We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in St Barth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carl Gustaf

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gustavia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Carl Gustaf
Save Saved
You added Hotel Carl Gustaf to your Saves list
Rue des Normands | BP 700, Gustavia 97099, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gustavia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in St Barth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Carl Gustaf in May so took advantage of their low season specials packages Which made the week stay still expensive but possible. The hotel has a beautiful view of the harbor and unlike other hotels is walking distance to Gustavia center and its shops and restaurants. No beach of its own but 5 minutes from shell beach.

The rooms are nicely appointed and spacious. The individual pool although a good idea was cold and attracted many Mosquitos so we did not use it .

We were picked up at airport in air conditioned car with cold towels and water .
Service was excellent and the staff very accommodating. Food was excellent. Best sunset views on island from their lounge.

One important note: because the hotel is on a hill, depending on your room location it is necessary to climb multiple flights of stairs to get to hotel lobby restaurant and spa. Okay for us but could be problematic for some who are unaware of this.

Definitely will go again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent three lovely days at Carl Gustaf before moving to the other side of St. Barth. The driver met us at the airport with cold towels and water. Upon arrival, we sat down to check-in with champagne and a stunning view over the harbour. Gaelle, the receptionist, was efficient and very helpful throughout our entire stay, and all the other staff were friendly as well. Our Deluxe Suite was beautiful and very spacious, with a plunge pool on the terrace overlooking Gustavia. The bathroom was nice and clean with an excellent rain shower. Housekeeping did an excellent job cleaning our room every morning while we were having breakfast. Breakfast consisted of bread, croissants and pastries which were good, but there is also a menu available with eggs and omelettes if you want something less sweet. All the good restaurants in Gustavia are well within walking distance. There is also a beach (Shell Beach) nearby with a nice restaurant. We would love to come back to Carl Gustaf!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I spent four lovely nights at the Carl Gustaf Hotel in early May. We were very pleased with our choice. The one bedroom suites were spacious and provided every amenity. Off the living room was our own plunge pool giving us a breathtaking view of the harbor below. The staff was more than accommodating and tried to provide us with every experience we desired. The spa is small, but the service excellent. What we particularly liked was the location of the hotel. You are not on the beach but rather high up over the town which is an easy walk downhill. A beach (Shell Beach) is literally a three minute walk. We borrowed snorkel equipment from the concierge early one morning and found ourselves the only ones on the beach. The snorkeling was excellent. Breakfast at the hotel provides divine little cakes and breads and fresh squeezed juice. Arrangements were made for us to use the beach and have lunch with other 5 star hotels out of town. This was perfect for us. The roads in St. Barths are fun to drive during the day but I assume dark and rather treacherous at night. Being at the Carl Gustaf at night provided us easy access to town and the many wonderful restaurants without having to concern ourselves with driving. The only negative was the street noise. The hotel is right on the road and the cars, motorcycles and trucks zooming by did take a little away from the relaxing ambience. I would however recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hotel Carl Gustaf before a stay at the more remote Le Toiny. We wanted to get a feel for life in the "big city" in Gustavia. The hotel staff was delightful, our bungalow room was spacious, beautifully decorated and nicely appointed. The small private pool on the patio gave us a great view of the harbor day and night. This is a lovely hotel. It is located in town and our room was right next to a road, so we did hear motorbike and auto traffic, as well as music due to a festival going on. But that's certainly expected when you're staying in town. Overall a great experience. Victoria's (the restaurant) was very good as well with a different lovely view.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

(I have not been paid for this review) - this was our first time to St Barts and Hotel Carl Gustaf did not disappoint. The furnofnus were picked up at the local airport and immediately give cool, fragrant towels and water - absolutely what was needed after many hours in airports. When we arrived, we sat overlooking the Gustavia harbour with a glass of cold delicious champagne while we filled out the requisite paperwork during which our bags were quietly brought to our rooms. The rooms, by the way, we're spectacular. Exceptionally spacious with a view of the ocean and harbour with separate bedroom and sitting room + kitchenette. And yes, the plunge pool was refreshing, but after a warm day around the island, anything warmer was unimaginable.

After settling in we decided to have dinners at the hotel as it was late. The service and food did not disappoint. Everything was outstanding. Each day thereafter breakfast would quiet and delicious. Our package also included car rentals - a new Kia Sportage for each couple. Getting around to beaches, etc., was exceptionally easy and the cars were much better than we had expected. My wife has celiacs disease so they informed her that starting Monday they would have gluten free bread for her in the morning - service we've only found comparable on St Lucia.

Staying on St Barts at the Hotel Carl Gustaf is not your typical all inclusive beach experience. You get to experience exceptional service and accomodations while getting to every beach on the island and more restaurants and shopping than a week can satisfy. The Hotel Carl Gustaf was way beyond expectations and staying again when back on St Barts is a given.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location of this hotel was near the city of Gustavia, where you can find some bars and restaurant. The view over the harbor was very nice. But there the service was poor. It all started with the drive from the airport. We had let the hotel know that we were with the 5 of us. They arrived with a car which could barely fit all of us.. luckily the drive was not long!! The moment we arrived at the hotel nobody knew if our room was ready or not. When we eventually got into our room it looked nice, apart from the dirty private pool which was ice-cold! So, the location was OK, but the service was poor and definitely not in relation to the rate they charge..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I almost feel like I shouldn't review this hotel, since I didn't pay the bill, so the outrageous prices didn't really affect my stay. Carl Gustav has great views, beautiful rooms, and the ideal location (a short 5-minute walk to the beach and into town; it's right up the hill from the incredible restaurant Bonito).
The service was not particularly great. I speak passable French, so communication shouldn't have been such an issue, but it was. Breakfast and drink service was very slow, and often there was something missing or wrong from our order. Food was also insanely expensive, but again, I guess that's the nature of St. Barths!
I would DEFINITELY come to stay again if money wasn't an object --- if I was footing the bill, however, I might think twice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carl Gustaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carl Gustaf

Address: Rue des Normands | BP 700, Gustavia 97099, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Gustavia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gustavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Carl Gustaf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carl Gustaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.