We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++ rating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salines Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Barthelemy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salines Garden Cottages
Salines, 97133, St. Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in St. Barthelemy
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A++ rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just got back from a week in St. Barths and stayed at Salines Garden Cottages. The experience was PERFECT, from the time we landed until we departed (sadly). The location, value, and peace and quiet offered by Salines Garden is hard to find, especially in St. Barths. We are already planning our vacation next year and will choose Salines Garden Cottages again. Only 358 more days!!!

Room Tip: Any of the cottages will be perfect for your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    24
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is so quiet and peaceful and in a great central location. The rooms are very clean and perfectly sized. Every morning there is breakfast (good coffee!) and you sit there with cute little birdies chirping and flying around the table - such a happy place! As long as you rent a car you can get to any beach or part of the island very easily. I can't wait to go back St. Barth and will DEFINITELY stay at Salines Cottages again. Totally worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I write this review rather reluctantly and only in fairness to this wonderful hotel and its marvelous hosts, Jean-Philippe and Laurance. Once you experience Salines Garden, it is a secret that should not even be shared with your blood relatives.

In planning our first ever trip to the Caribbean my wife and I got a lot of advice from friends and relatives. When St. Barths came up the advice was "most dangerous airport in the world" and "its so expensive." Well the prospect of having so many people turned away from an island made us say "this is the place we want to be." We always consult tripadvisor when planning trips and this little gem -- Salines Garden Cottages was ranked very high. But we're never lucky enough to get these gems as they're usually always booked. Throwing caution to the wind, I emailed Jean-Philippe to ask about availability. Unfortunately our first choice week was fully booked but he was able to offer us a housekeeping cottage the next week. Our plans were flexible and we really wanted to try this hotel based on prior reviews. We booked the hotel and took Jean-Philippe's offer to meet us at the airport.

We arrived at St. Barth's airport (the flight and landing was wonderful even for tentative flyers like my wife) and at first didn't see Jean-Philippe. A representative of a larger hotel on the island saw we were looking and asked who was supposed to meet us. We said Jean-Philippe from Salines Garden and he immediately walked us to the car rental area where we saw our host. Jean-Philippe WAS NOT late in meeting us, but saw that our plane had landed and went to the rental agency to let then know we arrived and to begin the paperwork for us. When I arrived at the counter they addressed me by name, asked for my license and credit card, and in about 10 minutes we were following our host to the Cottages. This was the type of service we came to expect over the course of our 8 nights there.

The Cottage complex is marvelously tropical. While not large in terms of space, it's arranged so that there is an unbelievable amount of privacy. Our cottage, Padang Padang, was remarkably private and the outdoor "kitchen" area was a great place to sit and read after a long day of lounging on the beach. The pool is small but who needs a large pool with the most beautiful white sand beach about a kilometer (1/2 a mile) down the road? We used the pool just once to cool off. The pool, however, serves as a meeting place for those guests who'd like to socialize. Jean-Philippe also holds court in this area every evening around 6-8 pm to help guests with dinner plans, etc. While I do not think it's possible to have a bad meal on St. Barth's, Jean-Philippe's recommendations were very helpful.

We particularly enjoyed St. Barth's. The island itself is a contrast of beachy casual and tres chic. Where else could you enjoy a meal in a Jean-George restaurant without feeling out of place in shorts and flip flops? There's all the natural beauty on the one hand and the free port atmosphere of Gustavia with chic bars and Champs Elysees-style shopping.

While we were there, the guests were a melange of English and French speakers. While my French is only a bit better than most Americans with 4 years of high school French, I found communication quite easy. We found the breakfast area to be a very pleasant place to swap stories, etc.

There were some negative comments here about the breakfast but we are very well travelled and found the croissants and pain (bread) to be about the same as we've had in hotels in France, Netherlands, and Italy.

We will be returning to the Caribbean and the only place we will consider is St. Barth's. Naturally, on St. Barth's, we will only consider staying at Salines Garden Cottages. When challenged by our friends' comments that there are other nice places in the Caribbean too, I can only say that I take my vacations to relax. And the time I spent at Salines Garden and this wonderful island was about the most relaxing vacation I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: A housekeeping cottage was very convenient as we could store our wine and snacks. Also, there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmagnola, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This year we come back to salines garden cottages in St Barths: everything is wonderful and peaceful as always. A little corner of paradise...It's the ideal place to relax and forget all the life troubles!!!
In this quiet hotel you'll naturally forget stress and the noise of the city where you live...
Enjoy your holiday here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent our first vacation in St. Barth's at Saline Gardens. We had a delightful stay - our host Jean-Philippe was great, very accommodating, had fantastic suggestions for dinners, arranged a car rental for us, booked reservations, recommended places to go, and was very helpful when we had any questions or requests. The setting of five cottages was very peaceful and relaxing. You get to know other visitors around the pool or at the communal breakfast - that was a very nice touch as we became acquainted with a nice group of visitors. As we explored the island - we were the closest to one of the best beaches on the island - we were happy to return each night to our temporary home...would highly recommend these cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to St. Barth, and I was inspired to write my (very first!) review of Saline's Garden right away. Before we arrived, Jean-Philippe and Laurence were very helpful answering our questions via email and even booked our rental car for us. Within minutes of our arrival, we were in our car and on our way to Saline's Garden. We were immediately struck by the beauty of St. Barth and had the most wonderful time getting to know Jean-Philippe, Laurence, and some of the other Cottage guests during our long weekend stay. We love to travel but don't usually repeat places (too much of the world to see!), yet we now plan to make a trip to St. Barth at least once a year. It's hard (read: impossible) to pick a favorite moment of the trip, but we really loved sharing a Presidente poolside with Jean-Philippe and hearing about his surfing adventures before dinner at an amazing place he recommended and booked for us. I got the impression that Jean-Philippe puts a lot of thought and consideration into his recommendations, and places a great deal of emphasis on restaurants that are a great value (not just the "in" place of the moment), which we definitely appreciated. We really did feel like his guests and are so grateful that this little slice of heaven exists. We will absolutely return and can't wait to bring family and friends with us next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth ma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I travel quite a bit and we always use TripAdvisor to get feedback before we go. This our first time in St Barth and at Salines Gardens. I dare say it will not be our last for both! We were on St Barth for a week. Saline Cottages are a group of cottages just off the main road to Salines Beach. The driveway is part dirt, but this is to keep us US from speeding up the drive. Do not let this worry you; you come to a beautiful read gate and you are now a guest of Jean-Philippe! The rooms are not huge but big enough; clean & well organized. Beds were fine. Bathrooms are those interesting French European layouts! No shower curtain! You have a nice porch sitting area when the inevitable morning or afternoon rain shower (5 min) came by. You are one of five cottages and you meet everyone at breakfast of a baguette and jams. . We were with two brothers from Brazil, a couple from the Ukraine and another from Italy. Jean-Philippe is the maestro. He introduces everyone and starts the conversation and makes suggestions about what beach you should visit or what restaurant to consider for lunch or dinner. Jean-Philippe will make your lunch or dinner reservations for you and he never makes a bad recommendation, but then again I don’t think you can find a bad meal on the island.
Many go St Barth for just a day or so, I think you need four or five days to get into full St Barth RELAXATION mode. Jean-Philippe (and maybe all in French West Indies) honest and direct and hard working. When you are his guest … you are his guest! He watches over you! He will meet you at the plane; walk you over to get a rental car; lead you to his resort and get you settled in. You CAN do this all on your own. But it will NOT be less expensive and if you let Jean-Philippe there will be no stress! You are more than a guest to Jean-Philippe. Some reviewers thought Jean-Philippe was rude…. I believe those reviewers did not stay long enough or do not like his direct nature. He will answer your questions and it will sometimes seem like he is barking at you. Just like Paris! My opinion is you may not like what he says ..but on St Barth …go with what he recommends!
Rent a car. Taxis are too much and it is too far to walk. Do spend the money on a beach front. Be polite and order somthi9ng and you get a chaise lounge anyway! Rooms with a kitchen were nice, but more for the person that will eat in a few of the beautiful St Barth nights.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the road. Some have kitchens. Nice if you may eat in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort
Salines Garden Cottages St. Barthelemy, Caribbean
Address: Salines, 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Barthelemy
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Barthelemy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salines Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salines Garden Cottages to your Saves list