We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Isola

L'Isola
33 Rue Roi Oscar II, Gustavia 97133, St Barthelemy
590 590 51 00 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is unique in that it isn't outdoor dining like most places on the island but the cuisine is wonderful. It can be pricey but definitely worth it. Great wine list too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    45
    16
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Tasty food .. Over priced ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The restaurant was a little dark .. Vitello tonato & aubergine melanzane were all tasty starters. The restaurant let itself down badly when it served a mozzarella, tomato & basil salad 'without the basil'. The waiter made the excuse and then disappeared. After suggesting the dish be changed, another aubergine melanzane was served. This 'trick' with the basil was disappointing.
Main course pastas were well prepared but two of them were small portions. Expect to pay 25 to 50 % more than you would if you were in a similar restaurant in Europe, or a main US city.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I went to L'Isola in November, on it's opening night after being closed for break in October.

The decor is very romantic and sexy at the same time, with candles on each table, and sultry red curtains and decor.

The restaurant staff was very attentive and pleasant, sitting you down and treating you like family.

The menu and food was wonderful. We had the gnocchi with roquefort cheese as our pasta course. It was the best gnocchi we ever had. My main dish was langoustines (which is rare and hard to find in the west coast of the US where we live); the dish was prepared simply grilled and reminded us of our time in Positano in the Amalfi coast of Italy.

The place was so good we came back and second night. The staff remembered us and treated us like regulars our second time around.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nothing like Italian Romance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a group of 6 for dinner at L'Isola and were lucky enough to walk in and find a table without a reservation. We sat at a large table in the corner that was pretty private and perfect for our group. The food was all wonderful there, as was the wine selection, but this was no cheap restaurant. Expect to spend some big bucks there, especially if you also have wine with dinner. The atmosphere was very romantic....dark with candlelight flickering around the room. This restaurant is actually air conditioned...which is rare on the island. However, the one complaint I had was that it was hot inside. All of us at the table were about to cook by the end of the meal and were wondering how the staff could handle the heat. Maybe it was just that night, but it was a relief to finally step outside into the balmy Caribbean evening. Had it been cooler inside...the evening would have been perfect. So if you go...make a reservation...take lots of money and wear something skimpy!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“The Place To Go in Gustavia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Combine an elegant candlelit dining room with classic Italian fare, smoothly attentive service, and the cachet of a well-known California sister restaurant, and you've got L'Isola, the hot ticket for dinner in Gustavia. If you aren't there early you'll end up waiting but the people-watching is first-rate. This is definitely a see-and-be-scene. Happily, the fare is delicious and the atmosphere is festive. Unlike some prior reviewers, we found the service to be especially accommodating and gracious. Be prepared for major sticker shock when the bill arrives, but remember, you're paying for the experience in addition to the meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Isola also viewed

Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Grande Saline, St Barthelemy
 
Salines, St Barthelemy
Toiny, St Barthelemy
 

Been to L'Isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Isola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.