We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Scenery

Mount Scenery
Windwardside, Saba
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Scenery like an insider
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Saba Day Trip from St. Martin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 3,000 feet, Mount Scenery is the highest point on the mountainous island of Saba and can be reached via a difficult hike through the rainforest.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best view in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Though it's an exhausting, 1000+ step hike to the summit, you won't regret the view! There are two peaks at the top--be sure to visit both. The peak to the left as the trail forks leads to the best viewpoint. It requires climbing up a rope, but it is not difficult. If there are clouds at the peak, try to wait them out. At some points we had no view at all, and then the clouds would blow past and we were rewarded with a spectacular view of Saba and the nearby islands.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tiring but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a beautiful hike, but you need to be in decent physical shape or give yourself a whole lot of time to do it. Check in with the Trail Shop in Windwardside before you go to get the current trail conditions and borrow a walking stick if you didn't bring your own. Also check out the weather; it's much better to do the hike on a clear-ish (there's almost always a cloud on top) day. We had a car so they advised us to drive up to the parking area about 25% up and start from there rather than the TH (which is right across the street from the Trail Shop). That 25% is very similar to what you'll see for the rest of the hike, so we felt good with the decision. It took us about 45 minutes from the parking area to get to the top, but we stopped a lot to rest and take photos. There are some beautiful views on the way up, and lots of rainforest vegetation and life to watch.

The peak is definitely worth the trip up. The larger viewing point is a little past the tower. You may have to wait 5 minutes for a cloud to pass and get 30 seconds of clear viewing of the rest of Saba and some other islands in the distance, but it's a nice place to hang out and wait. There are a few offshoots from the trail - definitely follow the other one on the top and climb up the rock using the rope to reach the final pinnacle. Overall worth it but bring water and take your time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful rainforest hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The trail up Mount Scenery is over 1000 concrete steps so make sure to bring your water! A beautiful hike that leads you up through several different vegetation zone and ends at the summit, we enjoyed the variety of birds, orchids and reptiles we encountered along the way.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hiking Saba - Lovely but always on the climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a general review of all of the hiking in Saba. It is a beautiful isle and we spent 7 days there just hiking - you could do more. Rising 1000's of feet from the sea there are multiple microclimates up and down and each trail can have a different character. Check in at the SCF trail shop at the foot of the Mt. Scenery trail. Johann gave us a good overview, and they can provide a guide if you like, but in general none is needed at the trails are well marked and kept up (a group of Canadian volunteers was there when we were visiting doing trail maintenance). The guides (we had James) will enhance your hike immensly with their local knowledge however.
Be ready though - I do not think there is a single hike with less than 1000' in vertical ascent and descent, and some have much more. Have Fun!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hike on Saba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We flew over to Saba to hike for the day and it was a great break from lounging on the beach. We flew over with winair on early morning flight and took taxi to windward side and had breakfast and grabbed supplies at corner store then headed to trailhead store for a map. The fellow helped us choose our trails for the day. The trails can be a bit challenging as up and down and a bit moist and mossy in spots. Lots of fun thanks to hiking poles! We took taxi drivers card and he picked us up at the end of our hike.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Scenery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Scenery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Scenery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.