We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Jean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Rock - St Barths
Save
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from a stay at Eden Rock. We were in one of the Garden Cottages, Jade. If I recall these are the least expensive rooms in the place.

Everything was beautiful, the room, the private terrace, the hotel, the beach, etc. Food is really well done at both restaurants. Attention to detail and great service really set this place apart.

One con, internet connectivity was glitchy and intermittant.

A big plus is the free rental car that came with the room. Which made it easy to get around the island.

Tip - you can really control the cost of the stay by getting wine / liquor and great take out right down the road by the airport at the superette and maya's to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    23
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
29
160
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from a stay at the Eden Rock. It was divine. We stayed in a a Rock Classic named Treasure. Great room with an open-air bathroom and a rock shower. Very private room, and a great view of the water from your bed. The staff at the hotel are perfect. They dote on you, but they know when to disappear as well. Best breakfast you will find. The Jean George's restaurant is delicious. And the DJ (Florent) and the bartenders do a great job. The beach is perfect. Water is crystal clear. Evian in ice buckets. Plush towels. The guys bring fruit kebabs when it is hot.

If you don't like this hotel, I don't like you. It is that simple. Go stay somewhere else, and leave this one for me.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was a super hotel- I loved all the rooms on the rock side, as they were all individual, with their unique personalities, making it special.
For those seeking to be closer to the beach, there are newer beach front rooms too.
We stayed in room Fregate, a duplex, with double terraces and a private jacuzzi. What else does one need?
The breakfast was really good- fresh jams and cheese, hot food, fresh juices, smoothies etc. The breakfast rocked, but the lunch at Jean Georges, was very average and for the prices charged, it really should have been better.
The menu didn't have a great selection of light and refreshing items that one expects from a beach. The fish burger (fresh catch of the day) was over cooked and dry, my chicken paillard which was requested without gorgonzola cheese came with.
On the rock, the fine dining , was SO average. I don't know what the hype is about. Not worth it.
There is no spa here, treatments can be arranged in the room.

Room Tip: Stay on the rock side if you are not going with kids- each room is unique with tons of character and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Eden Rock thinks it is the best of the best of resorts, when in reality it does not compare to other top notch resorts in the Caribbean.
STAFF: The staff needs a lesson in service and the housekeepers need to learn how to clean. They do know, however, how to have a hand out for gratuities at all times. At the morning buffet breakfast, which is included in the exorbitant room rate, a small paper is left at each table asking for a tip. The beach staff expect it and do not pay attention to you if you do not tip them. One was actually rude enough to drop off the one bottle of water (most high-end resorts provide unlimited free water, not Eden Rock) in the morning without even forcing out a fake "Bonjour" after having been greeted. Bottom line: The staff is well trained at saying yes to every request, but following through on none.
ROOM: The room was small, tired, worn and awkwardly laid out. It looks nothing like the photo on the website which shows nice hard wood floors and closets. The room we had, had painted white floors and walls and was worn and chipped. The shower in the bathroom was decent. Both the room and the bathroom were not clean on arrival. After numerous, detailed requests to clean certain areas, it was never done during the length of our stay. The bed should not be at a 5 star hotel. It is a thin mattress on top of a hard wood bed, no box spring, no comfort. Nevertheless, the air conditioning worked well.
FOOD: The food was good, but came at an exorbitant price which one would think would be accompanied by good service, but no such luck. It is worth mentioning one server, Emile at On The Rocks who was so atypical to the rest and very nice.
BEACH: The beach is OK. The water is clear, but it is not one of those sandy beaches one sees in Anguilla. At the end of the beach is the runway for the airport, so if you are bothered by small planes taking off and landing all day and the noise then this is not the place for you.
GYM: Pathetic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We celebrated our Honeymoon here and it was absolutely perfect. We've been to some nice places but this was gorgeous. We stayed in the Greta Garbo suite, and it was fantastic. So much space, a gorgeous bath tub, awesome shower, huge selection of books in the room (our private library). The concierge was next to our room and they helped us with everything, quickly and nicely. They booked everything we needed and just took care of everything. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was amazing. Nutella donuts! The beach is incredible and you can snorkel, kayak, and paddle board right there. I can't wait to come back, I loved every second of it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am not sure why everyone gave this Hotel such rave reviews. I have stayed at 5 star hotels throughout the Caribbean and this one does not compare. The room we were assigned for over $600 USD per night was small and dirty with absolutely no view. The service at the restaurant was subpar and the food just average. The beach is not sandy at all, rather dark, but with relatively clear blue water. They only give you ONE free bottle of water, then you are on your own. Again, for these prices, give me a second bottle of water! If you don't tip the beach boys, don't expect to hear from them again. Both the beach chairs and the beds in the room were extremely uncomfortable. The bed has a thin mattress on top of a wooden frame. It was just terrible. The TV was very small in an awkward place in the room and had only 4 news stations. Whenever I called the front desk to complain or ask a question, it was "yes, yes, yes", but they never acted. I don't enjoy being "yessed" to death with no action taken. Please do yourself a favor, if you must come to St. Barts (there are much nicer islands with better beaches and restaurants), don't waste your money at this establishment and try somewhere else. Trust me on this one.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at the Eden Rock Hotel and had a fantastic time. The service was outstanding! The property is kept in perfect shape, has a fantastic beach and the restaurant is, in my opinion, the best on the island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.