We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bar and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Rocks

On the Rocks
St Jean | Hotel Eden Rock - St Barths, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
+590 590 29-7999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in St. Jean
Cuisines: French, Bar, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Island-chic with unforgettable views over the coral reefs below and beyond, the On The Rocks restaurant features a creatively elegant menu - a culinary highlight not to be missed. Exquisite cocktails at sunset and an aperitif snack menu available from 5 pm.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great bar and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Terrific location perched high on the rocks so its a long climb up to the bar.The caiparinha was very good, short, small, tight and tasty. It was late, we wanted a small bite and we had a caesar salad and a shrimp salad. both very good, atmosphere better. Could not have been happier. being right there made all the difference! its a great place to be at with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    30
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Aside from the excellent food, we had seafood, the setting is fantastic.
Right on the beach, with a beautiful verandah and impeccable service.
I'd go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere, great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The dinner we had at Eden Rock was delicious! Service was great and wine was excellent. We tried many desserts as well and all were fantastic! Make sure to look at the beach on your way out to see the Eden Rock logo reflected in the water. Also sit up high in the bar for a drink before dinner, great view of the ocean. Would go back again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

After eating lunch at the Sand Bar, we decided to have our last dinner at On The Rocks and everyone agreed it was the best decision. To begin, the atmosphere is hard to beat. Chic and on the water - it was perfect St Barths. It was even raining when we were there and it hardly mattered. Second, the food was simply delicious - all of it; every last bite of everything was fantastic. And of course the drinks - solid wine list, creative cocktails and my wife's favorite champagne by the glass (Bilecart Salmon Rose). Everyone agreed that dinner and experience was worth every Euro we spent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Good food, good views, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went for dinner mid-way through our trip - had tried the Sand Bar previous year, wanted to see how this was. Great location and views over the bay - excellent menu, and good service - although a little variable (our waiter never looked you in the eye, never smiled, rushing around) - we put this down to us having a 9pm booking and the restaurant wanting to close (it was fairly quiet). Nice bar in the middle for cocktails, but our table looking out was lovely, and it's a very romantic setting. Cafe Gourmand a definite recommend. Not cheap, but not actually that expensive compared to London (200-225 euros for two with wine).

I think we preferred the sand bar in the day (based on last year) as you can be right by the sea while eating, but this was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Rocks also viewed

St. Jean, St Barthelemy
St. Jean, St Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St Barthelemy
Salines, St Barthelemy
 

Been to On the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.