We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bar and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Rocks

On the Rocks
Eden Rock - St Barths, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
590.29.79.99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 restaurants in St. Jean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great bar and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Terrific location perched high on the rocks so its a long climb up to the bar.The caiparinha was very good, short, small, tight and tasty. It was late, we wanted a small bite and we had a caesar salad and a shrimp salad. both very good, atmosphere better. Could not have been happier. being right there made all the difference! its a great place to be at with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    20
    17
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Aside from the excellent food, we had seafood, the setting is fantastic.
Right on the beach, with a beautiful verandah and impeccable service.
I'd go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

After eating lunch at the Sand Bar, we decided to have our last dinner at On The Rocks and everyone agreed it was the best decision. To begin, the atmosphere is hard to beat. Chic and on the water - it was perfect St Barths. It was even raining when we were there and it hardly mattered. Second, the food was simply delicious - all of it; every last bite of everything was fantastic. And of course the drinks - solid wine list, creative cocktails and my wife's favorite champagne by the glass (Bilecart Salmon Rose). Everyone agreed that dinner and experience was worth every Euro we spent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We didn't eat here because we had heard that the food had gone downhill and was way over-priced. $48 euro for 6 oysters on the half shell is not for me. Anywhoo, we did do drinks here for happy hour to take in the view. The staff was great and the drink list was nice too. We will always do drinks here, but never dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must in St. Barths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing lunch with the best view in St. Barths. The service was very good and the food excellent. It's a little expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Rocks also viewed

St. Jean, St Barthelemy
St. Jean, St Barthelemy
 
Toiny, St Barthelemy
St. Jean, St Barthelemy
 

Been to On the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.