We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try in Vieques” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Quenepo

El Quenepo
148 Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
+1 787-741-1215
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fun, funky island food located on the waterfront in Esperanza. Innovative cuisine with lots of flavors. Featured items include fresh local seafood, specialty cocktails, and local greens. Vegan and vegetarian items also available. Open for dinner only at 5:30. Closed Monday and Tuesday.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A must try in Vieques”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would say El Quenepo is one of the two best restaurants in Vieques. We made reservations pretty late and when we arrived the restaurant was still full. Good start.

Their cocktails were not that great. We ordered three appetizers and all three were excellent: ceviche, blue cheese salad, Mariscada martini.

My husband had the octopus entree and loved it. I ordered the tuna poke and it was too sweet and the wasabi was too spicy. If the dish wasn't as sweet and if it had less wasabi it would've been a winner. The tuna was seared perfectly.

We shared the deconstructed S'mores dessert, it was quite good.

Our server was a bit weird, he kept forgetting to bring our drinks, our appetizers and then our entrees, but we forgive him, because the food was good and he is young, he has time to learn. We ordered too much food and the portions are quite large.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    375
    114
    46
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fantastic food, great service and they even squeezed us in on Valentines because our plans got mixed up prior.

Everything was really delicious and if you're on the Island this is the best place to go...with Next Door being right behind it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Creative! Amazing dinner for valentines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lobster bisque, oysters and Mofongo! My wife had a coffee crusted steak that was the best steak I have ever put in my mouth. If I only had the bisque and the bread I would have been happy, happy, happy!

Amazing is not an understatement. Most of the food I had while on vacation in Vieques was very average except for breakfast at Hacienda Tamarindo which was outstanding as well.

Everyone was so nice, when taking the reservations, passing the owner in the street, charming hostess, and our waitress was excellent truly enjoyed her work. Dinner was about 1.5 hours, but we were not in a hurry.

I did not have room for dessert and I regret that, but what I regret more is that I did not eat here more than once, big mistake.

You can have an average experience down the street or pay a little more and be blown away!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Treat yourself when in Esperanza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The menu selections were very good and they had a lot of specials the evening we visited. Drink selection and craft beers were available as well. The night we visited, the restaurant was very busy so the service and timing was off. But, this isn't the big city and as long as you are on island time, you will enjoy the experience and food. We would definitely return next time we are in Esperanza.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm glad to say El Quenepo met and exceeded our expectations. We ate here for Valentine's Day. We scheduled a late reservation and the restaurant was still busy and exciting when we arrived at 8:45pm. We ordered the lobster bisque and the tuna poke for appetizers. Excellent. I especially liked the plantain chips used in the poke. The bread and dipping oil was also great.

We each ordered a cocktail. Generous, delicious and strong!

We splurged for the lobster ($25/lb) and it was the best lobster I've ever had. I'm so glad we ordered it. It was served with green beans and a patty of something else delicious. My boyfriend ordered fish and his was perfect too.

We were too full for dessert even though we'd made a deal ahead of time to get it. Oops!

The only negative was the food took quite a while to come out. It's an island though, so you really can't complain about that. Our waitress was from NC and she was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quenepo also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Quenepo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Quenepo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.