We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a bad neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Save Saved
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Rock - St Barths
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Cannes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a bad neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I finally splurged and stayed at the Eden Rock for a week. The hotel is as fabulous inside as it looks from the outside. I had a classic rock suite, which was an amazingly large room with a unique view of the ocean and very special decoration, and it's own large private balcony. It was a fantastic room. The setting, the beach, the attendants were all wonderful.

The only downside to this hotel is the neighborhood. Actually, one neighbor. The Nikki beach. They play very loud music all day long, which you can hear from your suite. Several nights also the music will go on and on, seemingly past midnight, making it impossible to relax. It is your nightmare from city living transported to the carribbean.

Also, the Eden Rock seems to react to this by pumping up the music itself. It has a 5 star Jean-Georges Vongerichten restaurant, and the most beautiful setting on the island, but the sophisticated dinner food is unfortunately accompanied by a loud DJ who, while not being as loud as the Nikki beach next door, strongly devalues the setting. The young and beautiful staff also pump up the music at lunch and sometimes even breakfast.

So strong pluses but one very bad minus unfortunately for this property. I do not intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a contemporary beach room. Avoid the rock suites as they are all located on the Nikki beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    22
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
149
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This place does it right! Been here a few years ago for lunch and I knew then that I need to stay here next time I am on the island, and I glad I did! The beach room was great right on the water with great views and a great place to relax everything you need! The beach was awesome and the staff was there to make sure guest were taken care of. This is a small island so most everything is imported so its very expense . If you are looking for a deal this is not the place for you , expect to pay and don't complain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Restaurants by Jean Georges, beach by God. This boutique hotel has charming rooms built into a rock, and a stretch of rooms and suites along the beach. No pool, but 2 restaurants and a beach club down the way. Every detail thought out, every moment divine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When they say six star, they mean six star!!!!! A trip of a lifetime! Not for the budget traveler. At Eden Rock you will never hear the word "NO" as they will do everything possible to make sure you are happy. The food is wonderful! Breakfast at the Sand Bar is simple yet delicious! Lunch will awaken the palate with many fresh tasty choices. The service is beyond any I have ever experienced. We spent the days at our own little spot with reserved beach lounges for your room only, a waiting bucket of ice with bottled water, terry covered cushions in white with lush terry towels atop. Bar service while on a float in the bay. The rock and coral surrounding the hotel is great for daily snorkel trips from the beach. Room service with fresh towels at different times during the day-wonderful. We never saw anyone cleaning the room yet it was always clean when we returned. Upon check in we were greeted outside on the deck overlooking the water. We were offered a complimentary beverage while the hostess went over our portfolio. There was a personal tour of the hotel before we arrived at uniquely decorated room, bags already neatly placed in the room. A complimentary snack and bottle of wine was delivered to our room shortly after arriving. I cannot say enough great things about Eden Rock.....A dream come true!!!

Room Tip: If you stay in a room facing the bay, its a fantastic view. The rooms on the opposite side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The overall feeling we came away with is positive. The first day we ate at the Sand Bar for lunch and the On The Rocks for dinner. Be prepared for €€€€€! But we knew that going in. The included breakfast for the week was less than memorable. I don't mind it being the same fare daily, eggs, sausage, bacon, array of breads and cereals... But why couldn't the HOT items have been hot? We got to breakfast daily by 9 or 9:30 and the eggs, bacon, quiche, sausage were stone cold. I guess get to breakfast by 7... The night we arrived, we had room service and each ordered the Brie cheese burger cooked in truffle oil. Way too rich. Up at the On The Rocks restaurant the staff overall is friendly but seemed rushed and looking for who's who, rather than taking care of you. We ate twice at the restaurant and one night got our entrees before the appetizer. Ahem.... Really? Jean-George?? Shameless, IMO. But the food is excellent for the most part. Just really felt shuffled off quickly both times. Edward, one of the bartenders is terrific and a true mixologist. Just delicious drinks.

The beach is the real sell of this resort. The beach staff is good. We had a cottage for the week so always got leftover beach chairs and spots as the villas take priority. Not sure how this is fair, but that is how it goes. The room was pretty but a bit small. Only one sink in the bathroom and only got washcloths half of the week. I know they aren't used in Europe, but Americans NEED washcloths!!

Again the beach is the draw. And we found plenty of fun a short walk away at the beach bar La Plage at the TomBeachHotel. Loved that space for mojitos and paninis. Watching the planes take off and land never got old, crazy tight landing strip. A 10 minute walk adjacent to the landing strip gets you to a small strip mall with La Suprette and the Grand Marche grocery store for all your provisions. The wine prices at the Market were comparable to what we pay here in NYS... So a good buy. Eat breakfast/lunch at Les Jardines in the 'mall' too. Charming colorful French bistro! Loved it.

When you exit the property, St. jean has lots of bistros and shopping, easily walkable. We liked Le Piment for tapas. Tried to eat at Ki Ki Mo, but the chef had stepped out and no one knew how to make a breakfast sandwich without him there.... Suspect, but this IS the Caribbean and things operate differently than the uptight US! Also make sure you find The Hideaway for pizza and escargot and the house vanilla rum.

The hotel had little to no American TV. No Sunday football playoff for instance.

It was our first time to St. Barth's. We like a resort as opposed to a villa as we don't want to bother with groceries immediately or driving. Overall, we give the resort 2 thumbs up. It was nice and small and easy to navigate.

Room Tip: Get a villa if you are of those means, you get a car. Get the cottage if you are there for the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Ocean view is a great room. Just in front of the ocean, but try to stay at the 2nd floor than you can have a better view than from the ground floor. Inside the Hotel there is a restaurant, On the Rocks, that is one of the best in the island. The breakfast is fantastic too and the service is also great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I recently spent 6 days at Eden Rock. I stayed in the James Diamond Suite which was incredible. The photos on the website don't do it justice. No expense has been spared on every fitting, it has good privacy and direct access to the sea.

All the staff went were of the standard you would expect at such a great hotel. The breakfast buffet, lunch at the Sand Bar and dinner at the Rocks restaurant were all top notch.

The only thing i'd like to see improved is the gym. It has a good location, but could benefit from a large glass front as its over looking the sea, and doesn't have much natural light.

Room Tip: Ask about the privacy of the room you are interested in. Some are much more private than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.