms were booked our entire trip, and the hotel staff sits at 150 individual's to cover these rooms. And yes, the staff here like most of the island, are young, french, and attractive. Even with every room booked, at all times I was treated with respect, and made to feel as though my wife and I were the only one's staying with them. They remember you, your likes and dislikes, room number, etc. To the point where the bartender at On The Rocks realized I would always toss the straw out of my drinks and began not to serve me with any. From the driver who picked me up, to the girl checking us out and everyone in between, the level of service we received was top notch.

Our room fit the two of us and our luggage fine. And we made sure to request one on the second floor so we may have a better view of the water, and more privacy when out on the balcony. But do understand, the rooms below us were by no means in a basement! You should know that, like most luxury hotels they offer a turn down service nightly, but ONLY if you do not have the privacy sign on your door. And with this service they will give you another two bottles of water, which is very useful. The room was clean, comfortable, and contemporary. All which they are billed as. I've seen people complain about the TV, which for our room was in a bad location, and service was sketchy at times. But who goes on vacation to watch TV?!?

The beach is beautiful and those working on it are extremely helpful, and friendly. They have a bunch of toys to play with, be it kayaks, floats, paddle boards etc. The moment you sit down, the staff bring you two(free of charge)ice waters, and will serve fruit throughout the day. After your first day and you settle on a set of beach chairs, you will be happy to know that every morning during your stay, those same chairs will be "reserved" for you. So no rush to get to your favorite spot on the beach each morning. The only time you will ever be interrupted is on day 1 when the beach masseuse comes over and details her services.

Food wise, I found the breakfast buffet complimentary to guest to be perfectly fine. True, after 10 days I would have liked more variety, but I understand they want you to order from the menu. I'm not going to complain about bacon, potatoes, fresh fruit and chocolate croissants every day for breakfast, and that was just what I ate. They had eggs, sausage, cereal, assorted breads, etc. And at no point did I feel as though the wait staff acted as though there were expecting a tip. Probably my biggest disappointment with the hotel was lunch at the Sand Bar. And not that it was bad, I just didn't enjoy it. And yes, it was VERY expensive. We ate dinner THREE times at On the rocks, each time was tastier then the last. Everything from appetizers, to desert was absolutely delicious. Finally, the hotel does not keep guest posted about this, but on Thursday nights Sand bar has dinner and does live music. Made for an excellent night. Its more towards the tapas menu, but it was one of my wife's favorite meals on the island. She LOVED the shrimp taco's.

Top to bottom, in every way that this hotel conducts itself is absolutely phenomenal. The Matthew's family and their staff at Eden Rock made my honeymoon the best vacation I've ever taken, and that is exactly what a honeymoon should be. Without a doubt we will be returning to Eden Rock, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Pretty property if you enjoy $40 cheeseburgers and $30 cab rides to town which take about 7 minutes. Just a lot better places out there in the islands. This place charged this much because apparently it can, not because its worth it. Great island. Pretty beaches...but they all are.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barthelemy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Probably the best option in St. Barths, and we’ve also had lunch/dinner/visited the other top names (Isle de France, Le Toiny, Le Sereno, etc.).
A great location.
High standards.
Kind, responsive staff.
Great food.
Expensive but you get your value for your money.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort
Eden Rock
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.