We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night of bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecolodge Rendez-Vous

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windwardside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecolodge Rendez-Vous
Save
You added Ecolodge Rendez-Vous to your Saves list
Windwardside, Windwardside, Saba   |  
Hotel amenities
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One night of bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Each of the "rooms" is a separate cottage, and each one is quite distinctly different, and very comfortably decorated in what I assume is the local style. The lodge is located at the end of a rocky dirt path, and each cottage branches off a path that meanders deep into the tropical forest. I'm no spring chicken, and taking that into consideration, I was given a cottage (Herb Garden) only a short distance from the reception/restaurant. I carry only one bag, but the taxi driver (Eddie) who took me there called the lodge and asked them for the ATV to come for my baggage. When I left, another visitor carried it out for me, over my protestations that I thought I could do it. The restaurant is highly recommended (Eddie was there for dinner for his wife's birthday the night I stayed), and the food was good, using locally produced food as much as possible. The real delight was climbing into a wonderfully comfortable bed, and falling asleep to the sound of tree frogs (even one in my bathroom) and rustling leaves, and a short shower of rain, and waking up to the songs of many different birds. The lodge has volunteers who come for periods of time to help out, and on my visit the volunteer was from Holland, and her parents were there to visit as well. There are not views of the sea, but the tropical forest is a treat in itself. Saba is not known for its beaches, anyway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was our first Visit to Saba. Friendly welcome by the owner and volunteer. They were very helpful by explaining where and what to Hike and arranging cabs. Breakfasts where a feast and Dinner was great.

During our visit the lodges where in a cloud so it was sligtly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you are prepared to experience something different, in this case staying in a cabin IN the rainforest, then you will love it. The cabins are beautiful and the jungle sounded to us really good during the night. It is obviously very humid (high up in the mountains) and you have to accept limits to shower time etc., but there were no 'visitors' to our cabin as some are saying, not even mosquitoes. Food is also very good but expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Peaceful is almost an understatement...it is so quiet and serene here you have to ask yourself if it is real. I stayed in the Anolis cabin which had a great view across the mountains and into the sea. I laid in the hammock for a few hours listening to nothing at all except the sounds of birds...so relaxing. If you want to get away from it all this is about as perfect as it gets. For all those that are expecting 4 star service and accommodations go to the Bahamas or Turks and Caicos, this place is not for you. If you want to be pampered and waited on hand and foot, this place is not for you. If you don't mind staying in a bare bones (comfy enough) cabin in the middle of the rain forest and don't mind a hike to your hotel down a wooded path and enjoy listening to the sounds of nature while being totally undisturbed then this is your place. Not for every one but certainly enjoyable if you're adventurous....and the island is stunningly beautiful and the diving world class.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went there with some friends to spend two days on Saba.
Saba is a great place for hiking. The Ecolodge is perfectly located to climb the Mount Scenery. The food was also great. They use fresh products and you taste it.
The village is about 20 minutes away from the Ecolodge even though they tell you it's 5 minutes... ;-) When you are hungry it feels like an hour... ;-)
The only negative side is the amount of water available to shower. You have about 4 minutes water to shower because of the ecologic side of the hotel.
We could not try the sauna because you have to book it in advance. We heard from some friends that it is worthwile...

Room Tip: Try to book one with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose The Ecolodge for a couple of reasons, 1st it is an Ecolodge and the name Ecolodge should be an indication of what you should expect. They are are trying to minimize their footprint on the planet. If you think of it in this manner you have the explanation for a lot of the issues pointed out in prior reviews. Yes, some prices on the breakfast menu were a littler higher than expected and coffee was priced per cup but if you think of what it takes to get propane to their facility then you understand the prices.

Our 2nd reason was to escape our daily city life and the Ecolodge provided us with exactly what we were looking for. You are actually in the rainforest in the clouds. It was very refreshing. You could have the windows open at night and have no worries about mosquitoes and irritating bugs. We had no issues with bugs or rodents in our room. With the nice breeze there was also no need for a fan or aircon.

The staff at Ecolodge was very helpful and pointed us in the right direction for restaurants and activities in town. There are great hikes near the Ecolodge that shouldn't be missed. Also the weekly slide show was very informative.

If you are looking for luxury this is probably not the place for you but if you are looking to escape the daily grind and get in touch with nature then the Ecolodge is the best choice in Saba.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at Ecolodge from May 14 till May 25. Ecolodge is about 30 min steep and slippery path through the forest from Windwardside or you can take the road. If at Ecolodge you should either take a taxi to Windwardside or walk. There is nothing else in the close vicinity. There are several cabins in a nice and beautiful tropical rainforest 'garden'. It is very dark at night and the chance is big you live in the clouds mostly during the morning and evening.

The cabins are functional, simple but good, not really super clean but ok. There is a shower that only gives warm water if the sun shines during the day, there is no electricity besides 12 V, you have lights though in the evening. Some cabins have a small kitchen: simple but good. The bed is rather small and in some cabins you do not have a cupboard for your clothes. Beware of the moist! It is very humid and clothes do not dry. Sometimes humidity is 100%! You should consider because everything 'smells' humidity (that typical smell). All of it has its charm but not everyone likes it. It is like upscale camping. About bugs and other animals: no mice at Ecolodge but we have seen rats (only in the trees!). There are little froggs that make a lot of noise during the evening and nights and lots of lizards. No bats, but a moth that looks like a bat if it flies. Hummingbirds, Bananaquits, Pearly-Eyed Thashers. Also big, red cockroaches who do no harm but yeah... Its the forest and you should be aware of that.

As for the service: it is not too bad but not high standard. No free coffee or tea with your breakfast which should be (they ask € 2,75 per cup!!) and prices of meals are too high compared with the quality of it. Staff is not super hospitable. But during our stay and lack of sunshine, it was ok for us to have a shower in another cabin which had a burner thus a hot shower. And hospitability depends a bit of who you meet first. Dana is very nice and helpfull. Also they work with volunteers so the service is not always quick and professional.

In comparison with other hotels room prices I think are also bit too high. Although cabins are cleaned every day. You must put your towels at the floor to get clean towels. There is no soap/shampoo or whatever you find in 'normal' hotels. Everything is very basic.
Because of the humidity everything gets damp, not only the bedsheets (!), but also your clothes, your shoes, tea bags, you name it.
The pool is not very big but good enough for refreshment. The hottubs are not high standard but nice and warm if you have been diving during the day.

We recommend Ecolodge Rendez-Vous for a short stay and to experience being in the rainforest. If you are afraid of bugs or other animals, do not go there. If you like the experience, the sounds of nature, the smell of it: try it. If you want luxury: do not go there. If you want privacy, go.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecolodge Rendez-Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Rendez-Vous

Address: Windwardside, Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to another world. The Ecolodge Rendez-Vous will be your rendezvous with nature. The hotel is situated at the edge of the rainforest in the middle of nature. Twelve lodges offer comfortable accommodation. The Rainforest Restaurant features gourmet cuisine and uses organically grown vegetables from its own vegetable garden. Your best idea for a relaxing vacation in the middle of nature. Dive, hike or enjoy the swimming pool, hottub and sweatlodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecolodge Rendez-Vous Saba/Windwardside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecolodge Rendez-Vous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.