We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super great resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Quenepo

El Quenepo
148 Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
+1 787-741-1215
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining located on the waterfront in Esperanza. Innovative cuisine with lots of flavors. Featured items include fresh local seafood, specialty cocktails, and local greens. Vegan and vegetarian items also available. Open for dinner only at 5:30. Closed Sunday.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“super great resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

really fine dining at a waterfront location, great staff to take care of you, food to die for, soooooooo good, can not wait to get back to enjoy this wonderful place again

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    132
    53
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious: Best on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I found this place courtesy of Captain Ferguson of the Amity Charters. During our fishing trip earlier in the day, he gave this place quite the recommendation. We are so happy we took his advise. The food was out of this world. The bread as a starter with its olive oil, molasses, sundried tomato, onion mixed dip was incredible. My meal (the filet w/ potatoes, asparagus, & onion rings) was so delicious, I had to fight the urge to lick the plate. Our server, Gigi, was not only on key with all of our needs but made the experience even more enjoyable with her pleasant personality. Note to all though - they DO NOT take Discover. So, make sure you bring some cash if that's all you have. Overall, this is definitely my favourite restaurant on the island so far! :-D

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you've budgeted one night in Vieques for a nice high class meal, this is the place to spend that cash. The food really is fantastic and the atmosphere is wonderful. The staff was very attentive and the drinks were nice and strong. My only gripe was the long wait for the food but when it finally came, it was worth it. As is life on Vieques, there's no rushing. Go for a nice romantic dinner and expect great treatment. Don't forget to try and make a reservation or you may get turned away. We were lucky to have been able to walk right in but we saw plenty of people turned away behind us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth going there every day/night in Vieques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I still dream with the creme brulee at this place. the drinks, food, and service is top notch. We went there 4 nights out of the 7 nights we were in the island; that's how good the food was. The food is one of the best I've had in the world.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fine dining in VQS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Liked ambiance, food and sangría. Creative dishes are served very night.

Service is a little slow, but such is island living.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quenepo also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Quenepo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Quenepo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.