We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Rocks

On the Rocks
St Jean | Hotel Eden Rock - St Barths, St. Jean 97133, St Barthelemy
+590 590 29-7999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Island-chic with a refined atmosphere, On The Rocks is spectacularly set with views over the coral reefs and beyond. Master Chef Jean-Georges and his new Executive Chef Eric Desbordes offer an elegant and creative menu - a culinary highlight not to be missed. Exquisite cocktails at sunset and an aperitif snack menu available from 5 pm.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We didn't eat here because we had heard that the food had gone downhill and was way over-priced. $48 euro for 6 oysters on the half shell is not for me. Anywhoo, we did do drinks here for happy hour to take in the view. The staff was great and the drink list was nice too. We will always do drinks here, but never dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    67
    30
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must in St. Barths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing lunch with the best view in St. Barths. The service was very good and the food excellent. It's a little expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ciotat, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The title speaks for itself: it is really expensive.. 29 euros for a turkey sandwich!! OMG !!!!!! it is good, though...

We sat near a table who left 20€ for the tip, we felt a bit ill at ease... We had only 3 dollars to leave as a tip...

At the end of our lunch, we asked the lady in charge of the staff if it was possible to have two beach seats. She answered there were precisely 2 of them remaining and told us, she was booking them for us, while we were paying the bill (90€ for a pizza and a more than basic salmon meal). Once the bill paid, we wandered in the restaurant, waiting for someone to show us our seats on the beach, but no one ever came up... Thank God we hadn't paid yet!

We left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went there to celebrate our sons birthday. View is awesome, ambiance is great and can usually see a large fish circling the area. Food was good. Sushi rocked and lobster tacos were good too. Wine list had lots of options from high end to some more cost effective alternatives. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Night Time Cocktail !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I went out for a post-dinner cocktail and did not have dinner here:) The view of St Jean Bay at night is best had from the high perch of the Eden Rock Restaurant called "On The Rock". We loved the cocktails especially the Chilli Chilli Bang Bang! The view of the water with lights shining on it and the fish in ocean along the reefs makes for a very romantic ambiance:) The perfect ending to a perfect day in St Barths! We will return to enjoy dinner next year! Merci.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Rocks also viewed

Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 
Grande Saline, St Barthelemy
St. Jean, St Barthelemy
 

Been to On the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.