We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Gardens

Gourmet Gardens
71, Montserrat
(664) 491-7859
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Montserrat
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Just okay and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food seemed microwaved - the vegetables were overcooked, the seafood and meat dishes were bland and the rice was just okay. There wasn't anything wrong with the food but it was definitely mediocre and quite pricey for the quality. Many of the small, local restaurants provide more flavourful food at prices more in line with the food quality and I'd recommend seeking those out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Terrific service and delicious food at a very reasonable price. There were iguanas and chickens in the yard and I had the best cappuccino I have had in a long time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tellygoonuk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good food served in a very relaxed setting. The owner, Marite, is always welcoming and made us feel like we had been regular customers for years.

We ate here a few times for lunch and dinner and were never disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on Montserrat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After the first few days on Montserrat, I was growing increasingly skeptical at my ability to survive on "Chicken, Ribs or Fish" for an entire week. After doing some quick research on TripAdvisor I found Gourmet Gardens, and I was redeemed. We ended up eating here three more times on a one week visit, and brought friends too.

Firstly the place is spotlessly clean. I have a bit of a phobia with insects and pests, and am always nervous about eating in semi-outdoor restaurants. As we pulled up into the parking lot, I almost turned away! But we did not, and as we sat down, we could see this place was spotlessly clean and it showed that they take pride in keeping it that way.

Firstly, the service - we were greeted by Mariet, the chef and owner - a wonderful lady. We knew right away that we were in for a treat. She knew her menu and ingredients, and assisted us in choosing.

The menu was a complete relief to the "Chicken, Ribs or Fish" that we had become accustomed to on the island. The menu more resembled that of a continental restaurant. I do not recall all the meals I had, but I do remember the Schnitzel and Goulash both being excellent. (See Photos)

One night while eating there, the power went out. I was expecting this to be a problem, but it was not. The candles were already lit, the cooking appliances were gas operated, after switching a few of the kitchen lights to candles, they were back in business. The food that night was as good as any other.

I do remember the prices being a tad steep, but I think they were in line with the rest of the island. Food on Montserrat is not cheap. Some of the other places were significantly more.

We also ate at the Peoples Place, the Olveston House, Tina's, and Ponts Beach View. How the Gourmet Gardens is not the #1 on the island, I do not know....The fact that we ate here 4 nights out of a 9 night stay should say something!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Real nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice meal cooked by a Dutch lady. friendly service and good prices. The atmosphere is nice out on the veranda and the beer is cold. Open for lunch and dinner

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Gardens also viewed

Montserrat, Caribbean
Montserrat, Caribbean
 
Olveston, Montserrat
Plymouth, Montserrat
 

Been to Gourmet Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.