We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bakoua

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bakoua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bakoua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Pointe du Bout, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Trois-Ilets
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were very satisfied with the hotel - great breakfast, friendly staff, pleasant place to be! Unlimited free internet access for guests as well as WiFi. The hotel was overall just great, was friendly, fun and had a beautiful atmosphere. The room was nice as well, everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The only bad thing was that the shower and tub were totally busted. The shower heads were not working right, the tub was totally uncomfortable, and the tiles needed the mildew removed. Maybe all rooms were not like that, I sure hope not... other than that it was great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    149
    113
    46
    39
See reviews for
65
210
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
200 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There are some good things about this hotel. The location is nice looking across the bay to Forte de France. The beach area is good. There is a nice bar on a pier into the water. Apart from the breakfast, the food is good and the staff are mainly friendly and helpful. We were extremely grateful to the lady on reception who helped us resolve a major problem with our travel plans.

However the fabric of the hotel is in a very poor state. The room we had looked as if it had not been refurbed since the 80s - dirty, shabby and dull, stained bedcover etc. The whole place needs rebuilding and is not worth anything like the money they charge.

Other things are bad too. Wifi/internet was off for two days when we were there and was still not working when we left. Power was lost to a whole section of the hotel just when people were going to bed so they couldn't get into their rooms. It took over an hour to repair. The breakfasts are very poor - awful food and terrible service.

According to the Accor Hotels website this is the best hotel in Martinique - I know the island's holiday areas are struggling - but really?

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The tourism industry in Martinique has never recovered from its peak in the 1970s. I was wondering why, but now I know after my brief stay at the Bakoua. While the hotel itself has a stunning view of the bay between Trois Îlets and Fort de France, little else here is impressive.

I stayed here for business travel during the "high season" and paid EUR 325 per night. For the money, you would expect a certain level of quality and service, but this hotel, and Martinique in general, just does not concern itself with global standards. There is simply no incentive to impress or perform.

As a seasoned traveler I was shocked at this hotel's seemingly flagrant lack of concern. Arriving at the hotel by taxi from the airport, no one greets you; there is no porter or elevator to take your luggage up to your room. Do it yourself. No one explains anything regarding the location of the facilities (restaurants, breakfast, pool, beach). You have to do everything on your own. For US$400+ night, that is simply unacceptable.

Everything is somewhat dilapidated. The rooms themselves are spacious, but the bathrooms are simply unacceptable; they are uncomfortable, with poor lighting, have not been updated since the 1970s or 1980s, and have been the victims of shoddy patch-up jobs that are pathetically obvious.

There were literally multiple spray cans of insecticide inside of the closets in my suite, with rings of rust beneath them. Perhaps this is management's idea of providing customers with a self-serve solution for "handling" the insect issue at the hotel. Oh yes. There were plenty of little critters (ants, spiders) to be found throughout. You won't be lonely at the Hôtel Bakoua!

The air conditioning is functional, thankfully, but offers no temperature adjustment other than three fan speed settings. The televisions in my suite were inoperable.

The breakfast buffet is laughable. The food seems to have been carted over from the local Carrefour Marché (a low-tier supermarket chain). You're welcome to separate the pre-packaged yogurts yourself. Be careful not to offend the wait staff by where you sit down; they might yell at you for accidentally taking a "reserved" seat even though there was no indication that the table was reserved for the Air France stewardesses and pilots, who are likely the sole repeat customers here (by obligation and not by choice). Naturally, no one seats you, and when offered coffee, you have to ask for milk or sugar yourself if you want it; why should it be offered to you without prompting? This is a trend.

Having lunch or drinks at the restaurants and bars of this hotel is a torturous experience. Take your expectations of service in the Caribbean (relaxed, at best), subtract from that the fact that you are in France (moody, unwelcoming), and then divide by half and you might have an accurate picture of just how [un]attentive the staff is.

As a French speaker, I didn't have any issues communicating with the staff (other than getting their attention in the first place), but if you do not speak their language, best of luck to you. There are very few non-French tourists or visitors here, so naturally no need for the staff to speak English.

The beach is nice, although there is absolutely no staff present to help you find or set-up a lounge chair, provide you with a towel, or anything else. The tiny infinity pool appeared to be clean.

Unfortunately, there are few other options for hotels of any quality on this island that I am aware of. The vast majority of the visitors here were elderly tourists from France; it felt a bit like a retirement home, complete with cheesy "live" entertainment in the evenings.

The surrounding areas, while safe and generally clean, offer little stimulus. You can walk around to the "shops" and cafés/restaurants in the area. Most of them served defrosted "food" that severely disappoints and is extremely overpriced. I visited two restaurants: L'Embarcadère, by the Marina, and Le Nomade. Both were exceptionally underwhelming. At Le Nomade, the chef microwaved my hamburger bun. At L'Embarcadère, the Mahi Mahi had clearly spent a few fortnights swimming in a freezer.

Astonishing. I truly dread having to come back here on business. Again, the ultimate insult is the price that you must pay for the "luxury" of staying here. And lastly, the taxis on the island are inexplicably expensive. It costs 65 Euros to get here from the airport; the traffic jams on the island can be terrible.

All in all, avoid this hotel, and Martinique in general, if at all possible. It is a beautiful island, it truly is, with well paved roads, a safe environment, and general order, but it is simply not geared toward tourists or luxury [other than price-wise] travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlake
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at hotel Bakoua. The staff was welcoming and very helpful.
We explored the beaches north and south island North were thecool black beaches.
South beautiful white beaches.
the hotel was perfect .

Room Tip: rooms around the courtyard are quite i would suggest the rooms on ground floor with a screened in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located up a small gradient in the centre if Trois Ilets which is a small village by European holiday destination standards. The hotel was clean, the rooms located nearer to the reception offered the best views and ask for a high floor. The restaurant was unnecessarily expensive which resulted in it being very quiet, but outside the hotel there are a reasonable quantity of restaurants and a few bars. It is the best all round resort on Martinique. It has a relaxed atmosphere with pleasant surroundings that offer a different mix of updated European culture in the Caribbean. English is not widely spoken so this maybe a problem with some restaurants where no English equivalent menu is available but we got by and after all its part of the holiday.
If your hiring a car, watch out for the speed cameras, there are three on the route from the airport to the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we have arrived at the reception and to our surprise a VERY rude and unkind receptionist met us.
She shouted at us that she does not have rooms ready and would not have any room ready untill 2 pm, while the check in time is 1 pm! No help was offered for that long waiting time in hot and humid reception area!

Room Tip: stay away from this terrible place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bakoua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bakoua

Address: La Pointe du Bout, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Trois-Ilets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Trois-Ilets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bakoua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputed as the finest hotel on Martinique, Sofitel Bakoua welcomes you to the west coast with a warm, relaxing smile that says: unwind. Originally a colonial residence, the resort's charming buildings have retained their authentic, East India Company style with vast open spaces, rattan & precious wood furnishings. The tropical garden leads to a seascape of endless skies, stunningly contrasted by the spectacular Carbet peaks and the white-sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bakoua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Trois Ilets
Bakoua Hotel Trois Ilets
Sofitel Trois-Ilets
Trois-Ilets Sofitel
Hotel Bakoua Martinique/Trois-Ilets

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bakoua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.