We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maya"s

Maya"s
St. Barth, Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 54 Restaurants in Gustavia
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Maya´s restaurant, St. Barth French west indies
great neck n.y.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 5 days and the only low point was eating here.Totally over rated food served very casually.Each dish was described to us meticulously by the owner but his description fell very far from reality.Plain tasteless salads, fish that was just passable and lamb chops with tasteless vegetables.I had a dessert of apples and creme chantille that was horrible.
I would not recommend this restaurant unless you want to be seen here !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    11
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good, but not worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Dinner with another couple we had met on the cruise. We called earlier that day and we could either be seated at 6:30 p.m. or at like 10 p.m. We arrived early and found the place deserted except for restaurant and wait staff having dinner making ready for the evening. Strongly recommend getting a cab there if you can find one or thnking seriously about the long dark walk from the piers in Gustavia.

Within probably 30 minutes the place filled and all seats were taken. It was a place to be seen where it was obvious this was a group of patrons whom knew each other outside of this social scene.

The dishes were simple and prepared well. The wine menu was very good. The outdoor seating was nice looking over the bay. Overall, I guess I was expecting more. Based on the hit or miss reports here, I was optimistic. My rating here is that it is above average, but below very good. Not sure that I would venture here again if I had only a couple of days in St. Barts. Again, it just may be a matter of tastes. And for the price, just over $550 US dollars for 4 people, 4 entrees, 4 salads, 2 bottles of wine, 2 deserts and 2 bottled waters, not including tip, you better go prepared and ready to pay for it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible..total rip off!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to Maya's last week...it was the worst restaurant we experienced during our three weeks stay on St Barth!!!
We had a glass of Chardonnay (150ml 19 Euro each), as a starter Pasta Carbonara with green asparagus, which tasted boring and tasteless..it just had a bit of butter, 5 pieces of asparagus and a little salt...the price was around 30 Euro. Afterwards we had chicken and St Jacques..both had boring vegetables and plain brown rice as a sidedish...and as a result horrible problems with our stomach for 2 days!!!! At the end we payed 170 euro and had the most tasteless dinner you can find on the island. Also the toilets smell bad and need a make over...if you go to restaurants you can tell by the look of the restrooms how the kitchen is run..thats what we say in germany...
Also the valet parking was a total joke...no price on the ticket, just tipp it says...so we gave him 10 Euro, he even dared to knock on the window and told us its 15 Euro...the car was parked 5m from the restaurant...perfect evening!!!
I will definately return to St Barth but never again to Maya's...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Simple food that costs a bundle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If this restaurant weren't so hyped, it might be somewhat tolerable. A recent meal there was mediocre and ordinary at best. And the cost was way over the top. Not a single dish could be thought of as interesting or memorable, And the much-vaunted Caribbean spices and flavors are something one must strain to find. A side of poor quality soggy boiled rice was particularly offensive. At least get a decent rice varietal and cook it competently. The plat principal was not much better.

Maybe once upon a time this restaurant had its glory days. Now, regrettably, it's rather tired and shopworn, a victim of its own success that rather needs revamping. And it's doubtful this will ever occur unless its clientele choose to become decidedly more discerning. The location is lovely one can't deny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our First Stop on St. Barth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Maya's is always our first dinner on island. Great ingredients assembled well. Always tasty and a fun crowd.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya"s also viewed

Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 
Salines, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 

Been to Maya"s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya"s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.