We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bateliere

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Bateliere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bateliere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 rue des Alizes | Schoelcher, Fort-de-France 97233, Martinique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed views of the ocean, swimming in the pool and eating dinner while watching the Caribbean sunset. The hotel is in need up an update but the location is good and Lili's bar/restaurant down on the beach makes up for some shortcomings in the hotel. Hotel elevator needs servicing. Service was good and staff were friendly. Good hotel for short stays, a small beach.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    46
    37
    33
    13
See reviews for
11
31
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

It is a 4* hotel, but not so expensive as other 4* hotels in Martinique. I liked when every morning i was waked up of singing birds. Yes, during your breakfast you should take care of your food, because the same early morning singers are ready to steal food directly from your plate. It was funny. Yes, hotel wasn't excellently tidy, but i repeat one more time - it is equal to your money, what you had payed. My advice to these people who complain about sevice is to pay more money a night and then you will be really happy.
I can't complain about hotel's food, service, everything was perfect. Also i liked free wifi, it worked even in the beach.
Hotel place is very excellent, quiet, beautiful scenery, hotel is built on a cliff, has a beach (not a 5* beach..., but it is good), perfect public transport - there were a bus stop not far away from hotel. From there you can travel were you want, cross the island. Martinique people are friendly and helpful.
NOTE: do not call a taxi from hotel. It costed 7€ extra for me. Out of hotel fence there are waiting taxis, witout any extra fees.
From airport Lamentin to hotel to go by taxi it lasts round about 20 mins., cost is different. If you go in the evening price is 40€ if in afternoon - they took 20€.
My rating for La Bateliere would be 3*+, because it should be more tidy, a building need a small repair, rooms too.
Have a nice stay in La Bateliere. If i come back to Martinique, i would choose the same hotel. :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Birdlover? Stay at La Bataliere. At the terrace restaurant Bleu Marine the birds are flying and jumping around in the breakfast buffet, on the tables, on the chairs and on the floor. Birdshit is everywhere - watch out! The birds even attacked our dishes when we were seated. Unhygienic and totally unacceptable! On top the cutted fruit was covered with flies. In the evening the birds are more quiet, so we tried the restaurant again. None of the staff spoke English. Our rusty French resulted in 2 portions of potatoes - each! Stayed 3 nights. The room was OK, but not 4 stars. Missed tea/coffee-fascilities. Amazing sunset from the bar area. And the small, oval pool is beautiful with great view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just returned from Martinique. I booked this hotel after looking at the online website. I took a double de luxe room at 580 euros for three nights.
On arrival we had to unload our own luggage. We were shown to our room. What a shock.
curtains hanging from the rails, large burn holes in the carpets,dirty bed linen, worn out furniture and dirty decoration in the room.Then the marble bathroom with mould on the walls chipped bath and paint peeling from the walls. The mini bar was non existent as were the promised robes..The balcony was also in need of paint and new furniture.The lift was out of action so it was stairs or laundry lift.We refused the room, were offered another. Surely it would be better but no even worse than the first. The owners must live in cloud cuckoo land I wouldn let a dog stay in the hotel. We left

Room Tip: Find another hotel we went to bakoau in tres islets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really like this hotel.
Indeed, it is old and needs some refurbishment (lift out of service is an opportunity to burn down calories) but the rooms are clean and large.
The atmosphere is charming and traditional Caribbean one.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The pool is excellent.
The breakfast is a disappointment (for example no local fresh fruit ?!?) but the view from the terrace is great.
There is an excellent great pizza take-away just outside the main gate, an average supermarket and a small slot machine casino'.

A entertaining cocktail beach bar (Lily's) is few steps down to the small beach for that unmissable Planteur Antillais cocktail.

This is the Tropics and the hotel meets all your stereotypes in full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROATIA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I do not recommend to anyone! 4 stars hotel...shame! The main elevator is broken, you use the official who is disaster. You have to go IN and OUT so fast that you do not be squeezed. Restaurant...horrible...you must be careful, because you can eat some insects. The hotel and all contents urgently need renovation. Everything is old, and pictures on the internet does not correspond to reality. Rooms are old, balcony railin chrashes and is dirty. But the price is fully equivalent to 4 star hotel. The only thing good is the reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your comments and sincerely regret that Hotel La Bateliere did not meet your expectations. We do not hide the fact that the hotel is in need of renovations and we actually were supposed to start renovating and reflagging this month of June 2012. For technical and administrative reasons our project had to be postponed by several months. The main elevator has been shut down and will be rebuilt in the coming weeks/months. The service elevator and its service areas are being set up for customer use as we speak (infrared door safety devices, lighting fixtures, painting and flooring works are underway as we speak). Regarding the food issue you mention, please note that if an insect fell into your food it could only have happened at the table because of the outside sea view location of our restaurant “Bleu Marine”. Regarding our current rates, they have been adjusted to three star rates and are far from being four stars as any price comparison will tell you. In any case we value your comments and will continue to do our best to satisfy our guests who choose our waterfront property because of its fabulous and central location. Kindest regards from the beautiful island of Martinique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

After sailing into Martinique, my spouse booked me a room at this hotel which somehow had been rated 4 stars by Expedia. This place is an absolute dump, which I will go into explicit detail in order to try to save someone a night of misery. The first warning sign should have been the elevator which was in need of repair, second the carpet in the corridors and rooms looked filthy, at least 20 years old and contributed to a very musty smell. The paint was peeling off the walls in the bath room, there was a persistent chirping sound coming from some electronic device located outside of but near the room, the beds had mattresses worse than the ones you would find in the cheapest U.S. hotel chain and I could hardly even sit on them let alone sleep. The decor overall was at least 20-30 years old and "weathered" would be a kind description. The safe located in the room was in operable, the phone system had so much static that I could not call to the states. The only thing positive were the ladies at the front desk who were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Bateliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bateliere

Address: 20 rue des Alizes | Schoelcher, Fort-de-France 97233, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Fort-de-France > Fort-de-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bateliere 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Bateliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bateliere Hotel
Hotel La Bateliere Martinique/Fort-De-France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bateliere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.