We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Imperatrice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel l'Imperatrice to your Saves list
Hotel l'Imperatrice
15 rue de la Liberte, Fort-de-France 97200, Martinique   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in the hotel because my plane landed at FdF late and I didn't want a hassle with driving myself at night to a different part of the island. My room cost me 120E for a night (with breakfast) and a taxi from the airport was 40E. The check-in and check-out were fast, but the reception staff was rather abrupt and not at all talkative. The room itself was small and a little worn - the bedspread had a big hole burned in the middle. The street below my window was iindeed loud - with music playing well into the night - but as tired as I was, I slept ok.
The internet worked fine and the breakfast was ok.
All in all - for that price you should expect more, but that's Martinique for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impe972, Manager at Hotel l'Imperatrice, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Agata D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room and that there was a problem with your bedspread. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and please make sure we have taken your remarks into great consideration and that we continually work to improve day by day the quality of service for our guests.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With sincere regards and apologies,

E. Jean-Baptiste
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
17
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

There really isn't much to keep you in the capital city, but we arrived on the midnight plane and didn't want to venture further that night. We stayed two nights and for trip planning purposes, I will just mention that it's not really worth staying a whole day in Fort de France. That advice has nothing to do with the hotel, which we thought was fine.

Contrary to other reviews, we found the front desk staff charming and helpful, although it would have been more helpful if the man who let us in at midnight had been briefed on our arrival and the room we were supposed to have. Everyone else was more than helpful; the wifi worked fine; the breakfast a pretty standard serve yourself affair with yogirt, cereal, cakes and pastries, sliced meats, juices, fruit, cheese and coffee and tea. The location of the hotel is excellent.

Our room was clean, albeit small. The air conditioning worked well. The television has mostly french channels, because it is France after all, but there was also CNN in English.

The street and the city are loud, and I can believe that the Savanne could be loud at night, but on the Sunday and Monday we were there this was not the case. Church bells wake you up at 6:00 but this is not the fault of the hotel.

As I mentioned above, one night after the midnight flight in Fort de France is more than enough to get a sense of the city, and we found this hotel perfectly fine for that purpose. I should also note that I am quite comfortable speaking French, so there was no language barrier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impe972, Manager at Hotel l'Imperatrice, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear travelingmom74150,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at L’Impératrice.
It’s very important for us to know your feedback and all the things you liked and disliked
Please know that we take your comments regarding your arrival at the hotel into great consideration. We will share them with our team in order to improve our service.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerly,

E. Jean-Baptiste
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Firstly the few positives: the bed linen was new on arrival and our room was kept clean and well serviced during a 5 night stay: ( 4 too many!). Also, the air-conditioning was very effective and quiet. There is quite a pleasant view from the front facing rooms too.
But this hotel is situated overlooking one of the busiest and noisiest roads in F de F and the badly fitted and broken double glazing does nothing to keep the racket out. As it starts at dawn with the street cleaners and doesn't end until after midnight when the local bars and kiosks close, you will get little sleep at this place. The small and uncomfortable bed my wife and I experienced also gave us both back-ache. Although the plumbing was fairly modern and functioned OK, our shower handle was broken.There is no bath. Nor was a hair dryer provided and although there was a good TV in the room, all channels are French - the outside world does not exist in this part of France! There was very little storage space in the bedroom and no safe to put valuables in. The breakfast quality and choice were both very poor and the food served for dinner at the in-house restaurant (Josephine) was not much better. The trouble is, the town has nothing better to offer as eating out in F de F means going to MacDonalds.
The common parts of the hotel were badly maintained and grubby. Security at reception was non-existent, so don't leave your room key at the front desk, and the WiFi didn't work. All the staff were well meaning and friendly but not efficient and could do with some customer- care training. Fort de France has very little tourist appeal in our view so suggest you stay at the far nicer hotels to be found across the bay in Trois Isles, where there are far better restaurants and beaches, and just take a day trip to see this town on the frequent and cheap ferryboat.

Room Tip: Our room was priced as one of the best at this hotel as it was the biggest and on the top floor, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There seems to be very few hotels in Fort de France central and I chose this hotel because of its central location. This may have been a mistake! We arrived at midnight on what had been Carnival day and no sooner had we gone to bed then all hell broke loose with the municipal street cleaning crews in full swing. Crashing bottles and street sweepers went on from about 1 in the morning until at least 4. The next night was more peaceful but on the Friday night, the noise from Le Savane continued well into the night.
The facilities and the ambience are lovely but I cannot say we were made to feel very welcome. We arrived on the midnight plane to one lone and largely incomprehensible staff member (we do speak a little French so language is not an issue) who couldn't find the key to our booked room. Little issues like getting the code for the wi fi seemed to be beyond the desk staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in L'Imperatrice, the staff were friendly, the rooms very clean and comfortable and we had a lovely art deco balcony overlooking the park. Delicious delicious fresh Pineapple as part of breakfast...YUM.
Be warned life starts very early in the city so noisy from 5am onward.
Delicious Planter coctails in the bar!!
Have lunch or dinner in the cabin restaurant directly in front of the hotel...it's delicious and inexpensive and the chef charming.Interesting view of Caribbean life going on while you dine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

L'Imperatrice is the best amongst the limited number of choices in the center of Fort-de-France and is the pick by default. It some ways it is nearly a classic Great Hotel. From the outside, building looks like a cross between a wedding cake and an ocean liner. High but subdued style inside throughout, some deco elements. Pictures here capture the essence pretty well. Common areas -- lobby, bar, restaurant -- though small feel cozy and intimate, furnished traditional tropicale, pleasant ambiance. Room comfortable, quality fittings and updated. Open air window in bathroom a nice touch, although beware the mosquitos. Ok, several type of rooms here, priced at euro 130, 110, or 95 (single occupancy rates, low season). Top rooms facing park with private balcon are spacious but get the street noise. Ones in back (euro 110) somewhat quieter, and above third floor there are open views in direction over town, with churchbells serving as alarm clock. Smaller rooms (95 euro) on 5th floor vary in size: some closet-sized, some narrow with two-single beds: corner room #54 was great choice for solo stay. Not ideal are roooms on each end of the 4th floor adjacent to space catered for events which get noise. The elevator here is a real antique: a noisy, creaking thing -- be sure to minimize movement when getting conveyed in it. Breakfast was included in this stay -- continental, fresh-made, good. Terrace cafe at street level good for lunch and early evening food and drink. After 10:30 p.m., no reception, night man handles the door. Would think that non-French speakers could get by ok enough here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The good points are the room in clean and the bed is comfortable as well the hotel is central. The bad is the breakfast and the staff don't or refuse to speak English. But we checked other hotels in the area and do to the outside and lobby we picked this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Imperatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Imperatrice

Address: 15 rue de la Liberte, Fort-de-France 97200, Martinique
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Fort-de-France > Fort-de-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down-town Fort-de-France, with a superb view over "La Savane" Park, L'Imperatrice is a boutique hotel with charm, elegance and Creole authentic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel l'Imperatrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Imperatrice Martinique/Fort-De-France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Imperatrice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.