We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vietnam

Le Vietnam
31, Rue Oscar II, Gustavia 97133, St Barthelemy
+590 590 27-8137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 54 Restaurants in Gustavia
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 1989, Chef Tuyen and his wife Angelique are pleased to welcome you in an unusual place in the heart of Gustavia in Saint Barths. All year long, come and discover our menu from 12:00 to 2:00pm and from 6:00 to 10:30pm. We are closed on Tuesday and Sunday for lunch.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food for reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Really good Vietnamese food. We actually ate there 20 years ago as well. Nice family owned placed with reasonable prices, which is unheard of anywhere on this island.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique V, Owner at Le Vietnam, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review. We were glad to serve you again after your first visit 20 years ago! and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the food. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,
Le Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Nice Retreat from Island Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The couple who run Le Vietnam could have not have been nicer and more welcoming! Our meal was on a whim and we're glad we settled on, jokingly at first, on Le Vietnam. The menu doesn't divert from what you would see on most fast/casual Asian menus here in the US - but it's delicious!

If you're looking for something different then all the upscale dining establishments on SB and want something quick, yummy, and out of the mainstream of SB - stop into Le Vietnam!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annasbh, Owner at Le Vietnam, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Your recommendation is very rewarding for us. We are glad that you enjoyed our food, and we would love to welcome you again.
Wish you a great year ahead!

Angelique Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville beach, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service and cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great service and cozy atmosphere. Having the owners/family look after you is always a special experience these days in the modern day dining experience.

Lots of items to choose from!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annasbh, Owner at Le Vietnam, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and writing a great feedback. It's been a pleasure for us to serve you! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere and had a good experience. We would love to welcome you again.

Warm regards from all of us at Le Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic island charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times over our yearly trips to the island, and we not only love the food and service but the authenticity of the place. The duck/ pineapple dish is simply delectable and the service cannot be beat. We also love that this is a family run establishment... 25 years and going strong. You get the sense of supporting local business's when dining here. Support the small folks... Eat at le Vietnam!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annasbh, Owner at Le Vietnam, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks for your kind review and your loyalty, we really appreciate it. We are also very pleased to know of your satisfaction with our food (especially our Pineapple Duck!) and service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Best wishes from Le Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Sub par Vietnamese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The food was below average from what we can get in the States but you're still paying St. Barth's prices. You will probably be dining while the owner's family, children and pets are 20 feet away which detracts from the restaurants ambiance.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vietnam also viewed

Lurin, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Salines, St Barthelemy
 

Been to Le Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vietnam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.