We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eden Rock - St Barths to your Saves list
Eden Rock - St Barths
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just returned from an anniversary trip to St. Barths. Split the trip between the Eden Rock and Le Toiny. As first time visitors we were glad we chose the hotel route instead of a villa. Our experience was great and consistent with the other very positive reviews of Eden Rock. We stayed in a Classic Rock Suite (414 - "the Reef'"). It is below reception and faces out from the rock - a very private deck and great room. We'd ask for it again or the DeHaenen Suite if available. Loved the hotel and location - easy to get to Gustavia and to explore the rest of the island. St. Jean beach is as advertised - spectacular and plenty (but not too much) action. Beach loungers and service were terrific. Particularly liked breakfast and lunch at the Sand Bar (the later always an interesting scene). On the Rocks is an unbeatable setting for dinner. Service at hotel a bit mixed but overall very good. Driver was waiting for us at harbour when we got off the ferry and we were greeted at reception with offer of champagne on deck overlooking the water. Hard to beat. Bottom line is that the Eden Rock delivered on high expectations - it is a really special hotel. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    23
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
29
159
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at Eden Rock for our honeymoon. We looked into every hotel on the island before going with Eden Rock. We were on the island for a week and had a chance to see every hotel that we looked into, including Isle de France. We were very happy we went with Eden Rock. We felt it was the best hotel on the island. Service, design, food, beach, rooms, etc....were all fantastic. My only complaint was the air conditioning in Waterlily wasn't working that well and for 1300 euro/night you expect things like that to work. Other than that, everything was perfect. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Heavenly beach houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Eden Rock, I could tell that I was going to love the hotel. We were in awe while standing in lobby overlooking the ocean. The property is very unique and it doesn't feel like a hotel. It is exquisite but with a very relaxed feeling. We had the ocean view room and we were very pleased. It was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated.

The water was warm and the waves were very calm. Saint Jean Bay is a beautiful shade of turquoise blue water. I felt this was an excellent location to stay. I was a bit apprehensive with not having a pool but I didn't miss it at all. Eden Rock is close Gustavia, the airport, Nikki Beach, La Plage restaurant and walking distance to Saint Jean town. Saint Jean town has many little stores to shop. I felt this was the best location on the island.

Eden Rock restaurant has a breathtaking view of the water. It is situated in top of a rock and the ocean is lit up during the evening. Service is a bit slow(as in all of the restaurants) but the food was amazing. Breakfast and lunch at the Sand Bar are equally as good. The food is very expensive at Eden Rock and throughout the entire island.

I have traveled to almost every Caribbean island and St. Barts is very unique from the others. It does not feel like the Caribbean. It feels like being in St. Tropez. All of the employees are from France, speak fluent english, are beautiful and are very pleasant. Gustavia feels like a town in the South of France aligned with enormous yachts.

All I can say is a wish I knew how great St Barts is because I would have been there years ago. My husband and I loved Eden Rock and will definitely would love to go back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Flying into St Barts is magic in itself! We were greeted at Eden Rock with a glass of champange and shown our magnificent Howard Hughes Suite. The most beautiful woods,walls made to look like fusilage and panoramic ocean vistas...so gorgeous. The dinner over looking the water with the dingy and dancing carp was magical. Everything about the island is charming and french. We had wonderful meals all over the island but the leisurely lunch at Nikki Beach,concluding with a romp in the water to cool off was the most memorable. The location at St Jean was wonderful and restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. Can't say enough about this romantic hotel!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

From the moment we landed at the Airport the Hotel and its staff made sure every aspect of our stay was perfect. Our "Heavenly House" was right on the Beach and had magnificent indoor and outdoor spaces. The Hotel is located in the center of the Island and we never had to drive more than 5 minutes to arrive at the many wonderful restaurants and beautiful attractions the Island has to offer. The Beach was Amazing. Not too quiet yet very serene. The breakfast was one of the best we have scene in our many travels. All foods were made early that morning and out of this world. We visited many of the competing hotels during our stay and none came close to what Eden Rock offers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I have stayed at the Eden Rock a few times over the last few years. The hotel is really wonderful. Yes, it is expensive, but so is the rest of the island. Dont come here if you dont want to spend the money, go to St Martin.The restaurant on site is to me the most romantic, set on top of a cliff with lightbeams showing the great color of the ocean. The food is fantastic, also for lunch, super relaxed and nice atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and professional! It is centrally located, not far from the airport, town, or great restaurants and beaches.
http://thedopeblog.blogspot.com/2010/06/break-piggy-bank-for-paradise-saint.html

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We went for our honeymoon and I have to say it surpassed my expectations. The service was world class and the food was beyond great. We had an ocean suite which was absolutely gorgeous! It was worth splurge!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock – St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at ‘The Sand Bar’ and ‘On the Rocks’ restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Rock - St Barths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.