We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipiri Palace Restaurant

Pipiri Palace Restaurant
14 Rue du General-De-Gaulle | Gustavia Saint Barthelemy, Gustavia 97133, St Barthelemy
+590 590 27-5320
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 57 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A happy find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We happened by this restaurant while exploring the streets of Gustavia. The posted menu was so appealing we knew we had to eat here. We had a 7:30 seating and sat outside in the charming garden. The restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere and we enjoyed very friendly and attentive service. Rod and Louise were happy to cater to our every wish. The food was excellent! Beautifully presented and delicious. The duck Carpaccio was paper thin and delicious. Lobster risotto was amazing. I couldn't get a bite of rice without a huge piece of lobster in it; and I tried! My husband enjoyed the skate, not something you find on most menus and nicely done. Desserts were pretty and totally wonderful. Can't wait to come back and eat here again! Truly a great dining experience on St. Barth's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pipiri Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Cannot say enough about this quaint restaurant. The service was extremely good, and atmosphere beyond pleasant. Had the best Cesar salad I have ever had, and upon our waitstaffs' recommendation the Lobster Risotto for my main course. An ethereal experience! My wife had the fois gras with string beans. A ridiculously generous portion and outrageously good. For her main she got the duck, also terrific.

A perfect evening, and the perfect meal to conclude our week in St. Barths. We look forward to our next visit when will be eating here more than once.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Contrary to what another reviewer wrote, we had friendly and attentive service last night. The restaurant has the same open air feel as before, and the same chef is in the kitchen. The food was tasty, attractively presented, and cooked as we requested. This restaurant is an old friend we look forward to visiting when we come to St. Barths each year and didn't disappoint.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmass, colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor and lackadaisical service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have dined at Pipiri Palace several times over the years and usually enjoy it as a somewhat affordable alternative to the other very expensive restaurants in St. Barths. However, on our trip in February 2014 it was very disappointing. We arrived early and the restaurant was not busy, but it took forever to order basic things like bread, water and wine. I had a great salad, but two people in our party who had lobster (a Pipiri specialty) said it was overcooked and dry. Mostly, however, the service was apathetic and we had to ask for several things again and again. before they finally arrived at our table. The wait staff just didn't seem to care.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“A rainforest delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Change is good for the Pipiri Palace St. Barths restaurant. The new owner Rodrigue and his wife purchased the dining spot in August 2013 and have freshened the interior and exterior with fresh paint and new décor. It is on the road down from Le Select with it’s traditional sign hanging out front and a chalkboard menu with the daily specials.The daily specials grabbed our attention as we strolled the Gustavia streets looking for a dinner spot. We spotted the listing for an appetizer of Ravioles de St. Marcellin sauce aux cepes. Underneath was the dinner plat du jour offered -Marmite du pecheur. Seafood was our dinner choice. The food was fabulous and filled us up quickly!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipiri Palace Restaurant also viewed

Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 

Been to Pipiri Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipiri Palace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.