We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbeque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swinging Doors

Swinging Doors
Corner of Windwardside | opposite Big Rock Market - Saba, Windwardside, Saba
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Windwardside
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mt. Holly, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful barbequed ribs dinner on certain nights. Small but typical island place. Bar lists two wines: 1. red 2. white and you're supposed to order by the number. Great sense of humor.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Local Hangout, good food and Lots of fun to Boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Saba is fortunate to offer a number of very good restaurants that offer good eats no matter what you're in the mood for or what your budget is. To put it simply, Swinging Doors is a local hang out offering darn good food at very reasonable prices. It's where we locals and regulars just love to go and share Saba tails with owners Eddie and Pat Hassell. We've never had a meal or evening there that just wasn't plain fun.

On Tuesday and Friday afternoon Eddie fires up his massive BBQ grill and prepares for an evening of perfectly cooked chicken and pork ribs. The tantalizing aroma spreads throughout the village of Windwardside making it almost impossible to NOT make some reservations. By the way, reservations are a good idea cause' this is a very fun and popular place. On Sunday Eddie grills steak. Must admit that we have yet to try a Sunday steak. However knowing Eddie and Pat...you can bet that it's good.

Out of habit, we usually go to Swinging Doors on Tuesday night. Karen and I can never make up our mind if we want chicken or ribs. Both are excellent! Our solution...order a combination of both. What a BBQ meal, and the potato salad is memorably good too.

So, for a casual night out to enjoy fantastic BBQ and hear some unbelievable but always truthful Saba stories, make a reservation and stop by Swinging Doors on one of their BBQ nights. You'll be glad you did!

Gosh, I got hungry while writing this. And it's Tuesday too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best bargains on Saba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

As noted in other reviews this is a casual place - Think plastic chairs and disposable plates like you'd have at a backyard BBQ. The ribs are cooked just right and with the fixings it adds up to one of the best bargains on the island. Do make your reservations early - Our group didn't call until 5 pm and the chicken had all been spoken for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Swinging Doors is a casual place, but hey, it's an island. We ate there on "steak night" and the meal was both tasty and affordable. The staff was a joy both to observe and to interact with. We returned to the Swinging Doors several times after dinner to enjoy the ambiance of the local watering hole and even picked up a couple of the "We're all here because we're not all there" T-shirts!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went here on BBQ night and it was a great experience and the food was to die for. We ran into a good friends uncle while there who is a local and had a blast! Turns out his family owns the place. You will definitely be immersed in the local culture and people at this bar and will love every moment!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swinging Doors also viewed

Windwardside, Saba
 

Been to Swinging Doors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinging Doors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.